We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming; an elegant home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warwick New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Warwick New York
Ranked #91 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming; an elegant home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

It's no wonder Carey Grant made this his home for 11 years. My most recent trip was my 5th time to the hotel this year. The warm welcome starts with the charming doorman who remembered my name after only 1 introduction and makes a point of saying hello to me anywhere he sees me (even if I'm just walking by the hotel from my office!) The front desk crew is lovely, and the small lobby is elegantly decorated and charming. The rooms are conservative but lovely with luxuriously comfortable bedding. They have *always* been gracious and done their best to put me in the best room available. As with any hotel, calling ahead for special requests makes it easier for them to accommodate you. The room service and restaurant is FANTASTIC--- I'm a New Yorker and the pizza measures up to those of Brooklyn pizza parlors. Two points of advice: be sure to ask for a room with decent sized bathroom (there are some that are prohibitively small) and plan your entrance/exit ahead of time as the elevators can take a little while--especially at check-in rush hour. All in all, a lovely hotel that I truly consider a home away from home. I am planning my return there as I write this!

Room Tip: As for a full-sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheherazade70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,236
    1,381
    327
    116
    75
See reviews for
1,066
1,453
180
612
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

OK so it was only for one night which is why they probably upgraded us to a suite that was "AMAZING", but even on an ordinary day the Warick is in a great location and a very nice hotel. Service was excellent, easy walk to theatre district. Was in town with my BFF for a taping of the David Letterman show. I think NYC hotels are outrageously priced but everything was booked (even my usual back-up). Another hotel recommended the Warick and we were not disappointed. While we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant it looked quite nice. Did have room service breakfast. Pricey but OK. It was nice to have a hotel with a doorman with a great attitude. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Check in early ...there was a wait after us ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slaughterbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
65W54, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thanks! You made our day!
It's great when another hotel recommends us and that your experience during your stay with us will bring you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I've just returned from another excellent stay at the Warwick Hotel in New York... as usual I found the service to be friendly and welcoming and the environment to be understated elegance... just very comfortable... and sufficiently intimate to make me feel at home whenever I am there.

I took a walk through some of the other neighborhoods where some of the more pricey hotels are and I must say that I much prefer the location of the Warwick at 54th and 6th... convenient, clean, pleasant and close to Central Park.

One issue that I've seen mentioned other times is the tendency of staff to just knock on the door and come into the room without waiting... not sure why they do that, but it really is somewhat annoying. This never happened once on my Christmas stay but happened three times on this stay... not sure if it is because I had friends over or I looked old and on my last legs or what it was... :-)

I will say though that this does not detract from my appreciation of the hotel or its service... which are both tops in my books...

Mind you there are at least three mechanisms for making sure that doesn't happen.... use the swing lock, and/or the bolt lock and/or the little notice saying 'Please do not Disturb'....

Of course I will stay there again whenever I am in New York....but will remember the "I'm here and I'm safe and I don't need anything please don't bug me' routine of using one of the features mentioned in the previous paragraph.. :-) Just a gentle jibe folks...

One of the interesting things I've found about the Warwick is that they do provide solid courtesy and a sincere attempt to assist when things don't go quite as planned, unlike some other pricey hotels in New York that I won't mention.

So anyway, what I'm trying to sayin this long review is....stay at the Warwick... it's well worth the price and will make you feel very much at home in an extremely busy city....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianTraveler1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Our family of 4 recently returned from a 6-night stay at the Warwick. We were really pleased and would not hesitate to return.

Our good experience started with a very reasonable rate of $255/nt through a seminar I attended nearby. it continued with a very welcoming and friendly check-in experience (with a free upgrade) and some great dinner reservations.

Although some parts of the hotel show signs of age, our room was very clean, nice and comfortable with a nice view of 6th Avenue. The beds and bedding were very comfortable and we all slept well during our stay.

But the best part about the Warwick is its unbeatable location. We were just steps from MoMA, a block from the shops on 5th Ave. and just a few blocks from Central Park, Times Square, Rockefeller Center and the great restaurants of the Hell's Kitchen area. More importantly, we were a few blocks away from the madness and crowds that reside at Times Square. We were glad to be close but not too close.

We loved it and would be hard-pressed to stay somewhere else when we return to NYC.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
65W54, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us and recommending our hotel. We note that you stayed in one of our deluxe rooms and would love you to experience our brand new Premier rooms that have been completely refurbished. Please contact us on your next visit to the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Only stayed at The Warwick one night to be close to a wedding at the University Club.
I was extremely happy with my choice. From my limited stay, the service was impeccable.
My initial phone requests when booking were met. The room was comfortable and quiet...old world craftsmanship with thick walls. The staff made every effort to instill the feeling that the customer was 'special.'
The location not only for the wedding was great, but the proximity to the MOMA and Central Park were an added bonus for a short stay.
I would highly recommend The Warwick.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastenderLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
65W54, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thanks for staying with us. We are delighted that we were able to attend to your requests/needs during your stay to your satisfaction. We value all our guests and our especially grateful when we read comments that show we have exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

This was our 3rd stay at this great old hotel and again we were glad we returned. We stayed in a Deluxe room on the 19th floor. The staff was friendly and our request for a coffee pot was promptly fulfilled. The room was spacious and clean, the air conditioning worked well and the king sized bed was wonderful. Loved the huge closet! Hot water was plentiful and the shower worked well. The bathroom could use a little regrouting in places. We didn't have a view, didn't need one since we weren't in the room much and it was quiet at night.
The location is the best in Manhattan; Central Park, Broadway, Times Square, shopping, all a few blocks away, MOMA across the street, and it's easy to get to all the subway lines. There are good maps in the lobby and the rooms. Randolf's Bar is always hopping at night. We haven't eaten at Murals. My only complaint is charging for wireless. Seems a bit outdated to be doing that.
Also, for a fun shopping experience, visit Lee's Art Supply Store at 220 West 57th. 4 floors of delights from stationary to ornaments, lights, frames, candles, gift wrap and a thousand other things.

Room Tip: Request a Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixietrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
65W54, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thanks for the great tip on Lee's Art Supply Store! Sometimes even the locals need help! We have attended to your comments regarding the caulking in the bathroom. We are equally glad that you enjoyed a quiet night's sleep which is quite difficult in the Big Apple, however, a little known fact is that our rear-facing rooms are protected from the hustle and bustle of the Big Apple. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Nice and cosy hotel, offering all the basic amenities and facilities.

Room and bathroom was considerably large for a NYC hotel.

Excellent location and despite being near a busy intersection, never had an interrupted sleep the entire time we were there.

We'll definitely be returning to The Warwick and wouldn't hesitate recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hung_La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
65W54, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thanks for your feedback. Yes - our rooms are really large for New York standards, hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York

Property: Warwick New York
Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#93 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing