We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've had the "pleasure" of staying at...”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #328 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 2, 2013

So first of all let me start by saying that I am in no means a snob but this has to be the absolute worst hotel i have ever stayed at. I've stayed at several Four Seasons hotels and at the Phillips Club in NYC. I booked the nights through Expedia, which I'm sure a lot of people do, but that does not give the staff an excuse to be rude. I planned a nice weekend with my girlfriend to New York a few weeks ago ( we're from California), at least i thought i did. The front desk agent was very rude right off the bat, pretty much telling me to take my bags to my room. Asking that if we absolutely needed help he would HAVE to call the bell man to assist us. I said thats fine and took them myself. My girlfriend and I wanted to catch a Broadway show so I called the concierge to inquire about shows, times and prices. The concierge said she didn't know and to "just go down to Broadway and figure it out". So my girlfriends parents decided to surprise us with a bottle of champagne and some chocolate covered strawberries. When we arrived back to the room, from figuring out our broadway situation, we found the ice bucket with luke warm water and warm champagne and the melted strawberries over the heater...... This is in February.... Who puts an ice bucket with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries over a heater???? So the next day her parents also decided to surprise us with some rose pedals leading from the door way to the bathroom and to the bed. That was a nice touch...... Minus the dirty ice bucket and dirty towels on the floor. Overall a bad experience, will not be taking our business to the W again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Markybe760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for sharing on Trip Advisor. My sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced as this is certainly not typical of our hotel. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I will be following up with my team. Also, please feel free to reach out to us at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com so that we can rectify your concerns immediately. Thank you for bringing this to my attention as we are always looking to improve upon our guests’ experiences. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,144 - 2,150 of 4,547 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

As a 60-something couple, we needed to stay in this part of the city and feel we picked the best place. Loved the feel of the lobby, with a bar and comfortable seating, especially. Room was small, but well maintained, attractive and very modern. Got a great deal through Hotwire.com which added to the value of our stay.

Room Tip: Even though we had a "cozy" room with queen-sized bed, it didn't feel uncomfortably sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisaceWayne_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your post regarding your recent W New York experience! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our WOW service, and that you were able to take advantage of our Living Room Oasis Bar. Please feel free to e-mail us at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan on returning so we can make your next W experience even better! Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nothing special, staff was very cold. Super small rooms, but again it is new york. Would stay elsewhere next time. Alot of other choices with other boutique hotels for less the price. Location was the one highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0veT0Travel168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for choosing the W New York and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment regarding the size of your guestroom. W New York has many room types and sized to cater to our guest’s needs, and we are certainly happy that you enjoyed our convenient location. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When I first arrived to the W New York, I quickly realized that the service would not be up to par. The man at the check in counter was not very welcoming or helpful. For example, I was hoping to upgrade to a larger room and he informed me that he would contact me whether a room would be available or not. I never heard anything from him. The following morning, we were awakened by a telephone wake-up call that was not even intended for us. That was very annoying as it was about 6:00AM; I also did not receive an apology for that.
The rooms are nicely decorated and modern but kinda worn (especially in the carpet and wallpaper) and my room had an odd scent that would not go away. The bed was comfortable, though. I would like to add that the cleaning service people were great and friendly!
I did like the location of the hotel, in Midtown and close to a lot of public transit.
Overall, I wasn't too impressed with this place. I would consider staying again if they improve on their customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thanks for sharing on Trip Advisor. My sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced as this is certainly not typical of our hotel. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I will be following up with my team immediately. Please feel free to e-mail us at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com so that we can rectify your concerns immediately. Thank you again for your feedback. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love staying at W's for the most part. However, this was the smallest room I've ever stayed in. I know it's NYC but wow. The location is great though...very easy to get around Midtown walking from the hotel.

On a cost basis, this probably isn't the best value in NYC but for starwood members this is a great option.

Room Tip: Ask to face the back of the hotel- much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing with W New York’s online community! We are happy that you enjoyed our convenient location, as well as the benefits of being a Starwood Preferred Guest. We appreciate your loyalty with us, and we hope to see you soon. Thank you again for your feedback, and I will be sharing your message with the entire Whatever/Whenever team. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed here numerous times due to the location for business (and Starwood points). The rooms are closet-like in size, to say the least, even smaller than the norm for NY hotels; mine was so small it came with free Internet as a condolence prize. But the gym is decent, as is the room service, and the staff are approachable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBGlobal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your review! Please accept my apologies for any disappointment regarding the size of your room. Although W New York has rooms that are on the cozier side, we do offer many room types and sizes to cater to the various needs of our guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed and took advantage of our Sweat fitness facility, as well as In Room Dining. Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I love any W hotel. The architecture, the "coolness" of it; the top notch service. I was upgraded so my room was probably bigger than the standard but great for a NYC hotel room. The on-site lexus car service was an incredible perk (make your reservations early). The fact that my floor was on the same as the Bliss salon was frustrating only because they didn't have any appointments but that didn't stop me from going in and buying an amazing moisturizer. I heard the bar is fun and a great place to hang out. We were so busy I never go the chance. Helpful Concierge, great doorman, terrific stay. Highly recommend (location is good as long as you don't mind walking).

Room Tip: all locations seemed to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catzmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your guest room as well as our Acura service and Bliss Spa! I can assure you that I will be sharing this with the rest of our Whatever/Whenever team, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again for your gracious words. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 469 in New York City
4,352 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#249 of 469 in New York City
1,190 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#157 of 469 in New York City
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#276 of 469 in New York City
3,458 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#222 of 469 in New York City
3,521 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 469 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#206 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $165 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing