We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Affordable Hotel in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larchmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larchmont Hotel
Save
You added Larchmont Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #317 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Affordable Hotel in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Larchmont Hotel for one night (May 24th to 25th) and had a great stay. It was easy to find, and in a very nice area of the city. I checked in, got the keys (there are three, one for the front door, one for the floor, and one for your room) and into the room quickly and without trouble. The room was very clean, as were the bathrooms down the hall. The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable and the staff were friendly and accommodating. It was also nice that after I checked out they were able to keep my bags so I wouldn't have to lug them around the city the rest of the day. All in all very nice, I already have plans to stay again later in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamsoftraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    246
    70
    32
    14
See reviews for
48
157
116
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Larchmont Hotel is European Style lodging with comfortable private rooms, shared bathrooms, and a European style continental breakfast. Bathrobes and little pouches with bathroom items were provided for the trips to the bathroom. The breakfast was very tasty. We found the Larchmont Hotel to be very affordable, comfortable, and quiet, located in a safe, beautiful neighborhood on a peaceful side street in Greenwich Village. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and fellow travelers were as well. We will most definitely make this our home-away-from-home for our upcoming visits to our daughter at NYU.

Room Tip: A family suite is available with a private bathroom. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skipaddlesail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great central location (if you wanna stay in that part of town), small but clean rooms, individual showers/bathrooms would be even better, but cant have everything, right? Price-value very good for Manhattan. I would definitely stay again here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olsson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Service is pleasant in this charming hotel. Yes it is small, but what do you really need when busily scurrying around the Big Apple! Conveniently located to many restaurants, universities and culture! Begin your morning in the lovely cafe enjoying homemade pastries and breads, sipping on fresh made coffee and available juices. If closeness is not a factor and sharing a shower is not an issue, then this hotel is an ideal choice, not to mention the price for a stay in NYC with the added security of a locked entrance to main corridor as well as room corridors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnitaInVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Unique Small hotel, of European Status with Shared Bath and a few permanent residents which I had the pleasure of meeting. At first I was more nervous about sharing a bath with those I didn't know but I eventually convinced myself that I do it in public bathrooms and did so in dormitory life in college. The room I had was small, all I needed was a single bed with a closet and window facing the street and small TV. Towels, and linens were clean and provided daily. As well there was a sink with medicine cabinet in room. Soaps and shampoos were provided too!! The was a communal kitchen which mostly more than likely used by the in house residents The staff was friendly. The amenities included GREAT COFFEE with European Continental Breakfast of pastries, toasts and jams with Juices and Tea as well. There was a hostess at breakfast too as well as TV for catching up on news. Nice elevator bldg. with plenty of security access keys to East and West Hall sides of building which included a front door key and of course room key all on a handy wristlet.

The only negative side I had was the when I wanted to shower I had to wait as I would have gone into the 2nd WC with bathtub but the water did not drain well in this tub. I thought it was fixed after I advised of this on Friday but to my dismay on Sunday it was still "clogged" ...grrr..this was not good.

I recommend those staying bring their own flip-flops for the bath as well..the WC are VERY TINY. They provide slippers and robes. the place is VERY QUIET. small lobby with 2 computers and PLENTY of magazines. In a GREAT neighborhood, close to public transport be it bus or many subway lines..

I plan to go back ..and fyi make reservations early...really..

Room Tip: Expect small and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldjunquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ok, the not so great parts first - the rooms are small and a bit poky and the shared kitchen and bathroom facilities are basic. The shower controls were inadequate and the pressure was hit and miss. The WiFi ducked in and out and the bandwidth must've been tiny. However, the atmosphere was relaxed, it was clean, secure, the staff were very pleasant and the continental breakfast was fine. The key benefits to this place are in the price and the location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of the corridors to get more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

First of all: you won't find a place this cheap in Manhattan that is also as clean and tidy as this one. The room's really small, yes, and quite dark, with standard industrial furniture - but you don't go to NY to stay in a hotel room, do you?
Bathroom's shared, which is not that good, but there are two bathrooms per floor so it was not a great problem either. They also give you breakfast, which is ok.
The hotel is located in a great place, a nice neighborhood that is quiet but a (relatively) short walk from the heart of the city.
I would recommend it, but only if you (like me) value price and location above everything else.

Room Tip: Pick the "spatious" rooms: I got a "spacious" and it was quite small, so I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Ciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#179 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#100 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#97 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,241 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#415 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larchmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larchmont Hotel

Property: Larchmont Hotel
Address: 27 West 11th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Hotel Larchmont
Larchmont Hotel Manhattan
Larchmont New York City
Larchmont Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing