We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great (but expensive) hotel!”
Review of The Mercer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mercer Hotel
Ranked #355 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2006

Spent a weekend at The Mercer (the same weekend as the next review - probably saw them in the lobby on Sunday!). Check-in was friendly and efficient. In fact, the lady at check-in apologized for a child who was having a tantrum near the check-in desk. She mentioned "Usually it is more quiet". She was right - the lobby was cool and collected for the rest of the stay.

After registration formalities, she personally took us to the room and showed us all the amenities. Stayed in a Studio Room. Room that was perfectly clean and comfortable. Everything worked except one set of blinds would only adjust half-way (not a big problem!). The room had a lot of light and a lot of special touches. There were several candles in the room. Even though there was an ashtray and matches, there was not a hint of smoke in the room (and I'm very picky about that). As others have stated, the mini-bar had the most amazing selection! Also, almost all of the lights and the ceiling fan had small dimmer switches next to the traditional on/off switch, so the adjustments to the numerous lights were endless.

The bathtub was wonderful and you could open doors between the bathtub and the bedroom. Plenty of hot water and your choice of bath salts or bubble bath. The tub was noisy when draining and the shower tended to leak water onto the bathroom floor when using the body spray. (Yes, I have to get that picky to say anything critical about this hotel!) Plenty of fluffy towels. Great toiletries in 4 ounce containers. Even mints and condoms.

The robes were great as was the cashmere throw. The flat-screen TV was recessed into a nook in the wall so you might just think it was a flat-panel TV. Nice selection of channels, too.

For turndown, they put linens on the floor next to the beds and left small bottles of Evian bedside. When we entered the room, they had provided two large bottles of Evian and a great bowl of fruit.

The mattress was OK - slept on better and on worse at other hotels.

Lots of other thoughtful touches: personalized stationery was delivered a few minutes after check-in; the "do not disturb" sign was actually a magnet which made it easy to use. The closets were large with great (and abundant) hangers; an umbrella and shopping bag were waiting in the closet. Free internet access at the large Mac in the lobby (but just one computer). No coffee maker in the room.

Room service was pricey but very fast and good. As others mentioned, the tuna/wasabi pizza is a good choice.

Location is great - Soho is your neighborhood. You're one block from Dean and Deluca (for great edibles) and you can take a shortcut to the hotel through the Prada store (from Broadway) if you encounter rain.

I could go on, but you get the idea. Of course, for a hotel where rates start at around $500 a night you expect superb service and a great room. The Mercer delivers!

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Bippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 299 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2006

Elegant and very low profile,and what a great weekend!. The staff could not have been nicer.The room spotless,sexy layout and accomodations and perfect sized. The best stocked minibar/room gourmet selection I have ever seen.We had Sunday mornig breakfast in the hotel lobby and it felt like someones intimate living room....and the eye candy of people watching was the best ever. The concierge staff got us into the Mercer Grill for dinner Saturday pre theater and a near impossible Sunday brunch reservation at Batheszar.Forget MIdtown for me I will opt for this great neighborhood any time.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jawdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

We just dropped our daughter off at NYU -- and spent the night before "move-in day" at The Mercer. We really enjoyed the hotel. Great location -- and the rooms and ambience are excellent. Service was also outstanding -- very friendly and responsive. We liked it much better than The W at Union Square (where we stayed during our daughter's NYU summer orientation). This will be our hotel when we visit NYU.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

This is a place to relax and have fun. Very exclusive and nice decoration. The staff is very professional. CLose to nice restaurants and lounges. Right in the middle of SOHO.

Great for a weekend getaway with friends.

Check out the mercer kitchen.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank anamrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Glasgow, UK
219
Reviewed June 26, 2006

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night break at the Mercer and thought it was absoluely fantastic. The hotel is very trendy and the rooms fab. We stayed in a Mercer Room and were pleasantly surprised to find that the room was spacious (unlike some others) and very clean with excellent amenities. Contrary to previous reviews, we found the staff to be very friendly. They were very welcoming and accommodating and happy to assist us with anything we required. The food from the Mercer Kitchen whilst not the cheapest was also very delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2006

loved the mercer. the decor was refreshing, sleek, clean. housekeeping was impeccable. the room service is one of the best i've ever had! very quick too. delicious.
although concierge is not like those can-do-anything concierges at some 5 star hotels, the staff did their best to be accomodating and wasn't pretentious at all. all of my requests were satisfied with no problems at all.
do relax in the lobby! it's great for people watching. overall a very hip hotel with a casual vibe... loved that they had dvds and internet access.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pinkorigami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

My boyfriend and I just spent a weekend at the Mercer and I just adored our time there. Contrary to what I've read in some of prior reviews, the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more gracious to us at every turn. (When we called the front desk to ask if there were any bath pillows in the hotel, we were told, apologetically, that there were not, but they would go out and get one for us if we wanted!) We loved our beautiful room, the two person bathtub (that they can not promise to reserve in the room category we had, but try to honor upon request). The hotel is a big splurge and the experience felt like a worthy indulgence.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nancybNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#89 of 469 in New York City
968 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#187 of 469 in New York City
1,427 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 469 in New York City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#175 of 469 in New York City
3,009 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#73 of 469 in New York City
533 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 469 in New York City
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mercer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercer Hotel

Address: 147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012-3203
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in New York City
#199 Family Hotel in New York City
#215 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $616 - $1,083 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mercer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel housed in 6-story brick, Romanesque Revival building dating from 1890, originally built for John Astor II. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Mercer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel New York City
Mercer New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing