We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, superb service”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #318 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The lobby and entrance are quite nice, but the rooms are underwhelming. However, the service from superb from everyone I interacted with. Having just stayed at the Hotel Americano, which was beautiful, but disappointing service, I felt compelled to write this review of my stay at the W last April.

Excellent service from top to bottom. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_a_marks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wnewyork541, Guest Services Talent Coach at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your post, Michael! Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind and gracious words from your recent experience at W New York. I know our rooms tend to be on the cozier side, but we do provide a wide range of room types and options. I have shared your message with the entire WHATEVER WHENEVER team as a great reminder of what we do best! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Paul Gambardella
Guest Services Talent Coach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,410)
There are newer reviews for W New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,205 - 2,211 of 4,410 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel. I had been warned the rooms were tiny, so I booked to stay in a "Mega" room, which was very small. A large part of the advertised floor space was taken up by a corridor holding a closet. The room didn't match the look of the one in the photo in the website. Compared to when I stayed here 10 years or so ago, the look of the rooms (as opposed to the public areas) was very tired, without the nice touches I'd expect at a W.

Reception staff were unfriendly. When I arrived, I was told the room would be ready in an hour; came back an hour later to find them saying the same again (after the check-in time). They said the room had already been checked out of, so I don't understand why they could not have prioritised cleaning - we had just come off a long flight and were very tired. They offered to call us when the room was ready, but did not do so.

The wireless internet ($16 a day) had a very poor signal - only one bar - in the room, and was very slow.

The room was quite noisy, although I guess that is par for New York.

Room Tip: The are other better hotels nearby - e.g. the Benjamin next door.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank australianlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wnewyork541, Guest Services Talent Coach at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your post. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your recent W New York experience. We cannot even begin to explain how disappointed we were to read your review detailing the dissatisfaction you experienced. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to remedy your concerns immediately. If you decide to give the W New York another chance, please feel free to e-mail me at paul.gambardella@whotels.com prior to your arrival.

Paul Gambardella
Guest Services Talent Coach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed from a Friday to Monday. The W on Lexington is outdated and less interesting than most other W hotels, but it worked fine for our needs. The pros for us were that we received a room on a high floor as we requested, the room size was fine for Manhattan (would have preferred King size bed, but Queen worked out), and the location was great (just far enough away from the hustle & bustle of Time Square). The cons for us were that the lobby was run down (e.g. lots of stains on the chair fabric in the lounge), our bathroom had no fan (always an important feature!), and internet was $14.95/day in the rooms (too much considering other hotels now offer free in-room internet). But those are minor gaps; overall the experience was as good as we expected based on the discount price we paid (Priceline).
On a side-note, if you move stuff around in the bar fridge to put your own items in there, make sure you don't end up with extra charges on your bill - The lady at the front desk said this happens often, since the cleaning staff don't seem to notice that you've moved fridge items 2 feet away onto the table below.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high-floor room in Manhattan if you prefer less street noise
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmckendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

W hotel is one of the rare modernised hotels in mid town, which makes a nice change from the tired chintzy rooms that mostly populate the area. Service is great (branded whatever/whenever) and there is everything you need in the room. Beds are comfortable, although bizarrely the base sheets seem to have been ordered too small (they don't fit over the whole mattress). The gym is large, although missing ergs and decent sized floor space.

The bar is better than most hotels, but not as good as other W hotels. Service is efficient, food is not great and expensive.

It's been a while since the hotel was redone as a W and some areas are getting tired (e.g. worn carpets). The rooms are small, esp, the cozy rooms. There is no way to turn off the a/c (noisy) and there are no blinds leaving you with a choice of being seen or not having daylight. There are no baths and the sink is traditional style rather than the modern design of everything else in the hotel so seems out of place (it's also too big for a bathroom of that size). The staff seem to use the toilets in the bar (2nd floor) which means they are often full - seems bizarre that they don't have any back of house.

The hotel trades off its "coolness" and charges a premium for it, but mostly used by suits so lacks the panache of other W hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The location in Midtown is very good for walking to several parts of the city. From reading previous reviews, I was expecting the rooms to be small, but we had one of their "Spectacular Rooms" and it was large enough. The bathroom was a little small though, and I am not fond of the European style half door on the shower. Very lively lounge and bar scene like most W's. I enjoyed my trip, and would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DaninAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've stayed at this W a few times while in NYC on business travel. The rooms are small (although the other W rooms in NYC seemed much smaller) so not recommended for a longer stay for two people. The lobby bar as well as Whiskey Blue are constantly busy. Great for people watching, grabbing a cocktail or a snack. Staff were friendly and attentive and this is a great midtown location. Depending on your budget (pricey!), I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short NYC stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTaxidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a blast after getting married with a trip to NYC at the W. Gina was the best cocktail server and took care of us all night. She even had a bottle of wine delivered to our room in celebration of our nuptials. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briznit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wnewyork541, Guest Services Talent Coach at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your review! I have shared your feedback with the rest of our team and with Gina! We are thrilled she was able to WOW you at our Oasis Lounge! Please e-mail me at paul.gambardella@whotels.com when you are planning to return.

Paul Gambardella
Guest Services Talent Coach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#271 of 468 in New York City
4,278 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#237 of 468 in New York City
1,170 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#277 of 468 in New York City
3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 468 in New York City
3,418 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 468 in New York City
2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $199 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing