We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Expect a budget/value hotel...in need of major renovations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Time New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Time New York
Ranked #171 of 478 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expect a budget/value hotel...in need of major renovations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a value/budget-type hotel. If you know that going into it, you'll be fine. However, we expected something different after seeing pictures, etc and we were really disappointed.

My mom booked this hotel for a 4 night stay in NYC. She was really excited about staying in a boutique hotel right near the theaters since we were seeing some shows. The lobby and front desk staff upon arrival were great - I was excited to see the room. And then we arrived to something unexpected. Bare bones room, dirty carpet pulled up from the floor, random items lying around that made it clear it wasn't vacuumed (hair pins, etc), a moldy bathroom with a broken fan (yet very clean toilet), a TV that didn't work, heat that was stuck at a super hot temp, a closet with a broken rod and an ironing board lying on the floor. We asked to switch to a cleaner room, but after the bellman showed it to us, we realized the hotel is just old and in desperate need of repairs. As a minor solve, we actually went down to Old Navy and bought flip flops to use for the shower.

With all of that said, the hotel is super convenient to subways, transportation to the airport and of course the theaters. And the staff was very friendly. If they are able to renovate the hotel, it could be a good future option. But as of now, there are just too many options in NYC to choose from that are nicer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank withacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear withacy,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. I am very sorry and disappointed that you were not satisfied with the rest of your experience. Our ultimate goal is complete guest satisfaction and I apologize that we missed the mark. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an experience that is memorable for the right reasons. Please contact me personally at ckatz@thetimeny.com, so that I can be of assistance with making the necessary arrangements.

Best regards,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    699
    340
    169
    114
See reviews for
314
699
138
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
groot ammers
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

bad rooms, super expensive for no worth,
false fire alarms in the mornings then an hour of brodcast to say it was a false alarm so all hotels resedents had an early wake up. no view at all, bad service, weired entrance and bad elevators

only good thing is the location but there are so many other hotels

dont stay here !

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yariv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Yariv B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on you recent stay. I apologize for your experience and I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied. I know that sincere words of regret and apology cannot make up for your disappointing visit. However, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

good location
vvery very nery noisy rooms and also quite small
beds ok but nos sspace for luggage and clothes
topilets ok ,but also noisy
rooms near elevators are unaccpetable
front office with limited service
breakfast ok

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Jose R,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule, to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay. On behalf of the Time Hotel, I would like to apologize for our properties short comings and a stay that was less than satisfactory. If you should need anything in the near future, please feel free to reach out to me personally at ckatz@thetimeny.com.

Thank you,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Six friends shared 1 big room. At first we were a bit concerned with size, but it worked out just fine for a 2 night stay. Had to roll out the futons ourselves and we were able to line up 5 futons side-by-side across the room. We each had a large luggage, but we were able to find room for all of our luggage to be laid out. We used every corner. With the futons laid out, we essentially were able to run across the mats, jump in the air, and pretend to do crazy martial arts poses mid-air. Fell right on the cushy futons, so it didn't hurt 1 bit.

We were very pleased with the design of the bathroom. The toilet, shower, and sink were all separate from each other, so all could be used by different people at the same time. The room was also very clean, so we had no complaints.

The onsen was enjoyable and quite nice in my opinion. I don't have anything else to compare it to, but I never felt that it was dirty or anything. Wifi only in the lobby - ask for a username and pw.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charcharLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear charcharLA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Time Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was quite inexpensive by New York City standards, so we expected the worse. Our friends did have quite a small room, but ours was larger, with a king size bed comfortably fitting into it. The room was serviceable, not fancy, but very clean, and cleaned well again each day.
That matched our best wish, based on price. It is located within the Broadway show district, several theaters right on the block, so perfect for show-go'ers. It's an easy walk up to Columbus Square and the Park. Lots of restaurants nearby. Best (regarding the hotel) was that we seemed to have lots of special needs, and we had lots of courteous help from both the reception dest staff and the concierge. No problem stowing our gear either. Efficient, helpful, couldn't have asked for better. So, given the price, this was a major hit and we'll return, preferring to spend our money on shows and food, having now found a good basic hotel in the right spot, clean and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room likely to be larger. I'd recommend that a couple ask for two doubles s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear jenkatze,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I think this might be the one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had. From the reception desk to drinks in the lounge and everything in between.

If you decide to stay here just put your expectations in check. Service is horrible . Rooms are small and a little scary. Best thing is the location. There isn't anything else positive I can say about this venue.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shels68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Shels68,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. I am very sorry and disappointed that you were not satisfied with the rest of your experience. Our ultimate goal is complete guest satisfaction. I apologize that we missed the mark. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an experience that is memorable for the right reasons. Please contact me personally, so that I can be of assistance with making the necessary arrangements.

Best regards,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

A neat boutique hotel ideally located for time square. Rooms small but have all that is required for a city break for a few days. Staff good - particularly given that the area had just suffered from hurricane sandy and some staff couldn't get home - and nice lounge bar. Decent coffee shop 30 secs away from door. Expensive but we did book at the last minute due to hurricane sandy. Asked to move to a room that was a bit quieter (original backed onto lift shaft) and they accommodated the move with understanding and were very helpful. Would go again.

Room Tip: Avoid backing onto the lift shaft. Don't expect much of a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Damian A,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day, to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at the Time Hotel. We are happy to hear, that your stay was enjoyable, during a stressful time, such as Hurricane Sandy. I will be sure to share your post with the team at the Time Hotel; we love to her positive feedback such as yours.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,577 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#168 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#52 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,766 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#245 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time New York

Property: The Time New York
Address: 224 W 49th St, New York City, NY 10019-7405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time New York 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York has all new accommodations and was designed by David Rockwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Time New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing