We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mark
Ranked #27 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

The Mark was outstanding. The room was spacious, clean and bathroom well-lit. It is not inexpensive but we found the rooms & service to be exactly what we were looking for. I imagine techies would find the room acceptable as just about everything in the room can be operated by a remote.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful in making reservations.

The proximity to Central Park and The Met is a huge bonus.

My husband thought "it was great, across the board."

We ate one night at the hotel restaurant, Jean-Georges and while it was all right, I wouldn't repeat the experience. My husband found the food good but my dish was oversalted, which says a lot since I am a huge salt fan. The service at the restaurant was good.

The bar, was convenient & full of entertainment. We frequently ended our evenings at the bar and were always able to find good people watching and conversation. It does seem to close on the early side of things, although one night we were there, they stayed open later to accommodate our group (at the request of one of the party we were chatting with).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandORGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    110
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
134
273
63
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed for one night in a Seventy-seven king room. The staff is so accomodating and thoughtful, simply amazing! Rooms and bathrooms are exquisite and the location is perfect if you like the upper East side. We had dinner at Le Bilboquet which I highly recommend! Fantastic French small bistro, check it out!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Great location for central park and upper east side, service is unparalleled. Lots of celebs stay and visit here. Everything was wonderful, with the exception of a couple of minuses, no tea/coffee facilities and no shuttle bus as advertised on google etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucash73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

The hotel is beautifully renovated and feels brand new. The staff is superb - gracious, helpful, going way out of their way to remember guests and their preferences. Fabulous rooms. Very luxurious and welcoming feel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joybunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

This is what my boss says whenever he needs to travel to NYC - which he does with frequency. Business, and leisure, find him all over the world, and he is not usually insistent that he stay in one specific hotel. The Mark is one of the few exceptions, and the only place in NYC that he will stay. The staff is wonderfully helpful and attentive, and while the price is high the fact is when you consider where you are, and what you are getting, the cost is more than reasonable. Location, accommodations, service: The Mark excels in every category.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAL1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

Visited for pleasure, it had the intended purpose of making my spouse very happy. The hotel is beautiful in a very modern way. The staff was very nice, especially the door staff. Breakfast was also a treat. We liked the neighborhood but it was just too cold to really see much of it. I don't get effusive often but this was very well done. If any issues, it is not inexpensive and a hair noisy, but the rest more than makes up for it. ALso, the bathroom and especially the soaking tub are winners.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyway2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Loved the new Mark. The Bar was too much fun and the decor was great. Met the GM, a very distinguished Englishman that had me in stitches all night. Definitley recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#229 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Property: The Mark
Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing