We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #317 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had a wonderful experience at thr W New York! We went to New York to See the Rockettes and do some shopping. Our show started before Check in. The W allowed us to leave our luggage and offered to call us when our room was ready. The gentleman that check our luggage was not only very friendly and professional but he was very attrative. All of their employess in the lobby during our brief stay were quite handsome. I enjoyed that! I got a call from the W before the show was over letting us know that our room was readyand that we could check in early. Upon arrival we found out that they had also upgraded our room, which was great because the room was on the smaller side but I expect that in NYC. The beds were amazing! Super comfortable and cozy. The street noise was a bit annoying but once again it's New York. The hotel is in a great location. We walked to Radio City Music hall, Madame Tussauds wax Museum and Times Square. We got a great deal on the price and it included 2 free drinks as well. We had a great time and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleishia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,409)
There are newer reviews for W New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,137 - 2,143 of 4,409 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is great, all is clean, everybody was very professional, I recommend this because it is very good the location, the heart of NYC if you want to shop, have fun, go to shows, it is all walking distance and subway is one block away, however my only complain was the the size of the room reminded me like that one from our last cruise ship.... very very very small.. so when you open the door do not have any expectations as you will be disappointing by its size... however all other aspects are great. Also I was with someone that had a birthday those days and they were so nice to send a birthday card, with cold Champagne, 2 glasses and Cheesecake... that was soooooo cute.

Room Tip: Just make sure you don't have expectations
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPaladino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I checked in for 2 days and was very impressed with the level of service I received. The front desk person noticed that I was a Platinum member and upgraded my room to a studio suite. Also, Reza over in guest services and room service helped me to get a special desert that I was craving. A great experience on my short stay in the City!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wnewyork541, Guest Services Talent Coach at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your post, Robert! I have shared your kind and gracious words with Reza, and the rest of the team here at W New York. Please drop me a line at paul.gambardella@whotels.com when you plan on returning.

Paul Gambardella
Guest Services Talent Coach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family and I stayed there over Thanksgiving for three nights. My kids had the larger room with two double beds, and we had the room with one double bed. Their room was large, enough for three kids to have their own space and make a mess as usual. Our bedroom was small, but that is typical for NYC. The bed was comfy. We managed to get the rooms for a discounted rate on a website, which made it a great deal. I would stay here again. The location is great, walking distance to anywhere, safe neighborhood, staff was friendly. We did go down to the whiskey bar for a couple of drinks, nice lounge to relax after a long day. Clean hotel and nice shower.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldoc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my fiance's brithday and it was great- they organised a room upgrade, birthday card, sparkling wine and complementary taxi to our airport bus which made our holiday very special and memorable. The desk staff were also very pleasant and helpful on a daily basis. The hotel was in a good location and the bar and lobby area was a very relaxing space for a drink or coffee. The bed was huge and very comfortable. My only very minor comment is that thye wall were beginning to get a little grubby/ scuffed so could do with a re-paint but otherwise an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wnewyork541, Guest Services Talent Coach at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your review, Katie! We are thrilled that we were able to WOW you and your fiance on such a momentous occasion. I will be sharing this with the rest of the Whatever/Whenever team. Please e-mail me at paul.gambardella@whotels.com when you plan to return!

Paul Gambardella
Guest Services Talent Coach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very trendy. Central location, friendly service, clean & good rooms. Excellent restaurant. Unfortunately no swimming pool. Wifi not always stable. Gym good but busy at rush hours. Problem with airco was fixed quickly after reporting. Check out swift and professional.

Room Tip: Take rooms as high as posdible. We had a room at the 48th floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RdB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Everyone from the bellmen to the security guards to the front desk agents were friendly and helpful. Nice hotel, comfortable lobby to meet friends or do business with a quieter upstairs to talk, sit, read or work. Unfortunately, the only downside is the rooms are small, but that's it.

The hot cider is delicious, too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#270 of 468 in New York City
4,276 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#238 of 468 in New York City
1,169 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#276 of 468 in New York City
3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#155 of 468 in New York City
1,495 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 468 in New York City
3,418 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#102 of 468 in New York City
2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $198 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing