We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel shame about view”
Review of Warwick New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Warwick New York
Ranked #94 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel shame about view”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

For a great location you cant fault the warwick hotel, nice old world charm, after getting booked in we proceeded to our room, being we were celebrating our 25 th wedding anniversary i emailed before hand and asked to have champagne on arrival which i was glad to pay for, to my huge diapointment we arrived into our room and what a let down, past caring about the champagne our room view was as romantic as a newyork street hotdog , a horrible dark wall with almost no natural light,, i,m not one to cause a scene so just headed out to celebrate that night even though we were exhausted,the room itself was nice enough, the bathroom a bit to small, but hey so are most in newyork,went for a drink in the hotel bar and thought it a bit pricey for 2 very small lagers was $23 without the tip,stayed at very many other nyork hotels which cared for guests far better,would i return? Wouldn,t be my 1st choice, but certainly not my last

Room Tip: Request for anyroom that doesnt look onto the brick wall at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourboys571734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much for having chosen to stay at The Warwick for your recent anniversary celebration and for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to hear that you were provided one of our rooms that faces a neighboring building, a building that was built many decades after The Warwick first opened its doors, while also happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,343
    1,434
    341
    119
    80
See reviews for
1,136
1,511
188
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you're looking for a hotel in New York that's within striking distance from the main attractions, then look no further.
We stayed for four nights from 17th March 2014. St Patrick Day parade was taking place on nearby 5th Avenue which was an unexpected bonus. We checked in with the minimum of fuss, the staff on the desk were very helpful and, it has to be said, utterly charming. I found this to be the case with all staff over the next four days, even when I lost my room key.
Our room was 2206, a decent sized affair with king size bed, easy chair, desk and chair and plenty of storage space. There is also a safe, free of charge, in the wardrobe. The outlook from the room was non-existent, a brick wall, but this wasn't a problem as I didn't go to NY to look out of a hotel room window.
The bathroom is on the small side, but perfectly functional; toilet, bath, shower, wash hand basin, hair dryer etc.
I can't comment on the other facilities offered by the hotel as we did 12 hours a day touring, so didn’t use them.
I would use this hotel again and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us over the St. Patrick's day weekend. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, it's location and the way our staff looked after you. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Friendly polite staff who were helpful in arranging transport and trips. Great location, near to Central Park and within easy walking distance of all the great attractions. Beautiful hotel and rooms were a generous size and clean, only one complaint was the view, a brick wall

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your impressions with us. We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the fact that you were accommodated in one of our rooms with "close up" city views. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I normally never write reviews, but this was such a pleasant experience.
We stayed for a birthday. Location couldn't of been any better.
spotlessly clean, huge suites, and a cozy warm comforting atmosphere.
Classy, modern vintage feel. Everything was on point. The staff, from the doorman, to checkin, and room service. Everyone was super friendly. All the requested services were in place prior to check-in. (I had requested, champagne and other assortments to be in the suite). Also thank reservation staff (I think his name was Kang) who put it all together, made everything so seamless. I will definitely return in the future!!!

Room Tip: Corner Suites had a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sung B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us recently, for posting your review and for recommending us to others. Billy and all of us here at the hotel were very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to many return visits in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for my 40th birthday and I cannot rate this hotel highly enough - spotlessly clean, modern rooms but with a 'vintage' feel. The waiting staff and doormen were exceptionally friendly and helpful and in terms of location I don't think it can be beaten - only one block away from 5th Avenue, close to Central Park, Broadway Times Square etc. I cannot recommend this hotel enough! A friend also organised a surprise birthday treat to be delivered to my room and so on finding out it was my birthday the hotel also send me something to wish me a happy birthday which was very kind.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we were able to add our part to your birthday celebration. Thank you very much for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

A friend recommended the Warwick New York Hotel to us years ago and we continue to thank them for their help. My wife and I come to the city at least once a year and we always stay at the Warwick. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, and the service has always been excellent. Murals 54 restaurant serves a fantastic breakfast and Randolph's lounge is great, too. Diana always treats us well there. Located at 54th and 6th Avenue, the Warwick could not be better located for someone visiting for business or pleasure. Central park is only a few blocks away and Times Square is several blocks in the opposite direction. Radio City Music Hall and Rockefeller Plaza are short walks from the hotel. The Museum of Modern Art is next door. We have travelled many places and it is rare to find a hotel that consistently exceeds our expectations.

Room Tip: In-house reservations people are wonderful. Corner rooms are biggest and best if you can get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you very much for having made The Warwick your hotel of choice in New York City and also for taking the time to post the observations following your most recent stay. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again and we look forward to many more return visits in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Every year on St. Patrick's Day, Mar. 17th, my sisters and I stay at the Warwick Hotel and are never disappointed. The staff is wonderful, from the front desk, to the maid you meet in the hall, to the waiter that delivered our breakfast, all were so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are lovely and clean, the location is great, close to Broadway for shows, a block from 5th Ave. and Central Park is a nice walk from there. I can't say enough about this Hotel. When I booked some months before our arrival, I mentioned my sister was celebrating her 80th Birthday, lo and behold, in our room was a welcoming gift for her. It was such a sweet surprise for her, its touches like this that makes the Warwick a cut above other hotels. We can't wait for our return visit next year.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very large and sunny. We had two rooms this stay, a suite 1807 and a double 1818...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for making The Warwick your annual St. Patrick's day home. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed this year's stay again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#348 of 467 in New York City
18,430 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,330 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,616 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
2,743 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York

Property: Warwick New York
Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#93 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Warwick New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing