We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent value, but no sink in hall bathrooms?!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Larchmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larchmont Hotel
Save
You added Larchmont Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #311 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value, but no sink in hall bathrooms?!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I needed a place to stay in the city for one night, and this was substantially cheaper than anything else I found (especially as a single traveler -- it was helpful that they had smaller rooms with single beds). I understand the concept of the "budget" hotel, and I'm not one to complain about the amenities being accordingly basic of even a little drab. If it's safe and clean, I'm happy.

What disappointed me about Larchmont was the fact that the hall bathrooms didn't have sinks. They just had hand sanitizers, presumably since you can go actually wash your hands in your bedroom (which has a sink). I was nevertheless a little surprised and mildly disgusted by this, as I did not think it was the most sanitary arrangement. Maybe this is normal in New York (?), but I have not observed this shortcut elsewhere. I've always just assumed that bathrooms came with sinks....

That said, it was fine, especially for a night. Given my needs, I'm not sure I would have chosen to stay somewhere else instead for surely another $30-50+.

Pluses: Excellent, central location. Free continental breakfast included. Friendly and accommodating staff. Wifi.

Cons: No sink in hall bathrooms. Relatively thin walls.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinghistorian86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    247
    70
    32
    14
See reviews for
48
157
119
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here for a week on September 2012. Good location, on a very quiet street (especially at night). Continental breakfast is simple but good - buns and rolls were tasty and fresh.

Each floor is segmented into two wings, each with 4 rooms and 2 bathrooms. So, although there are no private bathrooms, I spent 7 days there and never had to wait for a free bathroom, and they were always very clean. Each room has a sink but no refrigerator.

The only downside is that the nearest subway station is a good 4 blocks walk, which is a pain if it is raining or late at night when the streets are empty.

I am probably going to NY again in a month or so, and will definetely stay again at the Larchmont.

Room Tip: I got a front room on an upper floor, it had a nice view over the surrounding buildings and overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GERALDO F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Wonderful, inexpensive, place to stay when bed and breakfast is all you require. The staff is most helpful with ideas and directions and more. Breakfast is satisfactory. Many rooms use a shared restroom, but, I never saw anyone else when I was there. It is right near New York University with easy access to everything.

Room Tip: Elevator is available. I thought all rooms seemed equally as good, but not all have an in room toile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mona6319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A nice quiet hotel in Greenwich Village. I originally had one of the tiny single rooms but they are all at the front overlooking the street so I paid $109 for the next sized room overlooking the courtyard at the back.

Never saw anyone else use the shared bathrooms so no issues on that account.

Free use of computer and printer.

I would definitely recommend for budget travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennylets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Larchmont is a fantastic little hotel/B&B & residence in Greenwich Village. The location is absolutely perfect. You can easily get to a number of eateries--from 24 hour French cafés to pizza by the slice. It is an easy walk to Christopher Street. Also, it is very quiet and safe. Getting to a subway is about a 3-4 block walk.

As I mentioned, people reside here. The residents coexist well with the hotel guests--in fact, the atmosphere is quite warm and homey. There are no en suite bathrooms, but I didn't find this to be too inconvenient. Also, the prices weren't raised for the holidays. (We stayed for a week from Christmas Day to NYE) You absolutely cannot beat the price--we paid about $120/night. Breakfast is served in the mornings--it's your typical continental fare. The only downside is that the walls are quite thin. Other than that, I loved the Larchmont! I will only stay here when I visit New York.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, east wing in front of the hallway door entrance. The lovely little man w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Larchmont in October and were very happy with the location, room and shared facilities. In particular the location of this B&B was excellent. We had a larger queen room, and although still on the small side was clean, tidy and perfect for our stay. Shared bathrooms were always clean, with no wait despite it being fully booked at the time of our visit. The entire building was very safe with keys for the lobby, foyer, keys to the wing and keys to the room. Breakfast is strictly for bread lovers, with tea, coffee and juice.

Essentially you feel part of the village, within walking distance of everything. Citi bikes located at the end of the street meant that we were able to cycle all over NY and get back to the hotel quickly. I would definitely go back to this hotel if we were in NYC, without kids.

Room Tip: The larger queen room at the back of the building is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Larchmont Hotel was recommended to me by an older university colleague. Considering that it is virtually unheard of getting a room in New York for less than $100/ night, Larchmont joins the likes of Hotel 17 and the YMCA as a totally passable budget option in the Big Apple. Yes it's dated, yes the single rooms are tiny, yes the showers and toilets are shared, but all this is normal for New York in this price range. I was very happy for three days at Larchmont due to it's efficient house keeping, simple but clean facilities and it's great location, for exploring the West Village. I checked in after midnight and there was a chipper lady at the reception desk who had no complaints about my late arrival. They've put a bit more style and sophistication into their decor, which has a fin de sicle feel (which is a bonus in this bracket). Continental breakfast is toast and mini pastries and tea in a paper cup, but wouldn't you rather go out to breakfast anyway, maybe at Bubby's? I had a single room during the July 2013 heatwave and was happy with the fan and aircon in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#180 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#114 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#108 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#100 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,298 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#412 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larchmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larchmont Hotel

Property: Larchmont Hotel
Address: 27 W 11th St, New York City, NY 10011-8601
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Hotel Larchmont
Larchmont Hotel Manhattan
Larchmont New York City
Larchmont Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing