We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like to combine your hotel with a night club”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #319 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Like almost every W Hotel, the W on Lexington Avenue in New York City has small, but beautifully appointed rooms. Like most other W's, their business strategy seems to be directed at getting you out of your room and into their bar ... for not so inexpensive drinks. Every time I walk into this hotel lobby in the evening, I swear I am walking into a night club. But, it is in a great location and gives good service and has a nice gym for guests.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank proakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,413)
There are newer reviews for W New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,374 - 2,380 of 4,413 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

Location: This location was perfect for my business trip - within easy walking distance of all my meeting locations.
Staff: Front desk staff was fine, the bellmen were unprofessional (not friendly, really dragged their feet)
Bar: Had good drinks and friendly waitresses, but the seating was not the best, the atmosphere was good, not great
Room: Very small (it IS New York!) but really comfortable. They definitely made the most of the space and had energy efficient touches. I liked the decor very much. The bathroom didn't seem exceptionally clean - the back edge of the counter had dust on it, and I felt like the floor could have used some scrubbing. It wasn't filthy by any means, just maybe could use a good scrub-down. The rest of the room was very clean.
I had about an hour to kill one afternoon, so I hung out in the lobby/lounge area, which was pretty comfy. Overall, I liked this hotel.

Room Tip: If you're not used to 24/7 car horns, jackhammers, and sirens, I'd say the higher the room t...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the W in New York for one night whilst on Business.

The hotel itself is in a great location and the reception staff were extremely friendly.

I was disappointed with the room which was very small and parts of it are very dated - particularly the shower which is extremely basic. If I was paying the $540 for a one-night stay in New York I'd certainly be looking at any alternatives.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toppo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Having stayed in several W in the world (like Barcelona and Taiwan), I have been really disappointed by the W New-York. It doesn't in any sense compare with the others, it is not trendy, the service is poor (welcome far from W standards, no room service to prepare the rooms for the night, bar not very exciting...) and the rooms are extremely small (it is hard to stand between the walls and the bed...)and look already worn out. There is not even a soap holder in the shower to put the shower products and the air con was very noisy. The price quality ratio is probably one of the worse I had in NY.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank NomadeModerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had 6 members of my wedding party stay at the W first weekend in May 2012 and had the ceremony on the terrace of my extreme wow suite with 11 total in attendance. I cannot even begin to thank David, Renee, Marco, Ibelice, and all of the other wonderful staff members there who ensured that everything we could possibly think of (and some things they themselves thought of) was taken care of. They even went out and bought a pair of scissors for us as we needed them to make my bouquet! We were so welcomed and the hotel is beautiful with some really neat features in the suite like XM radio throughout (or IPod) including on the terrace. The décor is chic and contemporary and the Bliss products in the bathroom were delightful. Getting champagne handed to you in the lobby for free is certainly nice, too! My wedding weekend could not have been any more perfect thanks to great friends and family and the W Hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venushr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I had situation where I left my iPhone in my room when i was checking out and Jessie, the woman who was apart of the cleaning staff for my room, tracked me down and went all the way to the street to make sure I had it. She was very friendly and went above and beyond to make sure I had exactly what I need. Excellent service. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

First time (and probably last time) in a W hotel. Stayed here for two nights. Had a room which was pretty much the size of a double bed, had to squeeze down a wall to get to the far side. Also woken up by noisy neighbours at 3 or 4am. Could hear clearly their conversations.
Stupidly left my ebook reader in the room on checkout and they have been unable to find it, even though I called only about 4 hrs after leaving.

Fortunately I was on a work trip, having seen the price they paid i would definately not consider it worth the luxury price tag.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#270 of 468 in New York City
4,279 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#239 of 468 in New York City
1,171 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#275 of 468 in New York City
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#151 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 468 in New York City
3,421 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 468 in New York City
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $197 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing