We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“There's No Hotel Better in NYC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Warwick New York Hotel
Ranked #93 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There's No Hotel Better in NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently stayed for 6 nights at the Warwick Hotel in NYC. I was a guest on a previous business trip last year, so it was my only choice for a hotel when I came back last month for another business trip.

The hotel is kept in pristine shape and is beautiful in decor (both for the restaurants, lobby area and the guest rooms). The location is also ideal as it is easily within walking distance of anywhere you want to go in NYC: i.e. Broadway, 5th Avenue, Madison Avenue, closeby subways for access to Chelsea and other neighborhoods, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museaum of Art. I was able to walk to any destination that I had in mind (including where my seminar which was located on Park Avenue). The CBS and NBC studios as well as Radio City Music Hall are also only a couple of blocks away. The food in Murals 54 restaurant is wonderful. I had the breakfast buffet every morning and they didn't miss a beat with the vast offering of any breakfast item a guest would want (including fruits, healthier items and delectable pastries). The service offered from the front desk to the bellmen to the restaurant staff and housekeeping staff is outstanding. I will never stay anywhere else in NYC on a trip. You can't find a better hotel with better quality of services! I am so glad that I discovered the Warwick Hotel. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,043
    1,289
    307
    105
    70
See reviews for
971
1,343
162
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Preston England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Warwick for our stay in July - great location just off 5th Avenue - everything that tourists would want - hotel and staff were superb and couldn't do enough to make our stay just great. We were very lucky to get an complimentary upgrade - sitting room etc - couldn't believe the room we were allocated. No hesitation to go back again and again !!! Our daughter and son in law stayed at the Warwick in 2002, and said that if we were able to travel to New York again, look no further. (We were last in New York in 1967 and said that we would like to visit again when we could - 45 years later we made it !!!!!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

we stayed at the warwick for 3 nights in December. the hotel had a perfect location, so close to many attractions.
we booked the executive suite, it was very spacious with a living area and a very comfortable bed. But honestly i was expecting the room to be a bit nicer, in fact the hotel is old and so is the furniture and design. however we enjoyed our stay and slept very well despite the fact that we went during Christmas holidays and the hotel was full.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vera m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fla
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

SO very disappointed in this hotel. I admit I am really picky, and probably read 50 reviews, everyone said they enjoyed the hotel and that the rooms were well appointed, ask for a higher floor for quiet, ask for an upgrade, and they will treat you right. It is my 50th birthday today and I am kicking myself that I am staying at this dump-I'd rate it a 2.5 hotel.

Rudy, was polite enough, and did his best to upgrade us with a terrace room, nice albeit the room was not ready at the 3pm time-so 4:00pm and we head up to the room and the cleaning staff had just begun cleaning, so we waited while they finished. The power went out, so they could not finish vacuuming.

The state of this room is horrible (2114), old, furniture chipped & nicked, woodwork/doors chipped and the whole room needs paint. The carpet is disgusting, I have stayed in Holiday Inns nicer then this hotel. The bed is not comfortable, unless you like really firm beds, no pillow top etc. Average sheets, no central air/heat it is a unit in the room.

The room is noisy, even on the 21st floor!!! You can hear your neighbors next door & above you.

When I called down to complain the front desk lady said I could upgrade to a "premier" room for 50$ more, I went and looked at it and it was decorated nicer, newer and more stylish, but the bed is the same. For a $100 more I could upgrade to a larger premier room, no thanks.

So very disappointed, I hope I can switch hotel tomorrow to the Hotel Intercontinental. Would never ever come back to this hotel. Stay at the Ritz or Setai. Bummer for my 50th!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nurse2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Nurse2525,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. We are sorry for the unsatisfying experience. Just for your information, we are going to start another phase of renovation soon and this is one of the floors to be done. Upon completion, we will have more than 70% of renovated guestrooms. We sincerely hope that you will consider to visit us again and experience the Premier Rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It is my 3rd time at this NYC hotel. I stayed at several other options but this is really my favourite.
The location is the best of all: in front of MOMA, near 5th Avenue, St. Patricks (I am catholic, I like to go to mass every day), Central Park, lovely restaurants around...
But the best os this olg hotel is the size of the rooms, and the confor and quietness. Unbeatable!
And you feel at home, the concierge and all employees treat so well, as if you were someone important for them!
I was there during the hurricane Sandy and I felt so protected at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clara50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Royalton, Vermont
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Warwick is one of these mid-town hotels in NYC that once was grand, and remains an excellent choice in the mid-range of prices for Manhattan hotels (even though I have a hard time thinking of $300 a night as mid-range, but that's the reality in New-York). The lobby is beautiful, and retains its old time New-York glamour, complete with black and white pictures of long-ago movie stars. Our room on the tenth floor was surprisingly large by NY standards, with a beautiful, updated marble bathroom.

The room was impeccably clean, comfortable and well-appointed, though at first we could not get the heat below 80 degrees (the hotel sent in their engineer as soon as we reported the problem, and we were able to keep the room more comfortable the rest of the weekend).

The best feature of this hotel is its location, at the corner of 6th Avenue and 54th street. The walk from the hotel to Central Park or Bryant Park is just a few minutes, and Broadway theatres and restaurants are about ten minutes walk away.

All and all we thought this was one of the better hotels we had stayed at in this price range in New-York City, and likely will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhugon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our room was not ready when we arrived so we checked our bags with the concierge and went to wait on the 2nd floor where there are some comfortable leather chairs. After about 45 minutes our room was available. As soon as we entered our room on the 19th floor I turned on the bedside lamp and the light bulb came with the socket and dangled down so I had to call for a repair which didn't take place until the following day. Nice, deep basin on the bathroom sink but there is no grab bar for the bath tub. The digital safe is up on a high closet shelf & difficult to reach. We had to call and ask for the free coffee maker to be delivered which took several phone calls. The window view is dreary, brick walls with plastic trash bag litter on a ledge. Although the bed was comfortable and the room of adequate size, we felt like we were in a cave. Don't even think about using the Mini-bar where a cola will set you back 5 bucks! If you're hungry skip the pricey hotel cafe and head just down W. 54th St. to Connolly's Pub where you can get a burger & fries for $12, or buy something from a food cart and take it to your room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Revir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#41 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,763 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#52 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#102 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#124 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#94 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#72 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York Hotel

Property: Warwick New York Hotel
Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in New York City
#67 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#93 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Warwick New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing