We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful people -- efficient and greatly located. Expensive!”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #326 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Just what you'd expect from a W - modern sleek rooms (not huge though). Very hip lobby bar (and super expensive, but who cares when in NY?) It's worth it just to watch the cool people lounging. Great location, can get to everything NY has to offer. Concierge staff the best! Great diner around the corner (exit hotel, go right, to corner, go right 1/2 block) for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenoftheSlipstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,981 - 2,987 of 4,576 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

6 hours in a bus from the Cape and we were ready for to relax. PS I would recommend a Peter Pan bus from Hyannis to New York much better than flying and a magnificent view as you approach the city.
Great welcome at the W Lexington Ave really friendly face with a great attitude. I think his name was Tim. Lobby and reception were what we were expecting and the sofas and chairs looked inviting in the bar area and we mentally promised ourselves a drink before dinner. From the lift to the room I knew the room would be small looking at the spacing in between the doors but small rooms don’t bother me as we have stayed in some really tiny ones in Paris but nothing prepared me for the shoe box we would be staying in for four days. You couldn’t open the curtains to let the light in due to the multi storey car park view. It was like staying in a cell. Monks would love it!! I had trouble getting around the bed avoiding the large television on a pole in one corner. We have shoe boxes that are bigger. No way could we u pack the bags as one door of the 4 contained the safe and another the mini bar. The closet was even smaller we hung up about 6 things and it was full. The carpet and tiles in the bathroom were dirty and the walls in the bathroom had heavy textured wall paper which hung on to all the splashes from the basin. I couldn’t dry myself in the bathroom just too small. We were kept awake all teh 1st night as the window would not close and teh noise from teh air conditioning was horrendous. Two call the next day did get it repaired but it was a rear facing room and the noise was only marginally better.
It was what I can only describe as the Emperor’s new clothes. Every one afraid of being uncool if they critique something that is labelled hip/ trendy. Nice design fittings do not make up for cramming people in to an unsafe space. Truly awful!. To make matters worse you try getting a seat in the bar when it is full of non-resident office types who hang about there after work taking up space from people staying. We gave up in the end and went to a local bar. Breakfast was no better in a dull really dull breakfast room with no natural light and just plain depressing we took to eating a diner down the avenue. Next trip to New York we will look elsewhere.
Best things were the welcome and the consierge who helped us get tickets to non broadway theatre it was down hill from there.

Room Tip: Dont Stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patroclas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wnewyork541, Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Welcome Patroclas,
Our goal is to provide our guests with memorable and enjoyable experiences from start to finish and we are truly sorry we did not carry out our promise. Thank you for your taking the time to post your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you felt welcomed into our hotel, as it is our hope that all of our guests feel as such. Nonetheless, we do apologize for your dissatisfaction with your accommodations and any other challenge you dealt with during your stay. I have shared your experience with our management team so we may look further into these issues, as we take all comments very seriously.
Warm Regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I will start with saying that every single staff member we met at the W was warm, welcoming, helpful and nice. They really couldn't have been better. Our room was the tiniest little room I've ever stayed in, but we didn't care about that. We weren't in NYC to hang out in the room. It was kind of funny that they promote in room dining though when there isn't anywhere to eat it. My only complaint about the room was that the lighting was dim. Sure, it looks nice, but not at all good for applying makeup. There wasn't one bright light I could turn on to see what I was doing. Other than that, no complaints. No complaints about the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

To be honest I had never heard of the W, and a friend invited me to stay for 6 days. The experience was unbelievable from the moment I arrived to the moment I ran out of the hotel to catch my train at Penn Station, I felt like royalty. Everyone there was willing to help with anything at any time. I will definately visit this hotel again, and now I tell everyone about it!! The concierge always recomended memorable spots with great food, and helped me with everything. The only downfall was your beds are so comfortable, I hate sleeping in my bed now!

Room Tip: All th erooms are amazing, I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxanadalila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The W should stand for Why? why are you mopping tread mills at 6:45 AM and not drying them? Why Invite the guest to coffee and then charge for it? Why is the hotel so unhip? 80's are over, get back to serving your business cliental.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlessouthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wnewyork541, Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Welcome Charlessouthey,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor community. We
are continuously striving to provide memorable and enjoyable experiences. It is guests like you who take their time to leave us comments that truly help us to improve our services. Again, thank you for your remarks as they will help further achieve our goals of excellent guest satisfaction.

Warm Wishes,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Moved here after a weekend with the family at the Marriott. Checked in early in the morning and asked to store my bags, but was able to get a room, which was great. Front desk person was the same as last year when I stayed here; she was very courteous, as she was last year when I had a billing issue. Elevator requires you enter your room key, which is a nice feature. Last year, there were staff people before the elevators who asked to see your key, but they were not present this year. Rooms are small and this time I had the smallest of small. They actually put a sign in the room advising they know it's small and they will be giving you extra points to make up for it . Very, very clean. Bilss products for which I was thankful as I ran out of my airline-size shampoo. View was of a wall. Overall quiet (12th floor), but ac unit was on the noisy side. I have stayed here several times and find it very reliable.

Room Tip: High Starwood levels get better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytravel1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

After day 2 we tried to move to a different hotel but could not find one--the W is horrible.Confirmed reservation for double--given a single and told they'd work on correcting it--we contacted manager and after about an hour did get moved to a double--then late that night a man tried to get into our room--they'd given him keys and booked him in same room. Room supposed to have coffee maker--finally got one after asking for it for 2 days -- but no coffee--it is an extra $11 a pot. Also got charged and extra $5 to get a coffee cup. We had drinking glasses for 2 days and then we got charged $5 on a day when the maid did not leave galsses and we had to call down and ask for more. We started washing and hiding glasses and coffee cups because they wanted to charge $5 extra to use one each day !! We also had to ask for extra clothes hangars-- the room comes with only 2. One day our room keys did not work--front desk said cell phones erased the magnetic strip. Room had bedside lamp and then on day 3 it was removed with no explanation and never replaced. On day 5 I found out the sheets were not being changed--small spill on a sheet and it was still there after the maid had been in. I asked and found out they don't change sheets until the guest leaves--we we're booked for 8 days. (we'd been tipping the maid every day--after that we left much smaller tips). Internet connection was $20 a day in a city where all other places have free internet. The room was very small and very noisy--crying child next door was horrible and there was a lot of noise in the hall at all hours. The W also extends it's mini-bar to covering a dresser top with snacks and a notice that says the snacks are on a pressure pad and we'd be charged if we moved any of the junk off the dresser top--no flat surfaces in the room to put anything on. The place tried to sound British calling the elevator a lift and bathrooms waterclosets but front desk clerks pretend to not understand English whenever we asked a question. We reserved the room for $289 a night for 8 nights but when we settled the bill we found a charge of $599 for one night with no explanation-- desk clerk actually walked away and turned her back on us when we asked her to explain the charge !!! We're still trying to get that corrected. We're in NY twice a year for confrences-- we've stayed in many NY hotels---this one was the worst ever. We booked a room here because we were in the city for longer than usual and wanted a really nice place-- never again.

Room Tip: never stay at the W New York
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruinedourtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#267 of 470 in New York City
4,364 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#254 of 470 in New York City
1,194 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#160 of 470 in New York City
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#271 of 470 in New York City
3,520 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#218 of 470 in New York City
3,547 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $151 - $660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing