We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favourite hotels”
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mark
Ranked #30 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of my favourite hotels”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Although a little formal for my tastes the staff were incredibly friendly and made such an effort to make me feel at ease. I was working in NYC as part of a film crew, often arriving back late, dressed like a tramp and filthy. Yet they could not have been more understanding during the 3 week stay. When my wife arrived from London for a week they upgraded us to a suite at no charge for the duration of her stay. Good location for many things especially the park which is almost as good as the London Parks on a Sunday. Very clean, very comfortable, sumptuous even.

Room Tip: Smile at check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyzeroseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    112
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
135
273
63
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were in NYC for a special event, and everything about The Mark added to our wonderful trip. The service was great. We loved our spacious, lovely room. Every amenity was available. The restaurant was fantastic. We would give this a very high recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFSSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The room: Lovely. I have a difficult time relaxing in hotels because I am fastidious to the point where one stray hair (that is not mine) in the bathroom will make me sleep cramped, on the edge of the bed. But my room was super-clean and I felt very comfortable from the moment I entered it.

Price: Not cheap, but if you can get a deal, like I did, then it's worth it.

Service: Snooty. Such that a very nice lady at reception and a nice doorman stood out. Aside from those standouts, however, I didn't feel like an appreciated guest.

The food: Expensive hotel food, like most hotels, but at least it was pretty good.

Location: It depends what you want to do in NYC. I had a few dinners downtown, so I sometimes didn't love the location, but overall it's great: the Met, Frick Collection, CP. Hard to beat.

I would stay there again, if I got a good deal, solely for the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Victoria,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay with us. I am so pleased that you found your room to be so lovely and comfortable. I am even more delighted that the cleanliness of our rooms lived up to your particular expectations. I am however disappointed to hear that you felt unappreciated by our staff, as we strive to provide each guest with an unprecedented level of personal service. I am thankful that the friendliness of the reception attendant and doorman stood out to you, and in turn I apologize that the remainder of our staff did not make more of a welcoming impression on you. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Mark again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our recent stay at NYC's The Mark was wonderful. I would say that it was the most beautiful and elegant hotels I have ever experienced. The rooms are stylish and extremely well-appointed. We were upgraded to a larger suite, and this was such a treat. The room had two large bathrooms with showers in each. There was a huge and luxurious tub in the master bath. The sitting area was spacious but warm, with many fabulous books on the shelves. I'm sure that the sofa was a sofabed, but we never used it because it was just my daughter and I (who is surely spoiled now, because no other NYC hotel can compare!). The master bedroom was also quite spacious and the bed?! I never have slept that well in a hotel!! It is a bit pricy, but well worth the splurge if you can afford it. The restaurant was delicious, and at night, the lobby comes alive with the coffee area turning into an intimate bar. There are bicycles lining the sidewalk for rides to the nearby Central Park and the hotel is situated amongst the finest shopping in the city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we had booked a few more days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you described The Mark as the most beautiful and elegant hotel that you have ever experienced. I am especially delighted that you found your room to be stylish, spacious and well appointed. We strive to make sure all our guests feel completely at home while staying with us, so we are very thankful to hear that you and your daughter had such a remarkably comfortable night’s sleep. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to The Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Everything everything everything was amazing! Rooms were top notch! The lounge was very cool. Everything decorated to the tee. Doormen were awesome. Tv's in the bathroom mirror. Best hotel in NYC. Concierge made our trip by bending over backwards! Ask for Lukas!!! Will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesonyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

What stands out for this property is the excellent service, spacious and beautiful bathrooms and short walk to Central Park. They provided a bed, treats, food and water bowl for my friends dog. Complimentary internet service in the room. View of Madison ave from my room. Flat screen tv imbedded in the mirror in the bathroom. Heated towel rack. It is a quiet neighborhood as far as traffic and crowds. Nice retreat from the hustle and bustle. I will be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

the service is what sets The Mark apart from other hotels in the city. Proximity to the park, great location and amazing food. My kids are comfortable with the doormen and concierge staff. The doormen provided a major convenience by keeping my car close so i would have quick access to my transportation to get across town or out of the city. i would definitely recommend the hotel to others for the amazing service and personal attention to detail. We will be back. Scott Robinowitz

Room Tip: rooms along 77th street are a bit larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Property: The Mark
Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing