We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean”
Review of Warwick New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Warwick New York
Ranked #94 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Spacious and clean”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Good location, near the famous shops and central park. They have large rooms, good for families. I think all of their rooms have double beds. You have to pay for Internet. We had zero view. The room and the bathroom was clean. The bathroom has a bathtub.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommyTravels_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,343
    1,433
    341
    119
    80
See reviews for
1,135
1,511
188
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I gave it a 5 because I think for a 4 star hotel in NYC it's great!

I think the key to a good hotel is friendly, fast service and nice and clean rooms. Comfy bed too! And location is fantastic. These are my expectations from a 4 star, it doesn't have the luxuries and the extra attention you get at a 5 star.

The service was fast, friendly and a positive experience. Though breakfast was a little slow. It is really busy and they are fully booked so overall it's very efficient.

The room is lovely - old of course but clean and nicely decorated. Bathroom is an 8 out of 10 because it could do with a renovation - but it is nice enough and clean which is important.

Elevators can be slow - even though there are 3 - but again the hotel is full so that acceptable.

You may want to specify that you want a room with a view - some rooms face other buildings (brick walls) NYC style.

I was a little hesitant at first having read the 'terrible' reviews - but I haven't seen any justification for some of those ....I would stay here again because the price was good and so was the experience - win win.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriendofMarcoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were in New York for only two nights and had struggled to find an affordable place to stay that would also be well situated and comfortable. Fortunately, we came across the Warwick. We were very pleased and the experience exeeded our expectations. The price was very competative, our room was large and well appointed, and we had a decent view of 6th Avenue. The Premium room had a large closet, a very nice although somewhat small bathroom, and was very spacious overall. We did not hear noise from any other guests, nor were we disturbed by anyone in the hallways. The bed was comfortable, the hotel was very clean, and the room was sufficeintly quite (11th floor) (. . . .there was some street noise, but this is mid-town Manhattan after all). The staff was exceptionally friendly, but not obtrusive. The hotel has a very classic grand old hotel feel. For example, our rooms had very nicely finished mouldings and a classic boutique hotel feel. The lobby was very nice, although always quite busy. There were two restraurants off the lobby. We didn't have a chance to try either, but they looked inviting. My only complaint, and it is minor, is that the elevators are small and when the hotel was busy, it could take a few minutes. That being said, this is an older hotel, and 9 times out of 10, we got an elevator within a minute or so. The elevators, as well as the rest of the hotel, have beautifully finished woodwork. The room stayed nice and warm, and the windows opened so you could enjoy the night air. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The room had switches in 2-3 locations which could control lights all over the room, allowing you to turn lights on/off from bedside or as you entered the room. A very thoughtful touch.

The location was fantastic. Just 2-3 blocks to Central Park. About a 10 minute walk to Times Square. Just a few blocks from Rockefeller Center. We took the E Subway train from Penn Station and only walked two blocks to the hotel. MOMA is accross the street. We arrived on the subway about 6:30, walked down to Times Square, bought some last minute show tickets from the box office (Nice Work w/Matthew Brodrick - Great Show), and still had time to eat dinner before the 8:00pm show time.

Our price with an AARP discount was $285, which I thought was quite fair given the quality of the hotel, size of room, and location. I would not hesitate to return here and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the less street noise. Avoid the lobby around check-in & out times, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyNot_1_2_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Warwicks location can't be beat. Nice room, comfortable bed, What more can you ask for.
Staff were helpful and they have a computor room to print out airline tickets etc. Didn't eat at hotel but bar was good.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 28th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in November 2012, the staff were all very friendly and helpful, The hotel was good, nice big bedroom with very comfortable pair of double beds. The room was hot even though it was cold outside, but we just turned the air-con off and opened the window. The bar has a nice laid back vibe and is very popular with business people at the end of their day. The hotel has the charm of an older building so obviously not everything is brand new but our room on the 26th floor was very nice.
The location was great for a first trip to New York.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A Hotel with character located walking distance to Time Square, Radio city, 5th Avenue shopping district and much more!

Subway is so close by you can go anywhere you would like in no time as well. We took it to the pier and by the Brooklyn bridge.

Staff more specifically Frank was quite accommodating to us. Even the concierge had great restaurant recommendations.

We were able to store our luggage after check out and was able to finish sight seeing before we had to catch our Cruise ship down Manhattan port.

Overall, I would recommend it here and will stay here again!

Room Tip: Suites have terrace overlooking the city. Great at night time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V-Y2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Before you read any more of my review, please do not think I have rated the Warwick as "Average" in a bad way. It was a great base for our trip, being located on 6th Ave (hence only 1 block from 5th avenue shopping and 2 blocks from Broadway and all the shows). There are lots (and I do mean LOTS!) of choices to eat nearby - we chose not to eat in the hotel for any meals as we wanted the opportunity to sample New York properly.
As for the hotel itself, it was comfortable, although the heating took some getting used to. The room (2608) was a decent size, although the view was restricted - but, for me, part of the experience of New York was being amongst the skyscrapers. The bathroom was small (think Travellodge) but adequate. The beds were VERY comfortable and the TV gave you access to more than you will possibly want, although we hardly watched anything (too much to see & do).
On a negative note, the decor was a bit "tired" and could do with a revamp, but it was clean and housekeeping looked after us well enough. There were no coffee-making facilities in the room but a coffee maker was provided on request with no fuss.
Generally, staff were pleasant and helpful, although in truth the only request we made of them was to get us a cab to the airport when it came trime to leave
We tried the bar on our first day and were rewarded with a pleasant environment & pleasant staff
All in all, I would stay here again and would recommend it, as it makes an excellent base to explore Manhattan
Maybe "Average" is a little too harsh after all

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#348 of 467 in New York City
18,426 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,328 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,618 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
2,745 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York

Property: Warwick New York
Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#93 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Warwick New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing