We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value”
Review of Larchmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larchmont Hotel
Ranked #362 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Located in a quiet street in the Greenwich village. Rooms small but relatively clean with a sink. Shared toilets and showers are clean. Honestly this was my first experience staying in a hotel with shared bathrooms, so I was relieved when I found them clean. My only complaint was the toilets have no sink to wash hands, you had to go back to your room to do so. The shower tub on the 3rd floor was very narrow, and can be a serious challenge to bigger sized people.

They always restock the room with cute little bags of toiletries and slippers hat you could bring to the bathroom. They left a new toiletries bag in the room during housekeeping even when the previous one was still hanging in the room unused.

Breakfast provided in a basement room, with limited selection of pastries and toasted breads, coffee, tea and juices, enough to start your day. Front desk had comfortable sofas to relax and read newspapers. There is a shared computer and printer which you can use to surf the Internet and print stuff.

Location not exactly in the thick of action, but the Greenwich village area was quiet. Subway a few blocks away, and cheap cafes catering to the NYU crowd litter the area. A great and cheap place to stay in NY.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EileenMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 502 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked last minute for one night and I was looking for an inexpensive hotel. Found the Larchmont on tripadvisor and went for it. This is not a luxury hotel by any stretch of the imagination but it is clean, comfortable, and very well located, and you'd probably be hard pressed to find a hotel in New York at these prices. The room was small but that wasn't a problem since I was really only planning on being in there to sleep. The shared toilets were clean, and I never found them occupied. Breakfast was somewhat spartan and disappointing but there are tons of places nearby to get a bite and this wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alih1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We live on Long Island and just wanted to spend 1 night in the city- without putting any of our friends out- so we tried this place. What a fantastic location! Beautiful block of brownstones. Now to be honest, I don't think we could do hostel living for more than 1 night. We stayed out late and slept late and the shower was gross in the morning- so we skipped it. But everything else was clean- the beds, toilets, sinks etc. you get a sink in the room so you are not sharing that. The bed was comfortable- no complaints there and no bed bugs either. We wanted to get breakfast out so we didn't try the continental breakfast. Overall a really great value for a short stay and the location really makes you feel like you ar living in a brownstone in New York. I would however try to get in the shower first next time- and pack your flip flops! Or get one of the family suites with your own bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is an inexpensive hotel in Greewich Village. The rooms are very small but if you are not planning on being in the hotel a lot, they are fine. The bathrooms are shared. There are 2 bathrooms for 6 rooms. They were never busy. They are small, so showering can be a challenge, but they are clean. There is also a room with a fridge and stove if you want to keep things cold or cook a meal. We did not use it.
The breakfast is good juice and good coffee. There is toast and pastries served to you by an attendant. It is enough to get you started and you have the opportunity to talk with some of the guests. The hotel is 3 or 4 blocks from 2 subway lines so it easy to get around. It is a little far from most plaes, but for the price, certainly worth a few extra minutes on a subway. The neighbourhood is very quiet and you do not hear any traffic at night, even sleeping with the windows open. We were on the sixth floor so it might be nosier if you were lower down. The desk staff was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viking2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

All hallways and rooms have a strong and unbearable smell of cigarets.
The service is terrible, everyone who works in the hotel is rude, disrespectful and works with lack of willingness.
The bathrooms weren't made to fit anyone properly and are dirty.
The lights in (at least) my room doesn't work.
They say we have free Wi-Fi in our room but most of the time there isn't even any signal in my phone.
They say breakfast is included but all they have for breakfast is a terrible wafer salt and coffee and call it "breakfast". Also, if you arrive 9:30am to breakfast one of the people who work in the hotel would rudely tell you "You're late!"

Room Tip: All hallways and rooms have a strong and unbearable smell of cigarets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I found this hotel on Tripadvisor and it's everything every review said it would be. What a wonderful location. I'd never shared a bathroom before, and it wasn't really sharing, because I never ran into anyone else there. We did upgrade to the larger room, based on advice in the reviews. Great view. I won't say anymore because I don't want it to fill up. I want there to be plenty of room the next time I go to NYC.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a wonderful little clean hotel in the heart of Greenwich Village. Excellent location, with good restaurants nearby. Close to NYU. The prices are so reasonable. Lovely continental breakfast included every morning. We enjoyed our stay here so much, and will definitely stay here again if we are able to return to New York. Very quiet. The French Restaurant down the street, and the Chinese Restaurant Charlie Mom are very good. Be sure to go to the Grey Dog over on University Street. Excellent sandwiches. Murray's Bagels are close by, too.

Room Tip: If you want a room with your own bathroom, get the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,032 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
1,470 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#118 of 469 in New York City
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#379 of 469 in New York City
58 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#56 of 469 in New York City
2,158 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larchmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larchmont Hotel

Address: 27 W 11th St, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#207 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $90 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Larchmont Hotel Manhattan
Hotel Larchmont
Larchmont New York City
Larchmont Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing