We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Time New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Time New York to your Saves list
The Time New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 478 Hotels in New York City
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here with family of 4, including 2 teenage kids, during Hurricane Sandy - hotel was excellent, and staff always helpful. Would definitely recommend - the location is amazing, just round the corner from Times Sq and also near other stuff such as the Rockefeller, Ellen's Stardust Diner and MOMA. Room was good if a little small for 4, but certainly not too small...didn't eat in restaurant downstairs but it did seem popular.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear andrewstokie,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback of your stay with us here at The Time Hotel. I will be certain to pass it on to all of our department heads to share with their staff. Receiving feedback like yours is what we strive for and this motivates our staff to do their best.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    659
    329
    167
    112
See reviews for
287
641
129
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It has been a while since I have visited NYC and I missed it so dearly. Sadly, I came at a wrong time when Hurricane Sandy hit NYC with the worst natural disaster in history. Unfortunately, I was stuck in New York City at the time but I booked two extra nights at this hotel until I was able to fly back to my home. I must say in the wake of total chaos and darkness down in the Lower Manhattan, I was happy to be safe in Midtown Manhattan. I also found that the ambiance at the Time Hotel was very pleasant. The Time also has a great team of workers especially Howard because he was very accommodating and considering how busy they were in the wake of this disaster the staff dealt with guests situations very well. I was also very satisfied with the location because it is an ideal place to stay and near the center of everything. There is the restaurant Serafina on the ground level, a bar in the hotel, literally everything I needed to stay safe for the meantime. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelQueen866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear TravelQueen866,

We appreciate the positive feedback, from your recent stay at the Time Hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with Howard and the rest of the team. It’s great to know that you were able to rest easy and carefree throughout your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, but this time without the hurricane.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

this hotel was great, evrything was shiny clean, the room was great, the morning staff was awseome, and the location was perfect. the beds were amazing and the room service was on point with everything. i would stay here again if i had too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorge p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Jorge P,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Sincerely,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My hotel stay was amazing, so was the service, so were the people! Location is ideal because it's very close to everything. Advise everyone to experience this hotel.
The Inc lounge was awesome and so was the restaurant Serafina.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Shail S

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was stranded in the hotel during Sandy for over 3 days. The hotel is luxurious and the staff (particularly 2 chaps names Jack and Charlie) made the stay most enjoyable. Highly recommended! Great vibe, helpful staff and located in the heart of New Y

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HG101188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear HG101188644,

Thank you for the post, Jack and I truly appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you in the near future.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Me and my family got stuck at The Time Hotel for this horrific week. Thank god we were placed in a hotel and one, has a bar, two has a restaurant, and three, has some of the best staff I have ever seen. Jack and Andre, my front desk agents constantly provided updates, humor, and reassurance that all would be well among the chaos outside. The rooms are certainty not the biggest, but come on its times square in NYC!! If you want space go to the plaza or something. If you want a cool, hip, fun spot to lay low and really feel the personal connection between staff then this is your spot. I just wish we had more movie channels for the storm! Regardless, We will deff be back and again and I must say the entire staff, especially Andre and Jack should be told that their cool really helped us maintain ours.

Room Tip: more of an adult hotel with the bar in the back of reception. Although I saw plenty of kids, prob be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Shail S,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Time hotel is an excellent hotel, located in Times Square.
The room was fantastic, people were so polite.
Sure next time we visit New York we will stay at Time Hotel.
The most important was the location, five minutes walk for Times square, 15 minutes walk from Central Park and more other places. If you want to see many things in New York I think this is the best Hotel you can stay.
Rooms and hotel premises are very clean, quite rooms and comfortable beds.
I strongly recommended The Time hotel.
Thank you so much for everything. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pambos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Mike I,

We are happy to hear that you found the Time Hotel during the hurricane week. We are even happier to hear that we provided you with the amenities and team needed to weather the storm. I will be certain to share your comments with Jack and Andre, and from the entire team at the Time Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#326 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,233 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#222 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#363 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,927 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,890 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time New York

Property: The Time New York
Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time New York 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York has all new accommodations and was designed by David Rockwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Time New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing