We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upper East Side Perfection.”
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mark
Ranked #28 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Upper East Side Perfection.”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Mark is everything a hotel should ever strive to be. Perfect location, perfect size (more than
Boutique without being mass Market) perfect rooms, perfect staff, perfect food. I honestly did not want to leave. I stay in 5 star hotels on average twice a month and have never experienced such a painfully perfect hotel. The staff know who you are, the GM makes a point of greeting his guests. Even as a first time guest I was welcomed like an old friend. Coupled with Jean Georges fantastic restaurant The Mark is simply the only hotel in New York worth staying at!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    112
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
141
279
63
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for a week in early July--two adults and a teen on a rollaway in a Madison King room. This room is very large--tons of room for yoga, and is quietly luxurious as noted by previous reviewers, with a fabulously comfortable bed and pillows (although the rollaway was not so great--why do they charge $50/night for these?), thick towels, a remote that controls every electronic item in the room, including the blind, etc. We loved the room. The bathroom was equally beautiful, except that the shower is badly designed so that every time you get out of the shower there is a mini-flood on the bathroom floor--very bizarre and annoying, given how carefully designed the other elements of the room and bathroom are. We didn't like the spotty room service, which sometimes left clean water and wine glasses and sometimes didn't, as well as sometimes leaving Maison du Chocolat macarons and sometimes not. You'd expect consistency and thoroughness at a hotel like this. We also didn't much enjoy the lobby, which is very Esme Squalor--that is--loudly and painfully stylish, with rather unfriendly reception and a very silly bar (go and see it yourself if you have a chance--it's worth it for the wow, that's just silly factor). However, the doormen were all very nice, and the location makes almost anything at all worth it. What a fantastic spot, especially in the summer when the trees are in full leaf. Central Park is half a block, the Frick is a few blocks south, the Met is three blocks north, and the best espresso I've ever had at Saint Ambroeus is around the corner. Plenty of buses and cabs, as well as a subway stop nearby. It was always a joy after a long day walking around the city to come back to this quiet and beautiful street and to the cool, heavenly room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onebackwardglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Mark is the trendiest hotel in town, this is where the Upper East Side crowd gather for a late dinner at Jean-Georges. Menu is french, sometimes italian and slightly Americanized. It's made to appeal the regulars who seek comfort food such as, Pizza, Pasta and Burgers. I would suggest to skip the breakfast which is nothing special, I would also note, unrefined..

The Mark is comparable to The Greenwich Hotel or The Gramercy Park. Hotel staff is friendly and service is personalized. The rooms, spacious will live up to your expectations, reminiscing of Paris' 16th Arrondissement, the decor is luxurious, colored in beige shades and pastels. The bathroom features a deep tub, a large shower and Art Deco black and white marble floor. Perfectly located on the 77th on Madison, you can spend the whole afternoon shopping, dining at Daniel and going back feeling right at home in your Madison One-Bedroom Suite. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent 3 days in this beautiful hotel situated in the most exclusive area of New York City, away from the chaos of down town, but close to everything. We stayed in Madison Studio Suite because our room wasn’t ready upon our arrival. After stepping into our room we were speechless and both of us agreed that The Mark is exceptional, and the only place in NYC that we would want to stay. We were hesitant at first to in deciding between The Surrey and The Mark, but trust me this hotel is exclusive in everything in quality and not just in design, but of the guests and of course the professionalism of the stuff, too much to mention, so I summed it all up the best I could.

As soon as you walk in the front door you're home - but close enough to all of NYC to appreciate: a block away from Central Park, near by Metropolitan Museum, and great shopping is right there on Madison Ave.

We loved our room so much that we spent most of our time in bad, which by the way was extremely comfortable, munching on truffles and other goodies we brought with us in the gift basket.

We always talked about mark and about its well established reputation, only admiring it from Surrey. We are delighted that we had the opportunity to stay at mark with our best friend through the word of mouth and we never travel without him, we considered it a privilege to have had an opportunity to stay at the hotel of such caliber and even though 4 months later at Soho Trump. Once stayed in The Mark, Soho Trump cannot pale by comparison.

Room Tip: Most modern. The bathroom of the future. Plenty of closet space, we had 3, the biggest was for me a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank et49589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Upmarket discreet hotel with excellent service and great room offers at the moment as it is it's second anniversary. We stayed for 6 nights in a 77 Madison King but moved to a courtyard king as the view was not worth as much as the quietness and the bathroom ended up bigger. Great location and very stylish area in upper east side. The housekeeping was amazing and the room facilities of the highest standard. Very luxurious bedlinen and bathroom fittings with very large bath and shower. All the staff were very polite and helpful with the exception of one bar man who couldn't be bothered to serve us a night cap when we came back and told us to order two drinks at once so he could close the bar or continue drinking in our minibar! Doormen very friendly and always willing to help when arriving or leaving. Maybe a separate area for paying bill from checking in would be helpful as reception area is very small. Good security when arriving back late if that is of interest but I think there are condominiums in the hotel so that may be why. Didn't eat in the restaurant (went to Viand on Madison for breakfast - excellent) as so many places to try in NYC! Overall very impressed and excellent value for money. Will definitely be back loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at The Mark Hotel in New York City in June. What a lovely way to combine a vacation with some family business. The room had every amenity. There was a remote control by the bed which controlled the radio, the MP3 player, the T.V., the room temperature and the window shades. There was a "modern european" styled bathroom with a tub and stall shower with plumbing accessories. However, the large glass mirror had a T.V. inset into it. You could soak in the tub and remotely control the T.V. The room was very well appointed and quiet; unexpected with the hubbub of the traffic of the city going on outside the hotel. All the staff were very helpful. If I am ever find myself planning to stay in New York City again I'm staying at The Mark Hotel.

Room Tip: Ther isn't a bad room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch181818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

First time I have stayed at The Mark since its renovation a few years ago and it did not disappoint. Stylish lobby with very good restaurant - had a light lunch here which was very good. Rooms are not huge but very stylish - very cool Sub Zero minibar fridge and wonderful art deco style bathrooms. For the price this is by far the best hotel I have stayed in in New York recently. I will definitely be coming back to The Mark.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDH1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#77 of 466 in New York City
1,848 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#255 of 466 in New York City
774 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#30 of 466 in New York City
1,499 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 466 in New York City
691 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Property: The Mark
Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Kognitiv US Corp, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing