We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of The Mercer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mercer Hotel
Ranked #354 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great hotel, great location, great staff. Friendly and welcoming with excellent touches, I live in NYC and check in here when i want to destress! Always good food and a great place from which to wander around.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Eastcoast321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 299 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

A little jewel of a hotel with perfectly comfortable rooms, wonderful shower and the latest FACE Stockholm bathroom amenities. A truly posh experience that makes affordable luxury an absolute reality in New York's SOHO. Wonderful shopping, terrific new trendy restaurants and easy access to everywhere.
The best part of this hotel are the very people that make this property hum so effortlessly. The General Manger, Gilles Stellardo must be so very proud of his team. As a first time guest at this very comfortable but unpretentious hotel, I could not help but feel all the luxury qualities of The Four Season, Mandarin Oriental, The Park Hyatt and the Peninsula Hotel but the charm and friendliness of some of the best Leading Hotels of The World. The Mercer Hotel has a terrific feel about it. One that should be experience with a loved one and without any apprehension.
My very best experience in this hotel was the exceptional service at the Mercer Kitchen restaurant and the delightful menu served in the lobby area. What a wonderful team of true professionals. My biggest congratulations go to Chef Veronica Gittens. She is simply brilliant and her food creations out of this world. And so confirmed by my guest and friend Chef Jonathan Krinn and my four other hungry guests. Thank you Chef Veronica for a truly memorable Friday March 28, 2014.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyBatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

There is a relaxed feeling in this hotel, you always meet celebrities, the food is good, the staff nice, the rooms feel like home, It is located in the middle of Soho which is my favorite area in the city which also makes it convenient to discover all the new trendy restaurants.

Room Tip: the studios are a nice value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jclinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have beeb staying at The Mercer for at least two weeks a year for approximately ten years and have never been disappointed. The rooms, while not grandiose in size, are decorated with refined simplicity, the staff (many of whom have been with The Mercer for many years) are great, and the service is excellent. The location is also excellent for both public and private transportation and the downtown restaurant scene. The only negative is dealing with the hoards of shoppers on the nearby streets (especially on week-ends and in the pre-Christmas season.)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Well cooked, great surroundings, fantastic service. The team was really good at looking after my husband, my 1 year old and me.We sat upstairs as it was easiest with the pushchair, but saw how lovely it was downstairs too. Looked like an amazing place to go for drinks in the evening too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

All good. Had an excellent time with friendly people and good food. Also the accomodation was good although could have been a little cleaner but overall this was a thoroughly pleasant stay. We shall be coming back and would recommend this to anyone thinking of coming out here.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercerHotelNYC, Public Relations Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Edward,

Thank you for taking the time to post a message on our wall, it is always greatly appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and will take your remarks into consideration in order to keep providing our utmost service to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Best personal regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed four nights at The Mercer and all I can say is "waooo"! rooms are pretty simple but decoration is perfect...you feel like home! Attention to detail is made for everything! Staff is definitely helpful and you may also have the chance to cross a few celibrities at the Lobby.
Location is a big plus as you are at the Heart of Soho! Can only recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djaxou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Djaxou,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to know that you found the hotel and staff to be accomodating and fit your needs. Lovely to make note that you felt at home during your stay.

Hopefully it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best personal regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#90 of 469 in New York City
970 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#183 of 469 in New York City
1,427 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 469 in New York City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#175 of 469 in New York City
3,011 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#73 of 469 in New York City
537 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 469 in New York City
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mercer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercer Hotel

Address: 147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in New York City
#199 Family Hotel in New York City
#215 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $616 - $1,078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mercer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel housed in 6-story brick, Romanesque Revival building dating from 1890, originally built for John Astor II. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mercer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel New York City
Mercer New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing