We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great feeling”
Review of Warwick New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Warwick New York
Ranked #94 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“great feeling”
Reviewed August 30, 2005

I have stayed in several hotels in NYC but by far this was the best, no noisey hallways or crowds of people in and out and the walls were insulated so noise level was mininal . The rooms were clean and room serice was prompt and if you needed anything they were there.Everytime we go back we stay here because we know the rooms as well as the staff are the best you can get in such a busy city.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,343
    1,434
    341
    119
    80
See reviews for
1,136
1,511
188
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2005

This hotel was very good - the location is excellent. 3 mins walk from 5th avenue shopping, 5 mins walk from Broadway & Central Park. Inside the hotel was very clean and tidy - the rooms are clean, comfortable and well stocked. The only bad thing were that you sometimes had to wait a while for the lifts. Would certainly stay there again. Fantastic time, fantastic city.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2005

I was lucky enough to get a room for about $125/ night. This is an old hotel with tons of charm. Yes the elevators are small but they have a 30's feel to them. The marble floors were rich and elegant. It's just blocks from Radio City Music Hall. I was impressed with the over all value and I felt like I was staying in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2005

Recently stayed at the Warwick for an overnight business stay. Had some misgivings, based on some prior reviews, but I experienced no problems whatsoever. Yes, the lobby is small (but i didn't spend a lot of time in the lobby) and yes, the three elevators are small, but more than adequate, with only brief waits. The The room was as requested (king bed, non-smoking) and much, much larger than the average NY hotel room. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable and the staff was professional, all I could really ask for in a business stay.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tandsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 15, 2005

We knew before hand that we were not going to be able to check in when we arrived because our flight came in at 7:30am. But when we got there just to have them hold our bags they went ahead and let us check in at 9am, which allowed us to freshen up after a long red eye flight. The room was big (for NY) clean and had eveyrthing we needed. The bell staff was very helpfull in directions and where to eat.. recommended "Le Bonne Soup" on 57th between 6th and 5th.. great little french place. Housekeeping was very attentive and checking out was a breeze. We needed to print our boarding passes and even though the Business room was being remodeled they still let us use it. GREAT LOCATION. Rockefeller center, Chrystler building, Times Square, all of the theatres and subway stops are all withing walking distance. Lots of little delis and diners for breakfast and diner. Also just a block from 5th Ave for a little shopping. We will definitely stay at the Warwick for all of our trips to NYC!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 31, 2005

My wife and I visited New York for the first time this past week. Since this was our 35th anniversary, I started researching the trip months ago and chose the Warwick through Travelocity. We were absolutely pleased with our choice. The staff was excellent. Very courteous and helpful. The price, when compared to other Manhattan Hotels was reasonable. The room was small but very nice. The location was perfect. Times Square, Central Park, NBC Studios, Radio City and Broadway were all within easy walking distance and the subway was easy to get to. We will definitely go back to New York and when we do we will definitely stay at the Warwick.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2005

Our family of four stayed at The Warwick on July 28, 2005. The hotel was older but well-kept from what we saw. We had room 2601/2602 which ended up being a sort of junior suite. Unfortunately, we had two young children with us and the sofa was not a sofa bed as I had booked. The front desk however did send up a rollaway bed when asked.

The location is good as mentioned and we walked to Times Square and FAO Swartz near Central Park. There is a Hilton right across the street at which we stayed on Jan 1, 2004, which is probably more preferable for us in the future. The Warwick's elevators (as would be expected in the historic building that it is- built by William Randolph Hearst for his paramour Marion Davies) are indeed small.

The service could use improvement, particularly the front door staff. The bellhops were helpful storing our luggage however.

The best element by far was the restaurant, Murals on 54. The food was okay, but we had great service. The staff were WONDERFUL with the three kids we dined with at breakfast. The staff were attentive, courteous, couldn't have asked for better. It also didn't hurt that the buffet for the 1, 3 and 6 old children were free. The recent remodel was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FS_Junkie_with_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#348 of 467 in New York City
18,430 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,330 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,622 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
2,743 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York

Property: Warwick New York
Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#93 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Warwick New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing