We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Time New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Time New York
Ranked #200 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were there for New year eve so it was full on, the staff was pretty helpful and friendly the hotel room is good not too big but not too small the tower hanger was broken but I did report it, we were on 14th floor but unfortunately the windows wasn't enough to keep all the noise out of the room the windows are not thicker enough the and didn't have sum blocked either

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Rodado,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the service at The Time Hotel. It is through direct feedback like yours we can improve our service standards. I apologize for any inconvenience you had and do hope that you will join us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    681
    336
    169
    113
See reviews for
302
664
132
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, AR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The locations of this place if awesome, just feet from Times Square, Great Food and Broadway Shows.

The people were nice and did keep the place clean. The rooms are a little dated and could use an update. Bed was comfortable. We had breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and it was good.

When we arrived I asked if they had any larger rooms, I was told they were all “Boutique Sized rooms” I got the point, it was small but still comfortable.

This is not the Marriot or the Hilton and as long as you know that upfront, you should be fine. It truly is a Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntrober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear ntrober,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city.Thank you for reviewing our hotel and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
497 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The LivingSocial deal we got was fantastic; about $70 per night in a great Times Square location, one can not beat that in NYC. With prices as low, any possible complaints or negative observations are simply redundant.
Having said that, The Time is still three star maximum. The room we stayed in was extremely tiny. Unless one is going to just sleep in, there is not enough room for any body position but lying down in bed. The overall upkeep is rather poor, but not terrible, a kind of three-star poor. The flat screen TV of a very decent size was rather meaningless, for the TV reception was a sub-quality. One can't bring more luggage than an overnight bag, the tiny closet space featuring a curtain and no door is spacious enough for a duffel bag and a few clothing items only. The bathroom size, on the other hand, was decent. The HVAC unit was efficient (on a very cold day) but rattled non-stop; that would definitely be a problem for a light sleeper.
On the other hand, our room was very quiet, undoubtedly a great plus in a Times Square location. Also, prospective guests can get their parking tickets stamped, the parking garage is right across the hotel's entrance. From Friday morning to Sunday morning we got a $30 per 24 hours rate, which is quite attractive for the location. The housekeeping service was good. The hotel also offers dining services in the Serafina restaurant on the ground floor.
One more time it is imperative that one doesn't use the mini-bar. Because of the extremely cold weather we had to resort to its water bottles, the four of them made the hotel $84, more than our nightly rate for the room.
Overall recommendation: if a similar deal comes up again, go for it and spend all your time outside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear RGSOUNDF,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the service at The Time Hotel. It is through direct feedback like yours we can improve our service standards. I apologize for any inconvenience you had and do hope that you will join us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I am a little sad to give only 3 dots to the Time. This was our third stay there over six years. After the first time, I would have given it 5. There is nothing seriously wrong, it is just a little worn. For example, the carpet in the elevator was dirty and worn. The shelf in the bathroom of our room had a couple of holes in the finish. The toilet ran unless you jiggled the handle. Despite the bitter cold outside, the room became so uncomfortably hot we turned on the air conditioner and still coukd not get the temperature below 71. All minor items, but taken together, present an image of a property in need of sprucing up.

On the other hand, the staff was very helpful and responsive. When the hair dryer topped working, they had another one delivered within minutes. The cleaning staff was very thorough and pleasant.

Aside from the issues noted above, the room was very clean and comfortable. There is a parking garage directly across the street where you can park for $30 per day if you are guest. And, of course, you are steps away from all the theaters, restaurants, subway and other amenities of Times Square.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gino4634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear gino4634,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip to The Time Hotel. I wanted to take a moment and apologize for any inconveniences you faced due to the maintenance issues in your room. Once again, thank you for your review and thank you for being a repeat guest. Please contact me directly for your next booking at dgiandalone@thetimeny.com. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

First, I want to compliment the front desk staff bc they are nice, friendly and helpful.

But, when I saw my room...I did want to cry. I don't mind small and worn, but it is more severe than that. I'd heard so many great things, and I wanted to stay here. I will make the most of the reminder of the trip despite the disappointment.

On a positive note, the location is great and front desk is great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misspoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear misspoobie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at The Time Hotel. I apologize for our property's shortcomings but am truly happy to hear you enjoyed our service. I certainly hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaboys
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Read some "no-so-good" things about this hotel. Cannot agree with any of them. Location is fantastic, room was clean and up to date. Room was also very quiet, and that was a surprise because of Times Square hotels and all the noise. We were not looking for a hotel with lots of services, since we were spending all of our time out of the room. But the hotel was nice, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Alaboys,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at The Time Hotel, and we're thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay. I'm happy to hear that you took advantage of the amenities we have to offer. I hope you'll be back to visit us again!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights during the week in this small hotel short blocks from Times Square. The rooms are quite small, but well designed. The bed was comfortable, the shower eventually was hot and the front office people nice and helpful. I was impressed that it was actually quiet given how close we were to Times Square. And the price was right - perhaps because mid-week in a low tourist month. Lots of young foreign travelers. A good place to explore the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RidgeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear RidgeBay,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#29 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,052 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,233 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#326 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,140 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#170 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,146 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#45 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time New York

Property: The Time New York
Address: 224 W 49th St, New York City, NY 10019-7405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time New York 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York has all new accommodations and was designed by David Rockwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Time New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing