We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location x 3, but ask for an updated room.”
Review of Warwick New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Warwick New York
Ranked #113 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is our go-to hotel when staying in NYC. It's location can't be beat - walk to Central Park, the Theatre District, museums and subways - all right there. Friendly enough, especially at breakfast. We stayed in a corner suite, but were disappointed that it had not yet been refurbished. It was very tired. Scuffed and dated furniture with a one sink bathroom featuring a stained & cracked (repaired) toilet that backed-up (ugh). The good was the suite was big, clean, and quiet with a very comfy bed. However, be careful of the extra blanket in the closet. It had a very strong, peculiar smell and could not be used even though needed due to colder weather. Since we really love the hotel's location and understand nyc hotels have their quirks, we will keep this our go-to hotel and hope for an updated room next year. Have fun!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room. Elevators can take awhile so ask for a lower room if this might be an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonomaDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for having stayed with us again. We appreciated your comments and I am happy to inform you that our hotel will have been fully updated by the end of April of next year. So when you come back again you will most certainly receive an updated room. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,356 - 2,362 of 4,517 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel was slightly stuff especiallly in the cocktail lounge. However the hotel was very pleasing. Spacious rooms ( for NYC), bathroom was sufficient but nothing fancy. Would love to stay here again. Love the old-time feel, I almost felt I was on the titanic.

Bed and pillows extremely comfy. We had a corner room and the view/space was exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The Warwick. Please come and stay with us again very soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel for our first visit to New York. The location is great being within walking distance of many attractions. The staff were all extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The Warwick has a wonderful nostalgic atmosphere. The room was spacious and comfortable. We had a late afternoon flight out and they stored our luggage so we could do some last minute sightseeing. The Warwick made our first trip a truly excellent one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your first visit to New York City. We enjoyed reading how much you enjoyed our hotel and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel is sited in a great location - really convenient for all the midtown tourist sites and for Central Park. Very close to the subway for getting to the downtown parts of Manhattan too.

Rooms were nice and clean - not very big - but then you can't really expect that in New York.

We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on any of the other facilities.

Overall, I would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you very much, not just for staying with us, but also for writing about your stay with us. We were very happy to hear that you found our location to be very convenient and that you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here once again on a recent business trip; clearly the midtown location is super convenient. What sets the Warwick apart is the unique experience it offers, which hearkens back to a more elegant era, whilst having modern facilities that mean you don't pay a penalty in terms of comfort. A further bonus is the staff are particularly friendly, being neither snooty nor offhand, which makes a nice change. All in all a very good pick for business if you are looking for a change from the usual chain hotel offerings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you very much for having stayed with us again recently and for taking the time to share your comments. I was thrilled to hear that our efforts to provide a genuine environment to our guests are paying off and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived after a cruise on a Sunday morning. Our room was not ready (didn't expect it to be). They invited us to store our luggage and offered us any help we needed. What a great staff! They called us at noon when our room was ready. It was a lovely, spacious room . The location of the hotel was perfect, as was the price from Hotwire. We did not have the pricey breakfast in Murals, but the room was beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

I was very happy to hear that your early morning arrival was handled so well by our staff and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your business and for taking the time to write about your experience. We hope to see here again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hotel with real character and old New York feel.
Excellent room and large. Very clean and comfortable.
Stayed here for a week on a family holiday and loved it.
The location is perfect for exploring and I would recommend jumping on the Q train at 53rd and 7th subway and go over to Brooklyn.
Explore the cafe culture and bohemian shops of 5th avenue there, well worth a trip.
This hotel is just a perfect base for a fantastic city!
I must try and upgrade to one of the suites with a balcony looking down 6th Avenue.
Thank you The Warwick !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you very much for spending your recent holiday with us. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location along with your room and the services we offer and we look forward to your next visit, when a suite with a terrace may be available for you.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
4,998 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 471 in New York City
3,739 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 471 in New York City
3,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#326 of 471 in New York City
10,742 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#71 of 471 in New York City
6,716 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#136 of 471 in New York City
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York

Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#93 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $196 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Warwick New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing