We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well centered” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Time New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Time New York
Ranked #172 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well centered”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of everything, the 49th with 7th street, beside times square, very small rooms, difficult to find the hotel itself, small, and Wi-Fi only in the lobby, unless you pay to have it in the room. Is just a place to sleep, you pay for the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isamira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Isamira,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    699
    340
    169
    114
See reviews for
314
699
138
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Goal : find a hotel 1/close to Times Square 2/with a private parking 3/and internet access
And? : 1/great location on 49th street, close to restaurants, convenience shops and all Broadway shows, 2/private parking across the street run by genuine nice guys (beware, really BIG cars are not accepted, and get a validation from hotel for special rate), and 3/ in-room wi-fi costs 11 USD, except if you "like" the Hotel FB page first in lobby, where internet access is FOC....so goal was achieved
Check-in : a warm recommendation for M. Howard SINGH, at Guest Services, for his generous smile, kindness and professionalism (he gave me the tips for the parking and the internet)
Room : a shoe box, with the tiniest double bed, the tiniest TV, the tiniest bathroom.....but soundproof, with a safe, and well it was a one-night stay.....I would not recommend it for extended stay unless you spend 100% of your time outside (my husband is claustrophobic and suffered)
Others : on-site restaurant and bar, but we are in New york.......

Room Tip: Our room was on the 49th street side and totally soundproof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maramanocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear maramanocent,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. I'm glad you were able to utilize the amenities provided even though for such a short stay. Please let me know when you return at dgiandalone@thetimeny.com and I would like to upgrade you to a larger room category. Thank you again for your comments!


Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I traveled to New York City to attend the Yankee's home opener. Since the game was the day after Easter, we decided to spend the Easter weekend in the city, and you as may imagine, the prices of hotels were significantly higher because of the holiday. We were excited when we found The Time Hotel - not only were the prices reasonable, but the location was ideal... right in Times Square. Upon our arrive, we were met by Jack and Olivia who were pleasant, respectful and very helpful in providing us information as to how to navigate the city. The room was a bit smaller than anticipated, but clean - the most important thing. When we returned to the hotel later that night, our senses were assaulted with the strong odor of illegal substances on our floor (hotel security responded immediately). Because of this inconvenience, we were upgraded to a suite at no additional cost. All in all, the experience was a good one - the cleanliness of the hotel, the location and the respectful staff makes it a hotel that I would recommend t anyone traveling to New York.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rld982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear rld982,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience overall and I will share with the staff your comments on the service provided. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquiraz, CE
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The first room had a horrible view so we asked to change it. We were informed that there were all booked that day, but the next we could, but we had to leave our luggage with the porter before 12 and after 3 we could bring it to the new room. We decided not to. But then, since the room did not have a bathtub and we needed one to soak after walking all day, so we decided it was worth the pain. We left the luggage in front of the reception in the morning, and there it still was when we came back after 3:00. I guess that the luggage room was full? That made us very uneasy. Anybody could have picked up a small suitcase or backpack when the receptionists were distracted!
This is terrible service! They should come to your room, pick up your luggage and bring it to your new room when it is ready!
Also, they were quite rigid about not letting anybody into their rooms when checking in until after 3:00 pm! Why could they not let people in as the rooms become clean? Every other hotel that I have been to does that!
They are doing what is convenient for then, not for the customer!
The second room had a tub, but the bathroom furniture was falling apart. I was afraid that the shelves were going to fall down on us!
That said, you can't beat the location of the hotel: near the 50th st stops of the red, blue and yellow subway lines.

Room Tip: We were told that internet was free only at the lobby, $10 at the rooms. But later I found out that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cescolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear cescolar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the service at The Time Hotel. It is through direct feedback like yours we can improve our service standards. I do believe there was a misunderstanding, as we do allow and encourage guests to check in as rooms are available. We may have been fully booked the previous night and did not have any ready at the time but we preregister everyone so that when they return all they have to do is pick up keys. I also wanted to apologize for any inconvenience you had and do hope that you will join us again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at The Time hotel for a week. Perfect location if you love Musicals and Times Square was just around the corner. Used this hotel a HQ to see the city. I love NY and would stay at this hotel again if I come back. I got a good price for my room and considering the location I found the price reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KaareSkarsvaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear KaareSkarsvaag ,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I booked and paid for this one night stay just a few hours before checking in.
Overall, I have no complaint: staffs were helpful, room was clean though on the smaller size, price was very good but I guess it was only my luck ($99), location was very good as I was lucky to fins a no-fee street parking in walking distance.
Our AC didn't work well, but the manager was very accommodating even though it was really late. He even compensated with complimentary breakfast to all of us, which amounts to more than half of our room cost. They were really trying to address the issue.
I definitely will stay there again.

Room Tip: The elevator location gives a feel of entering a club more than a hotel, which is a good feeling to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdn1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear pdn1212,


Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Time. I'm glad we were able to resolve any issues you had to your satisfaction. We look forward to hosting you again in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Price was good average about $269/night. Service was very good. Jack at the front desk was especially helpful. Room was small but clean and not too noisy. Biggest complaint was internet service was terrible, worst than dial up, so if that's not important to you, it would be a good choice. Also elevators small and can take some time during busy hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Matt F,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay in our hotel, and also for your feedback on your experience, it's crucial for us to identifying problems and addressing them. I am happy to report that we are currently in the process of updating our internet services. Please let me know next time you return to New York and I can let you know if this has been completed at dgiandalone@thetimeny.com.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,572 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#166 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#53 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,765 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#245 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time New York

Property: The Time New York
Address: 224 W 49th St, New York City, NY 10019-7405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time New York 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York has all new accommodations and was designed by David Rockwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Time New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing