We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Value Hotel, Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Time New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Time New York to your Saves list
The Time New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Value Hotel, Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Time Hotel is in a great location, just off Broadway in the Theatre District. It is right next to where the Book of Mormon is playing.

We had a suite which comprised bedroom plus living room with sofabed. This was adequate to our needs, but if you expect the room to be small (as with much budget accommodation in NY) you won't be disappointed. Overall, the accommodation is a bit worn out, (in particular, the sofabed should have been replaced years ago, and the towel rack was coming off the wall) but the room was comfortable enough. There seemed to be some noise from the light well, but it didn't prevent us sleeping.

The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the doorman.

Room Tip: Choose a suite over a standard room. You can pick up free wifi in the entrance corridor off the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Schnapper,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Time Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    658
    329
    167
    112
See reviews for
286
641
129
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Time is a stylish hotel with a great location. A great hotel for romance in a modern NYC setting. The rooms have a crisp clean feel. The staff was friendly and attentive. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Christina L,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For being in times square (or really close to it) because of this fact only I think the price is fair. The rooms can be really small, which means a full/queen bed instead of a king. (Not adequate for two big adults.) The rooms were showing signs of wear (creaking doors, loose faucet handles, etc). On the good side the bathroom and sheets were clean. The service was slow at times and sometimes failed to execute, but they were polite and helpful when found. Synopsis: will do in a pinch, but better deals can be found if you plan ahead.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nottoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Nottoomuch,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad you enjoyed our location. I apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with your experience. Please let me know if you decide to book again I would like to provide you with an upgrade to a room with a king sized bed. Please contact me at dgiandalone@thetimeny.com.

Sincerely,
Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently because of its location to Times Square and I got a good deal but the location is the only good thing. The biggest problem for me about this hotel is that they have an "automatic payment" system that has continued to debit my card even after I left! i was charged taxes 3 times and for a deposit that was not explained when I booked the hotel. After complaining twice I was told the charges would be refunded, but they are still pending on my account a week later. They then tried to offer an extended checkout time of one hour. At this point I told them I was leaving soon and did not want to stay here any longer. The rooms are ridicuously smal, even by NY standards. No fridge or microwave (which I would expect for the price). Wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annoyed10682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Annoyed10682,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. I am very sorry and disappointed that you were not satisfied with the rest of your experience. I am unsure what the issue was regarding releasing your deposit on the credit card. We take a deposit from all guests and the release process is mostly problem free, however, when we release from our system it may take between 5 and 10 business days depending on your bank for you to see that reflection. Please let me know if you would like me to contact the bank to attempt to expidite the process. You can reach me at dgiandalone@thetimeny.com.

Sincerely,
Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Dallas, tx
Level Contributor
170 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here b/c all the other hotels I usually stay in the area were booked up. It is pretty cheap for being this close to Times Square. I think the word "boutique" means very small rooms-even for NY. I was in a "large" room and I wouldnt want to have 2 people in it. My opinion is they put brigh colored bead spreads and fancy lighting in the room to distract you from the beat up furniture, old flat screen TV and small rusted out bathroom. The room just looked worn out. I will say the bed was comfortable but unfortunately my room backed up the the elevator bank and all night I could hear the elevators going up and down. I got a pretty poor nights sleep. I didnt go into the bar area, but it sounded like a night club in there. The gym was a nice size for the hotel.

I certainly would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cseanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear cseanmc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on you recent stay. I apologize for your experience and I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied. I know that sincere words of regret and apology cannot make up for your disappointing visit. However, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is literally only 2 minutes walk to time square and therefore right in the middle of the theatre district. The front of house staff were always polite and helpful. The cleaning staff always did a great job and always said hello when we passed them in the hall. To be fair the rooms are on the small side, but the bed was comfy and they were clean. You got a complementary New York Times each morning which was a nice touch. There is a funky bar in the hotel and a restaurant, that we had a tasty breakfast two days we stayed. Some of the common areas need a lick of paint or a new carpet.

I would recommend this hotel to a young couple or people who want a base near the theartre district and they won't be spending much time in their rooms. We paid €95 per night for a double without breakfast, great value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathal2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear cathal2008,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Time Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

For this price level, the Time hotel is just not enough.

The standard room is really tiny, even for New York standards, but even worse is the nagged bed cover, that makes you feel like sleeping in a run-down hostel, and hair that definitely doesn't fit the one on your head behind the door in the bathroom. For days.

On top of that, for a whole day the TV system didn't work and all answer received was "we called the service but they didn't come yet".

That the Wi-Fi doesn't automatically come free is impertinence.

On a positive note, if you book through iPrefer, their loyalty system, you get free Wi-Fi. And there's an iPod docking station and free TimeOut magazine in the room. End of positives.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsh_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear gsh_1975,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the service at The Time Hotel. It is through direct feedback like yours we can improve our service standards. I apologize for any inconvenience you had to go and do hope that you will join us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#326 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,228 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,876 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#222 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#363 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,923 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,887 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time New York

Property: The Time New York
Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time New York 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York has all new accommodations and was designed by David Rockwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Time New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing