We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, even better staff...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #316 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, even better staff...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I can say I am used to getting extra attention in most of the hotels I go to. I mean, the bellstaff are mostly guys, so it makes sense. This place however went the extra mile. I felt like at home, and yet it was nicer. I got an upgrade free of charge because of some small mix-up that happened over there, and I was treated like a queen. I cannot say anything bad about the Hotel. My family was pretty satisfied as well. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your post, Anna! Here at W, we pride ourselves on our signature WOW service, and it is great to see that we truly did not disappoint! I am thrilled that we were able to turn around a small mix-up, satisfy you and your entire family! I will definitely be sharing your feedback with the rest of the Whatever/Whenever team, and we hope to see you soon at W. Thank you again! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    1,298
    834
    459
    362
See reviews for
454
1,466
379
1,127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked our trip through SouthWest Vacations and got a room upgrade to Spectacular. The staff was very friendly and let us know about the various services they offer (Acura Driver, Whatever-Whenever), and I found the hotel to have decent security. At night, you cant enter past the lobby without a room key and you can't to higher floors without a room key.
We did have trouble with our room on our first night, the smoke alarm started going off in the middle of the night...After a few attempts at having the staff engineer fix it, we unplugged it and went to sleep. I made them aware of the problem the next day, they apologized, comp'd us a few drinks, gave us extra SPG points and had the problem fixed before we made our way up to our room.
Overall we had a great stay and we enjoyed our time there.They handled the problem a lot better than we expected. This hotel wasn't really central to our activities but we would stay here again because of the great and friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xander432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, Xander! My apologies for the inconveniences experienced in your guestroom, but I am glad we were able to resolve it in a timely and efficient manner! Also, it is such a pleasure to see when our guests appreciate the safety and security of W, as that is truly one of our top priorities! Please do not hesitate to e-mail me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan on returning, and thank you again for your excellent feedback! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

SPG Gold and I received an upgrade to a Spectacular Room and late checkout w/out having to ask or push for it. I think that's the way it is supposed to work, but doesn't always. I found the staff to be particularly friendly and helpful. TV remote didn't work - called Whenever/Whatever and a new one was delivered in 4 minutes (that's pretty good). Rooms, fitness room and even elevators are small, but unfortunately somewhat standard for NY properties so just be prepared.

Big + though is that room on 21st floor, even though it was atop Lexington Avenue and the hotel was full, was extremely quiet - no noise from street, hallways or other side of walls. Glass of champagne on arrival and departure was a nice touch too.

Overall it was better than expected and I would stay there again if the need arises.

Room Tip: Rooms are small so plan accordingly and ask for or pay for a larger option. The site is very specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor! We are happy that we were able to anticipate your needs without even asking! Remember—this is Whatever/Whenever! Please feel free to reach out to us at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan on returning, and rest assured, the entire W team will be made aware of your great comments. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJohn07
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was very pleased with our stay here in March of 2013. We had some problems using our Starwood points and getting the correct reservation. However, while staying at the property we were very pleased with the service and amenities. We had the megaroom so for NY standards it was more than enough. It is a convenient area and the front staff even helped me to get my wallet back that had been left in a taxi. Great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJohn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, John! What a pleasure to hear how much your enjoyed your W experience and our signature WOW service. I am thrilled that our Welcome Desk was able to help you retrieve your lost wallet, especially given the amount of taxis in New York City! I will definitely be sharing your feedback with the rest of the team, and we hope we can welcome you back soon. Thank you again. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My beautiful wife and I spend a wedding anniversary here last year. Great location just down the road from grand central station with many great restaurants on Lexington and off the side streets. The hotel is beautiful with a nice small lobby bar. The rooms are very small but normal for New York and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorneBotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor, and for choosing W New York to celebrate such a special occasion! We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our excellent location, and hopefully we can see you again for future anniversaries! I will be sharing your kind message with the rest of my team, and please drop us a line at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you and your wife plan on returning. Thank you again! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the W hotel for two nights for our most recent NYC visit. We have previously stayed at both W hotel locations in NYC and this last stay definitely was not met with the same standards. Upon checking in we confirmed our rates, free parking vochure, and our request for a down-free room (I am allergic to down feathers)...when they told us our room did not contain the hypoallergenic bedding (as previously requested when booking the room) we asked them to please switch this since we would be out for at least the next three hours (this was around 7pm). We got back to our room around midnight, which would have given the staff plenty of time to switch the bedding, and immediately realized they still did not fix the bedding. We called down to the front desk and reminded them of our request and were answered by a man with a very rude attitude who said he would call us back in a few minutes. After waiting over 30 minutes, we decided to call again and remind them we would like the bedding switched, which then, the front desk man told us we should have requested this at booking and when we checked-in- which we did, but that is besides the point now!!! Around 1am housekeeping came by and switched the bedding; because our room was so small, we had to stand in the bathroom to give her enough space to switch the bedding. Fortunately Samira, the housekeeper, was extremely nice and sweet about the situation- but why couldn't the front desk people be as kind??

The rest of our stay at the W hotel was okay...nothing special or concerning to comment on. However when we checked out we reviewed our bill and confirmed the hotel rate and parking vouchers we had. All was well until a few days later we saw they had billed us for the parking...after dealing with them for over a week and even sending them our booking confirmation and bill, they finally removed our parking fee (we had used priceline to book).

We will most likely not return to this hotel in NYC. We loved our stays at other W hotel locations (especially LA) but the front desk staff and the man responsible for answering the whatever/whenever calls were exceptionally rude and short with us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaandJustinPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your most recent W experience. We are always looking of ways to improve our processes and procedures, especially when it comes to the health and safety of our guests. I will certainly be revisiting the efficiency of the way we handle our requests for feather-free rooms, as we certainly do not want this to happen again. Thank you again, and please e-mail us at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com so that we can rectify your concerns immediately. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one of the original W's. They are almost thru with renovations. Overall, did a good job with a relative old building.

Location is very ideal and the room sizes are not bad by New York standard. The bathroom is modernized but small by todate's standard howver functional. We stayed in a fantastic suite which is just about 540 SF into a bedroom and living room. Its only a quen bed but its the Heavenly bed with nice sheets. Decor is modern with a walk-in closet in the living room and a decent size closet in the bedroom.

The check-in process is slow but the staffs are friendly. The lobby bar is nice but always busy.

Lots of places to eat near-by and subway is right at the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors and view of Lexington
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your excellent feedback! W New York is almost complete with our room temperature system refresher, which was initiated in response to guest feedback like yours! We are thrilled that enjoyed the comfort of our signature W bed, and we hope that we can welcome you back soon. Please e-mail us at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before returning, and we will be more than happy to expedite all of your requests. Thank you again! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#259 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Property: W New York
Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing