We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mercer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mercer Hotel
Ranked #336 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great hotel, great location, great staff. Friendly and welcoming with excellent touches, I live in NYC and check in here when i want to destress! Always good food and a great place from which to wander around.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastcoast321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    65
    21
    12
    7
See reviews for
26
88
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mclean, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A little jewel of a hotel with perfectly comfortable rooms, wonderful shower and the latest FACE Stockholm bathroom amenities. A truly posh experience that makes affordable luxury an absolute reality in New York's SOHO. Wonderful shopping, terrific new trendy restaurants and easy access to everywhere.
The best part of this hotel are the very people that make this property hum so effortlessly. The General Manger, Gilles Stellardo must be so very proud of his team. As a first time guest at this very comfortable but unpretentious hotel, I could not help but feel all the luxury qualities of The Four Season, Mandarin Oriental, The Park Hyatt and the Peninsula Hotel but the charm and friendliness of some of the best Leading Hotels of The World. The Mercer Hotel has a terrific feel about it. One that should be experience with a loved one and without any apprehension.
My very best experience in this hotel was the exceptional service at the Mercer Kitchen restaurant and the delightful menu served in the lobby area. What a wonderful team of true professionals. My biggest congratulations go to Chef Veronica Gittens. She is simply brilliant and her food creations out of this world. And so confirmed by my guest and friend Chef Jonathan Krinn and my four other hungry guests. Thank you Chef Veronica for a truly memorable Friday March 28, 2014.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

There is a relaxed feeling in this hotel, you always meet celebrities, the food is good, the staff nice, the rooms feel like home, It is located in the middle of Soho which is my favorite area in the city which also makes it convenient to discover all the new trendy restaurants.

Room Tip: the studios are a nice value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jclinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
255 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We have beeb staying at The Mercer for at least two weeks a year for approximately ten years and have never been disappointed. The rooms, while not grandiose in size, are decorated with refined simplicity, the staff (many of whom have been with The Mercer for many years) are great, and the service is excellent. The location is also excellent for both public and private transportation and the downtown restaurant scene. The only negative is dealing with the hoards of shoppers on the nearby streets (especially on week-ends and in the pre-Christmas season.)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Well cooked, great surroundings, fantastic service. The team was really good at looking after my husband, my 1 year old and me.We sat upstairs as it was easiest with the pushchair, but saw how lovely it was downstairs too. Looked like an amazing place to go for drinks in the evening too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

All good. Had an excellent time with friendly people and good food. Also the accomodation was good although could have been a little cleaner but overall this was a thoroughly pleasant stay. We shall be coming back and would recommend this to anyone thinking of coming out here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercerHotelNYC, Public Relations Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Edward,

Thank you for taking the time to post a message on our wall, it is always greatly appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and will take your remarks into consideration in order to keep providing our utmost service to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Best personal regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed four nights at The Mercer and all I can say is "waooo"! rooms are pretty simple but decoration is perfect...you feel like home! Attention to detail is made for everything! Staff is definitely helpful and you may also have the chance to cross a few celibrities at the Lobby.
Location is a big plus as you are at the Heart of Soho! Can only recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djaxou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Djaxou,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to know that you found the hotel and staff to be accomodating and fit your needs. Lovely to make note that you felt at home during your stay.

Hopefully it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best personal regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#74 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#172 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,722 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#138 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#95 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#214 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mercer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercer Hotel

Property: The Mercer Hotel
Address: 147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012-3203
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Mercer Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel housed in 6-story brick, Romanesque Revival building dating from 1890, originally built for John Astor II. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Mercer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel New York City
Mercer New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing