We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay at the core of Soho.”
Review of The Mercer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mercer Hotel
Ranked #363 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very best location in Soho Ny. Minute walk for the most popular cafes; restaurants in downtown. Most probably one of the meeting points of all Newyorkers. Nice food served with in nice atmosphere. Comfortable rooms with a high price but Very good service and stuff who are so friendly makes U feel Very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted to know that you found the hotel and staff to be accomodating during your stay with us. Your generous remarks will certainly be shared with the team. It is very rewarding for them to learn how much their efforts are appreciated.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Mercer in the near future. In the meantime, and with kind regards,

We remain,

Yours truly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 304 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Mercer is without doubt a great location in Soho. It appears very trendy with lots of people in the lobby milling about. The rooms are small but you sort of expect that from NY. Bathroom is great, lovely huge bath and shower. Toiletries a decent size which was nice. Like most of the other reviews, it certainly isn't cheap but that obviously depends what 'grade of room' you booked.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natascha09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Unfortunately I was disappointed with my stay at the mercer. We frequent many hotels and the service here is definitely not up to scratch. The staff was not exactly helpful and can be condescending to customers. The rooms were small but expected for New York standards and the rooms a little bland. Key point is that the windows were not double glazed so we could here the building work opposite us. When you pay more than $650 a night and we had 2 rooms so $1300 a night we were spending, you really do expect tranquility!

Location was excellent, right in the middle of Soho, walking distance to all the shopping. As much as it disappoints me to say it but the best thing about the stay at mercer was when you walk out of the hotel and find yourself immersed in the middle of Soho shopping district.

Least to say we ended up swapping hotels as we travel enough to know what a $650 plus hotel stay should be like.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent location for shopping, eating, or visiting your college kid. There's no fitness center, but they set us up at a nearby gym. Excellent breakfast, yummy food at the Mercer Kitchen. And what a nice big room, light and bright--a welcome surprise in Manhattan. The lobby/bar is great for people-watching. You might see a famous fashion designer or author sipping a dark 'n' stormy over the latest gossip....

Room Tip: Ask for gym privileges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachwriter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We often go for a few days to New York and stayed this time in The Mercer. The location is the best we have had, but the rooms are quite expensive. Service great, Mercer Kitchen great, so despite the rather expensive price tag a place to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for posting your comments further to your stay with us. I am delighted you found the hotel and staff to be accomodating and that you also have had the pleasure to enjoy our restaurant Mercer Kitchen.
I will share your remarks with the staff, it is indeed very rewarding for them to know their afforts are appreciated.
looking forward to welcoming you again at the Mercer in the near future
Best personal regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I followed my own advice and booked another stay at the Mercer. This time I stayed for five days instead of just one, and I must say that the Mercer grew on me day by day.

After some time I got to know the people working there, and I liked them better and better day by day. The hotel itself also got better too. The ambience, the food, the bed, the location; everything developed in my kind of way.
It is still very expensive and the breakfast will ruin you if you do not think it is ok to pay 90 dollars for two servings.
However; if you can afford it, I would go for the Mercer. You will be treated like a friend of the family as the days pass by.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imedvindfranord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting such a comment further to your stay with us in March 2013. I am delighted that your experienced with us has become better and better day after day.
It is so rewarding for the staff to know that their efforts are valued and appreciated by our guests.
I hope to welcome you to the Mercer in the near fiuture
Best personal regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at Hotel (The Mercer) for 4 nights between Christmas and New year's Eve this past December and LOVED it. We had a courtyard room this trip after previously enjoying the somewhat larger Mercer room on a previous stay. The bed and pillows are wonderfully comfortable and we always get great night's sleep in rooms that are surprisingly quiet. The location simply cannot be beat if you are looking to be out of Midtown. A number of subway lines are a mere block or two away providing easy access to other parts of Manhattan. On our last day there, Mercer was blocked off at Houston and so the door/bellman took our luggage all the way up Mercer to meet our car which was waiting at the intersection of Mercer and Houston--OUTSTANDING!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uncsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 470 in New York City
795 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 470 in New York City
495 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#89 of 470 in New York City
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#177 of 470 in New York City
1,446 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#168 of 470 in New York City
3,048 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#81 of 470 in New York City
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mercer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercer Hotel

Address: 147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012-3203
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $499 - $1,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mercer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel housed in 6-story brick, Romanesque Revival building dating from 1890, originally built for John Astor II. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Mercer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel New York City
Mercer New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing