We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great People!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Time New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Time New York
Ranked #171 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great People!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Time, 5 nights, first room resembled a postage stamp. Nowhere to hang clothes, not even a hook or a frame around a door to make do! Eventually, room 3! Was fabulous. The rooms are a little tired and well used but clean and comfortable. The staff made it for us! Friendly (well, except for one receptionist who was a little frosty). Josh the porter was fantastic. Superb location. Come on The Time! Get some hooks and hangers in your rooms!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Drifter49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Drifter9907,

Sorry that your first impression wasn't so good, but im glad eventually you we pleased with the accommodations. it is important to the entire staff here that we get it right!

Josh is awesome and i will personally extend your kind words to him!!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    699
    340
    169
    114
See reviews for
314
699
138
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed here for our short break to NYC.
Didn't have a great start as hotel had organised car from airport & we had to dispute the price quoted - this certainly put a dampener on our arrival. The customer service at this point was not the best.
We went for a drink in the bar to relax but as it was late evening the bar was winding down (thought this was the town that never sleeps - it was way before midnight) the highlight of this was watching a mouse running round.
The room was very small & boiling hot - December & we had to open the windows. Our Bose radio didn't work & despite requesting it be repaired it took two further requests to get it sorted.There is no storage at all so bags have to hang around & as its so small they do get in the way.
Shower was powerful & hot.
Location was the best.
We didn't eat here - after seeing a mouse running around it was off putting.
The staff were all pleasant (apart from 1st night)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roastpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Roastpotato,

I apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay at The Time. It is our objective and commitment to consistently exceed our guest’s expectations by providing a memorable experience.
We have already contacted Ecolab, our pest elimination company, they have taken various precautions and have given us their assurance that this will never happen again at this hotel.

It was a privilege to have you here as our guest and we look forward to your next visit. please contact me so that we may discuss discounts for your future stay.

Regards,
Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

First of all, the location is fantastic. Steps from Times Square, just a few blocks from Rockefeller Center and a short walk to the Subway. The staff was also very friendly. But, like some other commenters, the rooms look better in pictures than in person. We actually had to switch rooms because the first room we could not get the temp below 80 degrees. The second was warm as well. When we mentioned it to the staff they said to open the window. That's what we ended up doing the entire time...in December! It was the only way to keep the room below 80. Not sure what was up with their heaters. Our second room had moldy/broken tile and a dirty bench. The bathroom did smell clean like bleach but I can't help but think that it was just surface cleaned since there was still mold in the shower. Overall, the location and price are great. I think there is room for improvement in the rooms themselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grganne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Grganne1,

First, thank you for taking the time out to write a review. feedback from our guests is very important to us
Secondly, i apologize for the heating issues. Our engineering staff work around the clock to assure our guests a comfortable stay. they will definitely take a look at this issue with the heating as it is important in the winter.
overall we are glad you enjoyed your stay. please reach out to me directly for any future plans.

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The location is fabulous, in the heart of the theatre district with bars and restaurants just a few steps away. Directly across the street is the Actor's Chapel and we attended an organ concert there late one night. A little further down you find Lillie's a great little place, and on the corner is the food emporium. Also, although the room is small, it was considerably nicer than what I've had to cope with at other hotels in the area. The staff are friendly and very helpful and it's great to have a restaurant and bar onsite. The price was also very competitive considering the time of year and location.

Room Tip: Next time I stay I plan to ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear katdarcy,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

the next time you are in town, contact me directly at the email I have provided below and we will work on getting you a room on higher floor.

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I spent ten days here from mid November. Great location in Midtown for everything. The staff were very friendly and always very helpful for a first time visit to New York. Serafina's restaurant was great also downstairs. My only regret was having to leave. The rooms were a bit small and looked better in the photos than reality, but I only spent time in the room to sleep as there was too much to do outside. Overall would certainly go back for a second visit.

Room Tip: Rooms were a bit small and would probably be more suited for couples/singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear John N,

Thank you for the amazing feedback

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! i wll relay all the wonderful comments to the staff. you may contact me directly if you have any inquiries!

we hope you can visit us again the next TIME you are in New York!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

GREAT LOCATION!!!! Literally on timesquare. The rooms are very small tho but that is something that you need to expect when coming to the Big Apple. Very close to everything. The AC was not working in our room so they moved us to another room where the AC was working and gave us breakfast vouchers to the restaurant downstairs. (nice gesture)
TIP: Im really anal about looking around the hotel and make sure there are no broken things before and after I leave because the last thing I want is the hotel charging me for something I did not break. The previous room we had, had a few scatches on the wall the door lock was also busted and the blow dryer was not working so I made sure to let them know. Otherwise, staff is really friendly and knowleadgeable. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback, I am glad to hear our staff took care of you when you realized you had some issues with your room. We hope you visit us again in the future so that you could have a more memorable stay.

Best Regards,
Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great location, perfect for walking to Time Square and Fifth Avenue shopping. Very handy to nip back with your shopping bags!!

Lovely staff, always willing to help.

Food in the Restaurant was delicious and nice for a treat.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful words about your stay at the time. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and the service of our staff. If you are ever in NYC, please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations,

Best Regards,

Allen Gallardo
agallardo@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,572 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#168 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#52 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,765 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#245 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time New York

Property: The Time New York
Address: 224 W 49th St, New York City, NY 10019-7405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time New York 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York has all new accommodations and was designed by David Rockwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Time New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing