We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassed 20th Anniversary Stay at The Mark”
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mark
Ranked #32 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Mark is an outstanding hotel for a special occasion in NYC. The service and attention to detail were a delight. We had the king room which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. We especially loved the large bathroom with full size bath and massive shower. The bathroom toiletries are all made an Italy and very generous in size, they also smell divine. An important detail in my mind!! The location is brilliant because after a very busy day in the hustle and bustle of downtown, it is an oasis of peace and serenity to come back to the hotel which is so beautifully located near Central Park. If you are looking for a memorable stay, you have found it!

Room Tip: The courtyard king room is very comfortable, quite and very spacious. It has loads of robe space an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaL602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Congratulations on your 20th anniversary from all of us here at The Mark! I am so pleased that you chose to celebrate this milestone with us and that your stay was seamless. It is wonderful to hear that our neighborhood offered you a serene retreat to celebrate this special occasion, tucked away from the commotion found in other areas of the city. I am also delighted that you enjoyed our bathroom features, as well as the design and fragrance of our new bath products. Thank you again for the wonderful review, and we hope to welcome you back to The Mark for many more memorable stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 758 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

I love staying at The Mark. Excellent service, wonderful rooms and great area. The staff were consistently helpful and pleasant. The food and wine list were as good as I remember. I can think of very little that should be improved in this gem of a hotel other than hoping it doesn't become even more popular so I can keep getting reservations when visiting New York.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeclanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have stayed in some high end, quality hotels around the world, but I have to say that up until now this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. Not only was the Hotel stylish and extremely comfortable but the quality of service and attention to detail was absolutely first class. All of the staff were courteous and friendly and would offer you assistance in any way possible. The concierge staff were particularly brilliant, (especially Isabelle and Jackie) they were very kind and attended to our every need....I would re-visit in a heart beat! Thanks, you really hit 'The Mark'

Stayed: May 2014
Thank jonnychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

....is both the theme of The Mark and the theme of any review, which in this case is all white and no black marks at all. The location is superb, just what one needs for all the shopping and culture of the upper East Side, without the grime and noise of mid-town or the West Side. Though at a crossing on busy Madison Avenue the double or probably triple glazing is thoroughly effective. The staff are helpful and helpfully remember your name, not if you have forgotten it, but to personalise your stay - a very good white mark indeed.

The black-and-white theme of the decor carries on from the exterior, through the lobby, and very neatly onto the bathroom floors - a charming touch. The drawer-like well-filled ice 'bucket' was also a white mark, as was the alternative to a full restaurant breakfast, provided in the bar. Altogether more white than black......

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave such an impressive and clever review. We make every effort to create a unique and personalized experience for our guests, so in turn I am delighted to hear that your recent stay with us was so exceptional. Additionally, I am pleased that you enjoyed all that our neighborhood has to offer, as well as our various hotel amenities. I hope you know that your feedback is highly encouraging to our team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our magnificent trip was ruined because the hotel's elevators were broken. With only 2 small elevators to serve the entire hotel, we had to wait in a crowded lobby 10 minutes every time we wanted to get to our room. And of course for the ride down too. Never again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that occurred during your recent stay with us. It is extremely unfortunate that one of our elevators malfunctioned, causing delays for our guests. As this occurred during one of our busiest weekends, I completely understand your frustration in this matter. Please rest assured that our engineering team took immediate attention to the faulty elevator, and worked to fix this issue as quickly as possible. I am tremendously sorry that this technical difficulty resulted in you having an unsatisfactory experience. If there is anything we can do to rectify the situation, or if you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Mark again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Mark Hotel is our favorite place to stay in NYC.
We love the location on 77th and Madison!
It is a luxury hotel with beautiful rooms and an amazing staff.
The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are meticulous.
During our last stay, our six year old daughter got very sick.
The hotel staff were incredibly caring and supportive. They had a doctor available
to see our daughter and they worked fast to get us the medication that we needed.
We would not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: The Madison Suite is incredible if you don't mind spending the $!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A last minute getaway to NYC. Chose the Mark and got a reasonable deal for a Madison King room. The rooms are spacious and clean with good ammenities, no noise issues either. Great comfortable bed and luxurious linens. Large wardrobe/ closet and ideal mini bar. Staff were very pleasant. Soothing color scheme. Close to Central Park and Madison Ave shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller6345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#89 of 470 in New York City
1,916 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#301 of 470 in New York City
815 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#197 of 470 in New York City
702 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#27 of 470 in New York City
1,560 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $492 - $1,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing