We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderful Five Star Hotel”
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mark
Ranked #54 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I am a bicoastal plastic surgeon who travels between Southern CA to NYC once a month for work and pleasure. I have stayed in most of the nice hotels in NYC. The Mark hotels definitely ranks as one of the best. The staff is attentive and in-tuned to your needs. The rooms are a nice size and well appointed. The proximity to Central Park is wonderful. The hotel is also dog friendly which is incredible. (Since our dog Sammy always travels with us). I have started recommending this hotel to all my friends traveling to NYC.

Room Tip: We had a room that had studio that had a kitchen and it made the hotel room feel even more like home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tze I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for the thoughtful review and impressive five star rating! I am so pleased to learn that you highly regard The Mark as one of the greatest hotels that New York City has to offer. It was an absolute pleasure to have you (and Sammy) stay with us, and I am delighted that you enjoyed our pet-friendly atmosphere. I cannot thank you enough for recommending The Mark to your friends and colleagues and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 775 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

When you move out of the upper east side of Manhattan and move across the country you know whenever you return you should stay at The Mark. The location is just perfect. You are near Central Park, just blocks from the Met, and wonderful shopping on Madison. It is quieter than mid-town, the staff could not be more accommodating and Sant Ambroeus is just around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for allowing us to provide you with a home away from home while on your most recent trip to New York. It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback from a past resident of our neighborhood. Your compliments regarding our staff’s level of personal service and the location of our hotel won’t soon be forgotten. I greatly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit to The Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Everything I could dream for a legendary New York staycation. Elegance, decadence and comfort in the ultimate location. Personal attention of John L made the experience unforgettable. Hotel has a European styling but New York soul. Dining and service are standouts.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seafairetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed her for two nights on a quick trip to NY and found the service excellent. For example: I checked out at 10am and spent a hot day walking around and came back for a 5pm limo to the airport; the staff offered me a room for 15-30 mins so that I could change clothes before heading out. The concierge was knowledgeable, pleasant and effective. My room, a larger 500sq foot room toward 77th street, was nicely appointed, with high end finishing. Very good room category.
The one small thing that I annoyed me: when I had breakfast with my daughter, they automatically added 20% tip to the check, perhaps believing we were international tourists, which we are not. It's a harassing tipping policy not worthy of such a luxury hotel. As I said, a small issue that I hope the manager will instruct the staff to abolish.

Room Tip: ask for rooms higher up, more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTHSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I spent two nights at The Mark and was extremely impressed by the quality of the staff and of the room. The room was not large, but was perfectly laid out. Particularly notable was the bathroom. In a relatively small space, they were able to fit a double vanity, a large bathtub and a separate, large, shower. The hotel was full, but there was no sense that anyone was overworked or stressed. Everyone was polite and helpful. If you want to stay on the Upper East Side, The Mark is a great choice.

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor overlooking 77 St. If you wake easily, you probably want to be on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilstar211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I first called to make my reservation at night (after hours) and was delightfully surprised when I spoke with Sean W. at The Mark Hotel. He was very informative and pleasant to deal with. When we arrived, we were greeted by bellmen (Dritan??) who too, seemed very professional. We checked in at the front desk with Jane and again, were greeted in a professional, welcoming manner. All of our contacts with hotel personnel were fantastic. It appeared they very much enjoy what they do and seemed to make sure our stay was perfect, which it was!!!
The room was extremely clean, spacious and the bed was very comfortable (bathrobes and slippers were provided). One remote control for TV's, lighting, shades was very convenient.
Overall, a terrific, luxurious hotel with great staff. Located one block east of Central Park.
Can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for the five star rating! It is wonderful to hear such positive feedback regarding our team, and I am pleased that we were able to make such a splendid first impression. It sounds like you had a very relaxing and comfortable stay with us, and I greatly appreciate your compliments about our beds and in-room technology. It is a privilege to gain your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We hosted a cocktail party for the partnership for inner city education at the Mark Hotel 6/17
It was absolutely fabulous!! The Mark couldn't have been more accommodating and looked after every detail

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful, but always nice to face west to see Central Park and the Sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCC411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#94 of 471 in New York City
1,926 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#293 of 471 in New York City
827 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#213 of 471 in New York City
713 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#53 of 471 in New York City
1,152 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $477 - $1,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing