We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel with fantastic service”
Review of Warwick New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Warwick New York
Ranked #98 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in August as part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations and could not have been happier with our choice. Service was so friendly and professional and our refurbished room was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is in a fantastic location close to the Rockefeller, 5th Avenue and Central Park. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a central New York hotel with staff who go the extra mile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 25taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Belatedly Happy Anniversary and thank you for sharing your experience at the Warwick. We were very happy to hear that our location and our staff made your special celebration extra special. Please come and celebrate your 26th anniversary with us next year.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,373)
There are newer reviews for Warwick New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,289 - 2,295 of 4,373 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We made our reservation after not being able to get a room in a 'chain' hotel. We were absolutely thrilled with the Warwick. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. The concierge staff were so knowledgeable and accommodating.

We had breakfast in Murals on 54...delicious.

The hotel is across from MoMA, blocks away from Central Park, surrounded by theatre options.

We loved it!

And, our suite was beautiful! It had character and old world luxury. If you are looking for a cookie-cutter hotel, this is not for you. But if you are looking for an experience and ambiance, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RComfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. You are absolutely correct in stating that we are not a cookie cutter hotel. Having been built in 1926 we posses a certain charm that can only rarely be duplicated in newer buildings. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Love love love this hotel in Manhattan. I have stayed here three times now and will continue to stay here. The breakfast buffet is the perfect start to our day. Staff are very accommodating and friendly. Extremely convenient location for site seeing. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy3Guelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your patronage and for sharing your thoughts about your most recent visit. I was glad to hear that our sumptuous buffet provided the perfect start to your days and that our staff was able to provide you with attentive service. We look forward to your fourth visit.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

For about 3 months I stayed here either every second or third week whilst I was working in NY.

The hotel looks nice from outside, but it’s truly dreadful inside – the rooms are very outdated (think 1907s décor with 5 layers of paint just put over the top of each other), and even the ‘suite’ that I was upgraded to had a cracked sink and toilet (this being a common feature of the rooms in general!).

There’s also a funny smoke smell that pervades the rooms when you turn on the aircon, which isn’t nice if you’re a non smoker (the hotel is meant to be non-smoking).

The final straw is the cost of the breakfast, it’s astronomical, basically top 5* hotel prices.

I still go to NY every few weeks, but I won’t stay here again, it just isn’t an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank impgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feelings about our hotel. While I am sorry that we missed the mark in your case I am grateful for the feedback you provided us with, since we will use your experiences to continue to improve. The last phase of our renovation will be completed by April of next year, which means that all of our rooms will be fresh and ready for you should you decide to give us another try. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Warwick is my favorite hotel in New York. I hate to write this, as I'm afraid too many people will read about my experience and there won't be room next time I plan to stay at the Warwick! I have been staying at this hotel for 15-20 years. Originally I discovered it while working in New York on business, now I go there whenever I visit the city for fun. The location is perfect - close to theaters, and shopping. I walk from Grand Central when I take the train. The accommodations are lovely - beautiful linens in the room, bright and airy feel to the rooms. As a bonus the staff is super friendly and helpful and extremely polite. I can't say enough about the Warwick. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for being such a loyal guest and for writing about your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you have made us your home away from home in New York and we look forward to many more return visits. And don't worry, we will always have space for you...

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Can't beat the location of this uptown hotel -- just blocks away from Central Park if you are a runner and one block from the shops on 5th Ave. if you are shopper. Great lobby. Rooms with no view are overpriced. Although rooms are small, the decor is quite nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel following your recent visit with us. We were pleased to hear that our location was a good fit for you and that you enjoyed the ambiance of our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful renovated room with lots of light. Front desk, bellhop and staff went out of their way to enhance our stay and accommodate whatever we needed. Great location and charming room. Close to everything, all services available. Great bar in lobby, room service always available and on time!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the interior courtyard and are dark. Make sure to request a street facing view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind words with which you describe your impressions of our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that we turned out to be the perfect hotel for you and look forward to many more return visits in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,934 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
11,500 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
3,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,734 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#80 of 468 in New York City
3,451 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York

Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#93 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $245 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Warwick New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing