We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Time New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Time New York
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Come in at 2am receptionist greeted me with a friendly smile and quick to get me into my room. Was a little different that the reception was on the second floor. The room was warm the mood lights were very nice. Was a nice touch with the music on. Had a good nights sleep very comfortable bed. Love the shower has good water pressure with duel shower heads Nice place, trendy little room, Close to everything you could want

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Brad E,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your TIME here with us!!

Good to know that our reception greeted you properly, and made you feel comfortable, and at home.

Please contact me directly if you should ever need a future stay!!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    744
    348
    171
    114
See reviews for
344
758
142
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I travel to NY regularly and typically stay downtown. But this hotel offered a great rate so I took a chance. I'm glad I did.

Large room (huge by NYC standard), modern decor, comfortable bed and nice linens. And shockingly quiet given the location. I would stay here again. If I were a tourist, this would be a no brainer. You're right in Times Square, convenient to everything.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMattDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear TravelingMattDC,

We are glad you took that chance as well!!

So happy you stayed with us and enjoyed every minute of your TIME here!

If you ever need a good nights sleep again, please contact me and we will make sure you enjoy your stay 100 times more than your last!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Can't beat the location. Currently right next to Book of Mormon. The room was small but very nice. Nice intimate bar/lounge...but it does not stay open late. But just go outside and you'll have your choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Lee P.

Thank you for taking the time out to post about your experience at The Time!!!

The rooms are average for NYC, but the next time you are in the city and are looking for a place to stay, we can definately try and get you a larger sized room pending availability.

Please contact me directly if you have any questions or concerns.

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We make a yearly trip to NYC and had stayed at this hotel 3 years ago. The rooms are small, but the location is great. So this past weekend we decided to try it again. Very disappointing! Our room was not very clean, and the bathroom was a disaster! There was mold on the shower tiles, the shampoo holder was rusted, the sink top was cracked and the shelf around the sink was falling apart. We plugged our phone to recharge and found that the electrical outlet was not working!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
DearVicky M,

Thank you for taking time out to give us your feedback on your recent stay at The Time in New York.

I apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay with us. It is our objective and commitment to consistently exceed our guest’s expectations by providing a memorable experience. We always welcome positive and/or constructive comments such as yours. They are an important tool to assess our guest’s satisfaction and to re-focus our efforts to improve our product & services.

In order to provide you with some amount of compensation, it would be our pleasure to offer you a complimentary upgrade, based on availability, to a Deluxe Accommodation on your next visit to THE TIME. This offer is valid one year from the date of this letter. Please call me at 212-320-2908 to make the reservation.


Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were recently stuck in NYC for 2 days due to weather-related flight cancellations. Since most of the hotels near the airports were booked solid, we spent the first night in the airport, but as the city started to move, I tried calling hotels to find a room. Having stayed at The Time before, I gave them a try, and Nilikha at the front desk went out of her way to help us out, letting us have an early check in so we could get our 6-month old out of the cold weather, and giving us a good rate on a suite so we had enough room for luggage, and arranging for a crib for the little one. The bellhop and front door security were courteous and helped us with the luggage despite the deathly cold. There were some issues with the heating system during our stay, but overall it was very nice. The location is great, adjacent to Times Square. Rooms are small, but our suite was decently sized. Thank you to all at The Time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SR202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear SR202

We are so glad to hear you ducked out of the extreme cold and found warmth at The Time Hotel!!
I will let our front desk agent Nilikha, and our bellman/security know that there awesome customer service was greatly appreciated.
If you are ever in the NYC area again please, give us a call, we would definately love to have you back again!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel 3 nights for a business trip, found and booked on line.
the reviews were right: great place in a fantastic and strategic position.
the staff was really nice and helpful, ready to satisfy requests and very quick in solving a problem with the credit card.
the room was comfortable and certainly bigger than other rooms I happened to stay in the city
very clean and modern, quiet.
recommended if you're looking for a good place and reach the district theater in a few minutes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshua p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Joshua P,

We are glad you found your stay with us to be a memorable one.

Good to hear our staff resolved the issue in a TIME-ly matter. We pride ourselves on customer service and it definitely starts at the front desk!

if you ever find yourself on a business, or personal trip in NYC we hope you find your way back to us!!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramerton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

From the time we arrived we were well taken care of. Andre at the front desk was especially helpful with directions and suggestions for things to do. The room was comfortable, not too roomy, but we didn't spend much time in our room anyway. Even though it is right in the theater district, it was quiet at night with no street noise. The location was excellent right off of Times Square. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an affordable hotel that does not seem cheap.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Susan E,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us on your trip.

Andre is definitely a valuable piece to our huge puzzle, and im glad he was able to help you out with some recommendations and directions. I will let him know of your kind words!

Please contact me directly if you ever find yourself in the big city again!!!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,162 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time New York

Property: The Time New York
Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Time New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York has all new accommodations and was designed by David Rockwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Time New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing