We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Time New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Time New York
Ranked #199 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked last minute as a surprise overnight get-away with the wife. Best part was the ultimate suprise; It's right next door to our theater the Eugene O'Neill for Book of Mormon... what a great fluke that was.... The rooms are small. No other way to say it. The bed, and then a path around 3 sides. Our view was of the building next to us. Haven't spent much time in NYC so I'll assume that's standard. Closet non-existant; a cut-out hidden by a curtain. I guess that's all you need. Bathroom small but functional. Little shelf space. Great location overall. Dining option in building.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livinthedream34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Livinthedream34678,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    674
    332
    167
    112
See reviews for
298
653
130
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The rooms are small but they actually the regular for a hotel room new York .
The staff were very helpful!
We asked to move to a different room cause our room got a lot of noise from other buildings,
The staff immediately understood and moved us right away.
The bathroom was fully equipped with everything u need !

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Or G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Or G,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Microscopic room with even more microscopic bathroom, you need to shower sideways. Overpriced and overrated, this is not a 4 star hotel. It needs maintenance in elevators, carpets and walls. However, service is extraordinary from doorman to front desk. Location is unbeatable, just a few steps from Times Square.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chevy10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Chevy10_10,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Time Hotel, and also for your feedback on your experience. The feedback provided is crucial for us to identify problems and address them. We thank you for recognizing the Time Hotel Team, for their outstanding service, and I will be sure to pass along your post. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is overpriced and has the smallest rooms I have ever seen. We booked our room on hotwire for two people. When we arrived we got a room that was literally the size of a walk-in closet. Laying on the bed sideways, my hands touched one wall and my feet touched the other. This room was barely large enough for one person!! How do I know it was a single occupancy room? There was but one robe!!

Look elsewhere--there are better options in NYC!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Susan R,

Thank you for your review. It appears the problems you experienced stem from your booking through Hotwire. Next time I hope you book through us and we can ensure you will not face the same issues regarding the room and special requests. We will also be contacting Hotwire to let them know about how your experience adversely impacted your stay with us.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

San Franciso
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was a great value a perfect location - right next door to "The Book of Mormon" and easy walking distant to Time Square, other theaters and attractions. The staff was really friendly and helpful. New York hotel rooms are known for being small and cramp and although our room was on the small size the space was organized so efficiently that it didn't matter a bit. The really best thing was the bathroom had a narrow floor to ceiling cabinet with cubby holes for our toiletries. This was such a simple and effective feature, one wonders why it isn't in every hotel bathroom! Instead of having our stuff stacked up, getting wet and falling off the sink or a small vanity, all our paraphernalia was conveniently stashed away and in easy reach from my mirror, face and hair products, his and her deodorants and tooth brushes to his razor and shave cream. We will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7-Divas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear 7-Divas,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I booked a 3-night say at The Time Hotel to celebrate our 10-year wedding anniversary. The staff was nice enough to wish us a happy anniversary with a complimentary upgrade to the King Suite. We arrived early and they gladly took our bags to a secure storage room until our 3:00 check-in so that we could tour the city. When we got our keys to the room they brought the bags up to us. The room, for the amount of time you actually spend in there, was perfect. It was clean, spacious with no signs of bugs or anything that would make someone uncomfortable.

The hotel was in an AMAZING location for the price we paid with access to the 49th street and 50th street subways within a block of the front door. Times Square was just around the corner and you were a short walk away from such icons as Rockefeller Centre, Central Park and Grand Central.

We never visited the restaurant attached or the lounge they had there as we were too busy seeing the city. Rooms were cleaned everyday and staff always there to help if you needed it.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is interested in visiting the Big Apple and staying at a location close to all the action of Times Square. Great price, great rooms and great staff made our stay very enjoyable.

I should also add that the beds were VERY comfortable with 6 pillows! :)

Room Tip: Little street noise may bother some so bring earplugs if you need them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caltek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Caltek,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Happy Anniversary!

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at The Time Hotel for two days. The stay was booked using the Hotel Tonight app, very convenient for last-second hotel accommodations at a discounted rate. To be certain I was getting a deal, I called the hotel a minute prior to booking via the mobile app. The reservations desk quoted me a price that was $65/night higher than the app offering. With it being less than a block from the heart of Times Square, it's perfect for people-watching, Broadway shows and late night happenings.

The host was extremely friendly during check-in. For my room, I would consider it a "poor man's W Hotel"...unfortunately, with the focus being on "poor". The room was small, which isn't a problem given that most Manhattan rooms can be tiny. There was not any true space to store clothing. The bed was nice, but you could tell that the money was spent on stylings and not durable materials.

On both days, I found the bathroom floor soaked after my shower. I checked to make sure that it wasn't user-error after the first day.

As much as I'd like to recommend the hotel based on location and the Hotel Tonight pricing, I wouldn't consciously choose this place to stay or for a business associate. If you're looking simply for a place to lay your head while you see the city, it's not bad. But, don't expect much if you're looking for a place to relax during your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear GW24,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip to The Time Hotel. I wanted to take a moment and apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your recent stay. I have forwarded your response to all of our Department Heads, so that they can follow up with their teams to make the needed corrections. If there is anything else you would like to bring to our attention or discuss please do not hesitate to call The Time directly. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to The Time in the future.

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#327 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,377 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#24 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,971 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#43 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,643 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#237 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,983 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time New York

Property: The Time New York
Address: 224 W 49th St, New York City, NY 10019-7405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time New York 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York has all new accommodations and was designed by David Rockwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Time New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing