We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but very disappointing experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warwick New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Warwick New York
Ranked #89 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but very disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

My fiance and I visited the Warwick for Valentine's day this year, we booked the romance packaged.

Firstly, the hotel is very nice, and they even upgraded us to a suite which was fantastic. We were meant to have champagne in our room, they served prosecco, not ideal but we were happy so didn't bother raising it as an issue.

The major issue however came in the morning. We had breakfast served in our room, when the staff had taken our breakfast order off the door during the night, the "do not disturb" sign had fallen. It was still clearly visible on the floor next to our door, so a sensible person could have worked this out. There was also music playing which should have been a give-away. However, they entered our room and disturbed our morning quite dramatically.

I raised this to the manager, who only advised it would be addressed in a staff meeting. At the time I accepted this, however on reflection I was not at all happy and my fiance was very distressed. I sent the Hotel Manager an email, 3 weeks later and I still have not received a reply.

Really bad customer service, I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clifford1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for posting the review of your recent stay with us. I will contact you directly to discuss how we can possibly win you back a s a guest.

warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,110
    1,324
    316
    109
    71
See reviews for
1,002
1,387
171
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Warwick Hotel is at an excellent location and rooms are at reasonable prices. It is close to Broadway ( saw Kinky Boots ) and is walking distance close to Central Park. Local restaurants and pubs great. Very close to subway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for posting your review. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and your overall stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a wonderful time in New York despite the dramatic drop in temperature from our home in California! We came for my husband's conference and our son's interview and loved staying at the Warwick for a few nights. The manager Jamal was extremely kind to us when we misplaced something in the room after leaving and the staff were very professional and courteous in fixing our TV. Great location in midtown as well! Looking forward to another NYC trip and stay at the Warwick in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for making us your home away from California recently and we were very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, maybe when temperatures in New York are a little more pleasant?

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We recently stayed at the Warwick New York Hotel for our 6th wedding anniversary. We had an excellent experience from the moment we walked in. All hotel staff was friendly and courteous to us. The concierge Kevin could not have been more accommodating and was extremely helpful in so many ways. Kevin recommended places to eat which were awesome and also made reservations for us for several events. We were pleasantly surprised to find flowers, champagne, and chocolate-covered strawberries when we entered our room! Before leaving, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The lounge (Randolph's) was comfortable and relaxing with a great drink menu. Overall, we loved our stay at the Warwick NYC and highly recommend this hotel for any occasion.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Allow me to belatedly wishing you a Happy Anniversary! We were thrilled to hear that you chose our hotel for your celebration and even more thrilled to hear that everything we offered and everything you encountered exceeded your expectations. Kevin was especially happy to hear that he contributed so much to your satisfaction. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here years ago when the lobby was quite small. Its been renovated and there is a wonderful bar with high quality light fare. Although its not cheap, its very cozy and has great windows through which to watch new york walk by. We upgraded to a suite for the two of us…we weren't sure if our daughter would join us or not. It was in the older part of the hotel but it was a huge amount of space…sitting area, second tv, table, microwave, and bar area. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I have a feeling the great value was due to the fact that we were in the older part of the hotel but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose4718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us again and for taking the time to post your review of this stay. we were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be coming back again in the future. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Warwick. The staff was very nice and the room was clean, roomy (as far as NYC rooms go, especially!), and well appointed. Can't beat the location as well. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: If you are there for a special occasion, let them know in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us recently, for posting your review and for stating that you will not only return but also recommend us as the hotel of choice in New York City. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Warwick with my daughter. The location really cannot be beat: close to theaters, shopping, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and more. We stayed in a large room which, unlike our room last year which faced a brick wall, had a view of Sixth Avenue. My only complaint about the room (which seems common here) is the bathroom size. Our room was fairly enormous for New York standards and we would never have noticed a few square feet taken away from it and allocated to the bathroom. The bathroom was comically small and I was happy my daughter is too young to need to spend any time primping yet! In defense of the bathroom - it was spotlessly clean and everything was in great working order.

The staff was amazing from our arrival until well after checkout when we came to retrieve the luggage we had stored with them. They even sent up a plate of chocolate dipped strawberries for my daughter's special day. Little touches such as those will keep us coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaCyn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us again recently. We were very happy to hear that you had another enjoyable visit and that you will be coming back again in the future. We look forward to seeing you again then.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#68 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#102 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#46 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#114 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York

Property: Warwick New York
Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in New York City
#67 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#93 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Warwick New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing