We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mark
Ranked #32 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed 6 nights at The Mark - the hotel was just perfect for us.
We had found a great deal and we very glad that we made this choice.
Our room was rather compact but very comfortable and the bathroom was a real delight. We had our breakfast served in the room each morning - always delicious, on time and excellent quality.
As our room faced the inner court we had lovely quiet night sleep and woke up with birds singing and not with sirenas and truck traffic noise.
The area is upscale and charming.
Unfortunately we were not lucky with the weather - it was very cold and lots of water and snow outside so there was no any chance to use hotel's bykes.
Compliments to all the staff - the front desk, concierge team, bellboys, housekeeping - everyone tried to make us feel at home. Great job!
I would stay again at The Mark with great pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

I am delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay at The Mark. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am happy to hear your in-room breakfast service was impeccable each morning during your stay, and that you found your room to be comfortable and peaceful, allowing you to have a relaxing night’s sleep. I am hopeful the weather will be more pleasant during your next visit and you will be able to take The Mark Bikes for a ride around Central Park. I will pass along your kind words to our hotel staff, as they will be very pleased to hear that they greatly contributed to your stay. Thank you again for choosing The Mark, and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 758 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

stayed for 4 nights - room was not ready and they up graded us before we had a chance to complain. The service was impeccable - staff were very professional but friendly. There was a car and driver available at no extra charge. Hotel was very clean and our room was large and well furnished. Restaurant was always busy so it is best to book a table. Food was very good and it is popular with stars - we sat next to Oprah one evening. It is modern and very classy - We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linden123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

really liked my stay here in the conveniently located Mark - 77/Madison.Many New York hotels are outmoded, dirty and expensive, but this one is a shining exception.The staff are brilliant, particularly the concierge staff who really helped me.Its not cheap, but my room was perfectly appointed, had two bathrooms, a great desk and luxurious appointments. I am coming back here next time!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked the Mark for one night to splurge in NYC. It turned out to be the best night ever as we got engaged! The hotel did a great job. They upgraded us, the champagne, roses (nicest I've ever had), bathroom (best part) were superb. TV in bathroom mirror, huge tub and THE BEST SHOWER pressure ever! Funky lobby floor, fancy/ritzy part of NYC I can go on and on.

The only downfall...super tiny lobby bar. Would have been great to go for a drink but it was so small and packed!

If you're going to splurge or like luxury...The Mark is the place! Right by the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlgurl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Congratulations on your recent engagement from all of us here at The Mark! We are so happy to have been a part of this special moment in your lives and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Mark for many more celebrations throughout your lives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed there in Jan 2014 while in NYC for business for 3 nights. Service was excellent as well as the room itself, though expensive, and would have preferred a buffet breakfast! Overall enjoyable, and the location was superb, so close to central park and similar attractions

Room Tip: Location is great - close to central park and all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaledksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My 22 year old son and I spent 3 nights here on a special celebration trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. The reservations staff and concierge were excellent- really helpful, our room was comfortable and more spacious than we expected and the whole experience felt very personal. We enjoyed the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and had late night drinks in the bar. We loved the location-great for Art, Central Park, Lincoln Centre as well as shopping and everywhere was easily accessible via the 6 line or cab. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a double double room on the 4th floor. The aspect was pleasant and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

There are many hotels in NYC that vie for the 5-star market, and it's the little things that make the difference given the significant room rate. We chose the Mark for its location, close to Lexington Ave shops and restaurants, Central Park and the subway; and on recommendation from a friend. We were by no means disappointed ! The rooms are spacious with subdued decor, and ours on the 5th floor had an outlook over the street, which is nice. The small thoughts in the turn down service are appreciated after a long day. The foyer and small downstairs bar seemed to be always crowded though, and a couple of times we turned away because there was just nowhere to sit. Also, 'cheap and cheerful' restaurants close by seem few and far between, unless you want to head downtown to soho ... then that's the nature of the upper east side, I suppose.The big upside for us was the help at the front desk. Sam, Daniel and Jimmy could not do enough for us - from help at check in, to a late check out, and all in between. Their making us feel welcome was probably the big upside that means we will certainly pick the Mark Hotel next time we are in NYC !

Room Tip: Ours was a 77 sq m room overlooking the street on the 5th floor, and it was great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneSwanny_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for providing feedback of your first time stay at The Mark. I am delighted that you found your room to be spacious and tastefully decorated. Furthermore, I am pleased that you greatly appreciated the details of our turndown service. I am sorry to hear that when you visited our bar, there were no available seats. I hope that next time you return you will be able to sit and enjoy a cocktail. We will also pass along your compliments to our front desk staff – they will be thrilled to hear that their hospitality made such a wonderful impression on you. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#89 of 470 in New York City
1,916 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#300 of 470 in New York City
815 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#197 of 470 in New York City
702 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#26 of 470 in New York City
1,560 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $492 - $1,501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing