We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great value in New York City!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Larchmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larchmont Hotel
Save
You added Larchmont Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #310 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Miguel de Alllende, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great value in New York City!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable, very well-located hotel in the village- 2 blocks from 5th Ave, the Larchmont Hotel may be for you. Loved the pretty tree-lined street! The bright, spacious rooms with large windows facing the street have been tastefully redone: warm wall tones, attractive new carpeting, comfortable queen bed, stylish lengthy glass table top, and updated sink in the room. The shared W.C. toilette and separate shower a few doors down the hall posed no problem at all! Always hot water, morning or late at night. Bathrobe and slippers are provided by the hotel. Service was always helpful with a smile. Just down the block we also thoroughly enjoyed a lunch and dinner at the atmospheric French Roast Restaurant! We would happily choose to return to the Larchmont, an excellent value in one of the world's most expensive cities!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the quiet,pretty street-side view of trees from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dellsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    246
    70
    32
    14
See reviews for
48
157
116
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I spent the last 3 nights of my NYC holiday in May at the Larchmont, and I loved it! It's such a great address if you want to stay in one of the best areas of Manhattan, without spending a fortune.

The street is absolutely lovely and quiet, and typically New-York! There are many great shops just around the corner and you can walk everywhere (Flatiron building, Union Square...even the East Village).

The size of the room was very good with plenty of space to keep your luggage and hang your clothes. I never had to queue to use the toilets or shower (even though they are both in the same room). Being a traveller on a tight budget when it comes to hotels (I prefer to save my money for nice restaurants and a lot of shopping!) I have stayed in many hotels with shared bathrooms, and it was one of the best ones. I loved the fact we had a sink in our room as it meant we didn't have to go out to brush our teeth.

There was a kitchen not far from our room but we didn't have the time to use it (you never spend a lot of time in your room when you are in New-York).

So yes the decoration and bed linen are a bit old fashion (not in a cute, vintage way!) but who cares, as long as it's clean, quiet and cheap!

I would recommend this hotel 100% and I hope to stay there again soon :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BluekittenIntokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Larchmont is in a fantastic location in the village, in a quiet, beautiful and somewhat historic street. The rooms are clean, the staff are very good and the other guests all seem to be friendly.

No need to be concerned about the shared bathrooms, I have been here for nearly 2 weeks and have never had to wait to use one and they are always spotless.

I will certainly be back again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petesays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Larchmont Hotel for one night (May 24th to 25th) and had a great stay. It was easy to find, and in a very nice area of the city. I checked in, got the keys (there are three, one for the front door, one for the floor, and one for your room) and into the room quickly and without trouble. The room was very clean, as were the bathrooms down the hall. The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable and the staff were friendly and accommodating. It was also nice that after I checked out they were able to keep my bags so I wouldn't have to lug them around the city the rest of the day. All in all very nice, I already have plans to stay again later in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamsoftraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Larchmont Hotel is European Style lodging with comfortable private rooms, shared bathrooms, and a European style continental breakfast. Bathrobes and little pouches with bathroom items were provided for the trips to the bathroom. The breakfast was very tasty. We found the Larchmont Hotel to be very affordable, comfortable, and quiet, located in a safe, beautiful neighborhood on a peaceful side street in Greenwich Village. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and fellow travelers were as well. We will most definitely make this our home-away-from-home for our upcoming visits to our daughter at NYU.

Room Tip: A family suite is available with a private bathroom. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skipaddlesail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great central location (if you wanna stay in that part of town), small but clean rooms, individual showers/bathrooms would be even better, but cant have everything, right? Price-value very good for Manhattan. I would definitely stay again here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olsson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Service is pleasant in this charming hotel. Yes it is small, but what do you really need when busily scurrying around the Big Apple! Conveniently located to many restaurants, universities and culture! Begin your morning in the lovely cafe enjoying homemade pastries and breads, sipping on fresh made coffee and available juices. If closeness is not a factor and sharing a shower is not an issue, then this hotel is an ideal choice, not to mention the price for a stay in NYC with the added security of a locked entrance to main corridor as well as room corridors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnitaInVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#180 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#101 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#100 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#416 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#303 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larchmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larchmont Hotel

Property: Larchmont Hotel
Address: 27 W 11th St, New York City, NY 10011-8601
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Hotel Larchmont
Larchmont Hotel Manhattan
Larchmont New York City
Larchmont Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing