We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in NYC”
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mark
Ranked #33 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is in my opinion the best hotel of New York. Everything is just perfect. Service, interior, rooms, bar. We loved it all.

The check in was very efficient. We arrived early, however we could not have an early check in. Several apologies from the reception that our room was not ready yet. We checked in and stored our luggage. One hour later the room was ready so we came back to the hotel. We were escorted by a lady called Helen to our room. She explained the remote control that can be used for everything (airco, curtains, light and TV). The mini bar looks fabulous, you even have your own ice in the mini bar.

We had a Madison room. The room overlooked the street and we could not hear any noise. The room is big, the bed is very comfortable and is huge. The bathroom is stunning. A bath and a separate shower. In the mirror is an extra TV so you can watch TV the entire time and everywhere in your room.
The beige carpet is spotless. This is one of the cleanest rooms I ever saw. There are a lot of closets where you can store your luggage.

The turndown service is early. The lady came round 5 PM to our room for turndown service. We asked her to come back at 8PM so she did.

The concierge is very helpful and found a great restaurant for us. She made a reservation and gave very good directions how to get there.

The bar is beautiful. It is packed on a Thursday and Friday night. A lot of locals come here for a drink. Service is excellent.

One thing we did not really appreciate was the fruit plate we ordered at breakfast. It had strawberries on the plate that were brown and rotten. This is not something you serve and to charge US$ 18 for fruit that does not look good is much! We said this to the waiter, he did not apologize, took the plate and brought another plate couple of minutes later without apology. Another waiter came directly to our table and apologized for the inconvenience.

The hotel has free wireless internet that is very fast!

We definitely will come back in this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 755 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

It is hard to find a hotel in NYC that has it all. The Mark had spacious rooms, wonderful service, good location, and an excellent bar/restaurant. We have always liked The Carlyle, but we have found a new favorite. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hill0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I was seriously bummed out when all our usual corporate hotels were completely sold out and my corporate travel agent put me at The Mark. I'm always a bit fearful when I stay somewhere new, especially in NYC where I've had some horror experiences. But the Mark was a complete stroke of luck for me! It was exquisite in every respect. I think the bed was possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the bathroom was probably the nicest bathroom I have ever seen. The room itself was very comfortable and very modern and I liked all the amenities (state of the art electronics surrounded me and they weren't impossible to figure out how to use). I didn't rely much on the staff but my interactions were all positive. One of the nicest features was that it was a small gorgeous, quiet hotel in a great neighborhood. If you don't mind spending the money to stay here and want to be on the Upper East Side, I seriously recommend you give it a shot! It's hard for me to imagine anyone will be unhappy here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charleneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We booked The Mark for a 3 night leisure trip to visit NYC. The hotel is in a lovely area, and even though there was little information on tripadvisor and such, we went out on a limb with this place but were very pleased with what we got.

Check-in/Lobby: The checking in went smoothely, however they tried to put us in a lower category room than what we had confirmed after booking. Thankfully hubby printed out our confirmation emails, or else I'm not sure what would have happened, we weren't very impressed about that. The lobby is beautifully styled, with access to the bar, restaurant and elevators. We never had to wait for an elevator...and come to think of it never saw any guests as we were coming and going from the room.

Rooms: The room we stayed in was a Seventy Seven King room, and we absolutely loved it. It was our favourite part! We found the bedroom area to be quite spacious, especially with the multiple closets and shoe racks! All the lights and blinds are controlled with a single remote and that also worked well for us. The bathroom was really well designed and functionable. The tv's in the bathroom mirror are always a nice touch but we really enjoyed the towel warming rack. Double sinks are a must, and the deep soaking tub fit both of us comfortably (hubby is over 6"). Mini bar selection was expansive, plenty of room for your own stuff and stocked with a ton of ice.

Room Service: We ordered room service a total of 3 times. The menu is delicious here, a must try! One night we could not get through to the room service line to place our breakfast order for the following morning, and front desk insisted that they take our order and pass it along to room service. Needless to say, our breakfast never arrived, and a phonecall revealed that the front desk agent never relayed our order to room service. I was NOT impressed with that whatsoever especially after being assured that our order would be passed along. Anyways, we got a complimentary breakfast which was rushed to our room, but I don't think that this is an acceptable standard from a hotel of this calibre. Overall the food was amazing though!!!

Overall Service: The service was very inconsistent. We encountered many staff who were helpful and friendly, and others were a little awkward. I don't know if they all received the same training or have varying degrees of experience, but level of service offered here lacked the fluidity that you would expect at a 5* hotel.

Overall Experience: This hotel offers outstanding accomodations in which you will feel luxurious and pampered. The rooms pay attention to all the little details which will make your stay more comfortable. The room service food is delicious and highly recommended. The location is great for sightseeing and its very easy to catch a cab from here. If you're planning to use parking be aware that it is valet only. We thought this place really suited our needs and minus a couple of service glitches at check-in and room service we would recommend this property to others, perfect for a getaway to NYC!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsS_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We took our two children, ages 7 and 10, to New York for Spring Break. Our stay at The Mark Hotel was a highlight. We had a spacious, one bedroom, two bathroom suite (kids slept on the pull out sofa in living area). The kids slept well on the sofa-bed and our bed was super comfy! The closet and dresser space was ample for the four of us. The remote controlled lights and shades confused us a little bit, but there is a manual override if you can figure it out. A television in the mirror of the bathroom was a big hit. The hotel is just beautiful - a great mix of art deco and modern design.
The staff is incredible. We used the concierge quite a lot as this was a last minute trip with nothing planned. We even made a few calls while out and about to get help with last minute dinner reservations. A saviour when you have hungry kids. Everyone was terrific. The staff recognized us as we came and went and would inquire about our day. They were very friendly to the children. It's most likely the best service I've experienced at this level of hotel.
The Mark was just the perfect retreat after running around the city with kids all day. The location is superb. The hotel is steps away from Central Park and is situated on residential side street. We felt as if we lived in an apartment on the upper east side staying here. We ate a couple of meals in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed both very much. The bar looks very intriguing, but we did not have an occasion to actually enjoy it. We'll be back to The Mark! It a cool, classy place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingPlacesVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

What a great place - wish I could live here! I've come here for years (since it was the Madison Ave Hotel, before The Mark), stayed at the Mandarin Oriental or Ritz Carlton while they were closed for renovations. So glad they're back! Same understated elegance with upscale furnishings & state of the art features.

The best part of staying here is being in NYC but feeling like you're home. As soon as you walk in the front door you're home - but close enough to all of NYC to appeciate.Upper East side location offers a respite from the craziness of downtown - 1 block away from Central park, just off Madison Ave (great shopping). All staff (from front desk to concierge to bellstaff to housekeeping to room service & all others are wonderful, & will make your stay the absolute best!!!!

I feel bad giving it a great review, because I want it to stay un-discovered so I have no problem going back....but I want to be honest here. If you’re going to NYC & have the $ go here!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The accommodations are exquisite; the service almost intuitive.
Jetlag does not matter on a bed like that!!
From the moment we arrived, to departure, we were treated like VIPs.
The concierge that was able to organise everything from dinner reservations at Jean Georges at our preferred time when fully booked and able to source a specific champagne and vintage. Nothing was too big or too small.
Nothing was overlooked, nothing too much trouble.
We travel frequently, but it will be hard for any hotel to compare after a week at The Mark NY.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PCSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#88 of 470 in New York City
1,916 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#295 of 470 in New York City
815 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#206 of 470 in New York City
702 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#27 of 470 in New York City
1,558 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $491 - $1,503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing