We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel.”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #325 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stay way average but enjoyable. Most staff members were friendly. Some were not. Not the best value for what you get, but not terrible. Great location in the city. Acura experience was a great addition.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler2008N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your post. Please accept my apologies for any unfriendliness encountered during your stay with us. I can assure you that this is not the norm, and I will be sharing this feedback with the rest of my team so that we can rectify this. With that being said, I’m certainly glad you enjoyed our convenient locations, and were able to take advantage of our Acura service. Please contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan on returning, and we hope to see you soon. Thank you again. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,132 - 2,138 of 4,659 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

There is nothing "Wonderful" about this W hotel. Despite all the hyperbole, the rooms are tiny despite "upgrades," the service is mediocre, and the space generally uninviting despite obvious attempts to make it "hip."

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyboy172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I cannot explain how disappointed we were to read your comments detailing your most recent W experience. Please accept my apologies, and do not hesitate to e-mail me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com so we can rectify your concerns immediately. Thank you, and we hope we can welcome you back again soon. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Maybe I'm a bit bias because I love this chain of hotels so much but the W New York is just stunning. The lobby was lush and the guest concierge was extremely helpful. I loved everything about the place. The room I stayed in on the 7th floor was very modern, contemporary just a bit small.

Maid service was prompt, security was enforced, everything was just gorgeous. It was a hectic 4 days in New York so I appreciated how comfortable the bed was. I was able to sleep comfortably and wake up quiet energized even after a quick nap.

It's a W, so it's quite pricey but it's worth it. The location was amazing too, I was just a few block from Grand Central Station. In short, yes I would stay again and definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sania J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled to see that enjoyed your W New York experience and the comfort of our signature W bed. Rest assured, I have already shared your message with the entire W team as a reminder of what we do best. Please contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we can’t wait to welcome you back! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

First time staying at a W - I usually end up at Westin or Sheraton. Area is a bit quieter for Manhattan which is nice. The modern decor and lobby atmosphere is great, but otherwise this hotel isn't very special. Rooms are small (and I received an upgrade due to Platinum status) and need updating - especially washrooms. Service was inconsistent - front desk staff were quite slow, and housekeeping staff did not refill toiletries each night even if things ran out. No in-room coffee maker. Decent gym. Free green apples in lobby! My room was changed during the stay, and the first room never had a bath mat or glassware while the second room had no soap. Platinum breakfast at the W Cafe met Starwood standard but was nothing extraordinary. Would only stay here again if the price was competitive.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank PolarBear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. Please accept my apologies for the missing amenities in your guestrooms. I have already shared this information with our Style team so we can rectify this immediately. For future reference, coffeemakers are available at no extra charge upon request at all W hotels, and I sincerely regret if you were not made aware of this. Please e-mail me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return so we can improve upon your next W experience. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here with the hubby last Aug. The W is great for dining and the night club that they have on-site. Location is great for shopping as well as dining.
The rooms on the other hand are just way to small for me. I don't need a room that is large enough to hang out in as you don't spend much time in your room, however; being able to fit both luggages in the room and get ready would be helpful. The washrooms are very small and can only allow one person to get ready at a time.
Beds were very comfortable and plush.
Would stay here again but would just upgrade to a larger room. I believe we had the mega room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our excellent location in the heart of New York’s Midtown East. With that being said, please accept our apologies for any disappointment with the size of your assigned guestroom. For future reference, W offers many room types and sizes to cater to the needs of all of our guests. I will certainly share your comments with the rest of the W team, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan on returning. Again, thank you for your feedback. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The W was the bet hotel to stay in at ; bath room and rooms were clean and beautiful its worth your time. I had an amazing stay I'm the cozy room it was better then what i expected. I've never seen such a pleasurable hotel. The elevators? Were Something New I've never seen. The workers were very respectful and helpful to my stay. The whenever/whatever desk was a very outstanding help.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabbiee_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. We love when our guests enjoy our W style and Whatever/Whenever service. I have already shared your excellent feedback with our Whatever/Whenever department and the rest of the W New York team. Please do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again real soon. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Visited this hotel on business. Overall a good hotel. The rooms were clean. The view from my room was awesome and of the Manhattan skyline. Left the drapes open all the time. They have a shuttle into Manhattan that runs every hour. Used it a few times and it worked well. They drop you near a couple of subway stops. The hotel is within two subway stops that are about 10-12 minutes walk away. Felt a little uncomfortable walking back to the hotel around 9 PM in the dark, but didn't have any issues. The shuttle driver was very helpful with restaurants. Also suggested a nice subway app for my smartphone. The desk staff was helpful, although didn't need much from them. The breakfast was good and made to order for a fee. The staff kept asking if we needed anything else and were attentive. A little unusual that there were condoms for sale in my room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeltaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our signature WOW service, and convenient location in the heart of Midtown East. I will certainly be sharing your message with the entire Whatever/Whenever team, and we hope to see you soon. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan on returning. Thank you again for your excellent feedback. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 473 in New York City
4,426 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#260 of 473 in New York City
1,217 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#173 of 473 in New York City
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#226 of 473 in New York City
3,657 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#243 of 473 in New York City
3,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $165 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing