We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great location, small room”
Review of Larchmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larchmont Hotel
Ranked #354 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

First of all: you won't find a place this cheap in Manhattan that is also as clean and tidy as this one. The room's really small, yes, and quite dark, with standard industrial furniture - but you don't go to NY to stay in a hotel room, do you?
Bathroom's shared, which is not that good, but there are two bathrooms per floor so it was not a great problem either. They also give you breakfast, which is ok.
The hotel is located in a great place, a nice neighborhood that is quiet but a (relatively) short walk from the heart of the city.
I would recommend it, but only if you (like me) value price and location above everything else.

Room Tip: Pick the "spatious" rooms: I got a "spacious" and it was quite small, so I can...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A_Ciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for Larchmont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 500 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Delightful little European style hotel in the heart of Greenwich Village. Easy walking distance to many bistro type restaurants. The 2 bathrooms are shared(per floor) as in some hotels in Europe.
They serve a small continental breakfast which we did not bother with as there were many wonderful bagel places up and down the street. Warm bagels and cream cheese in abundance.
Also great tea shop Argo up the street a must try.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger sized rooms if available makes a difference.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andreastoriestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at the Larchmont for 2 nights on my trip to NYC. The location was outstanding - I loved being on a quieter street that was not touristy - made me feel like a true New Yorker. Exceptional value for price. This hotel is nothing fancy, so don't expect that. But it is all you really need. I felt safe and comfortable and got a good night's sleep. Bathrooms down the hall weren't a problem - I never saw anyone else using them. Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I come to NYC on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jcross01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past. It's nothing fancy, but convenient, safe, clean, and affordable. This time I was in between flights in and out of JFK, decided to spend the night in Manhattan before my international departure the next morning. It worked out great.
I booked a room almost four months ago but my room was right next to the bathrooms and they were used many times during odd hours after midnight before dawn making water noise, plus the radiator in the room kept making hissing noise through the night. The room got rather warm too. The bathrooms are so small that it is hard to make necessary moves. Despite all that, it is clean, safe, convenient and affordable, a great value hard to beat in the middle of Village. I can make up for the sleep during my long flight to Seoul...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasunari I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I can't give it five stars because it was not a top of the line hotel, but it deserves four for its outstanding value. There aren't many places where you can get a clean, safe room in a great location in Manhattan for under $100 a night. I had a walk-in closet size room, but it met those criteria. The bed, like everything else in the room, was small, but comfortable, the shared baths (two on my floor) were clean, and I even had a nice view of the new Freedom Tower at the WTC. And the street was relatively quiet for NYC. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yankeedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Larchmont couldn't be better located. It's on a quiet street, but close to so much city life and to a subway (for longer reach). And the place is very clean -- which is not always the case at "budget" hotels.

Our room was small, but more than adequate. Having a shared bath was not a concern for us, and we were almost never even aware that others were using the facilities. Also, we had complimentary robes and slippers -- just like a European hotel.

One of the best things about the hotel for me was the mix of clients -- at least those whom I met at breakfast. And that's one good reason to stay at a place like the Larchmont.

Our list of "issues" was short -- a sometimes noisy radiator, no fruit at the breakfast, weak (but adequate) internet on the odd numbered floors (transmitters were only on the even numbered). But the pleasant surroundings, friendly staff, and generally good "vibe" more than made up for any issues.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArthurFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I had a spacious room on the 6th floor. The room was pretty basic but it had everything we needed. As other reviewers have commented there is a shared bathroom for the floor but it was never occupied. To be honest I never saw anyone else on our floor. Breakfast is pretty basic but the croissants are good. It's just enough food to get you out the door.

The location in greenwich is fantastic. You really can't get a better home base to explore downtown (Chelsea, Greenwich, West Village, Soho and East Village). The street was quiet and you're really with the locals (as much as anyone is a local in NYC!) I would give this hotel a higher rating if it wasn't for our extremely loud radiator. Fortunately, after a day and night of fun in the city we generally slept through it, but usually around 4 am the sound of dripping water boiling in a loud metal container invariably woke us up.

Still we generally had a great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#110 of 468 in New York City
992 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 468 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#54 of 468 in New York City
2,129 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,687 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#415 of 468 in New York City
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larchmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larchmont Hotel

Address: 27 W 11th St, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#207 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $90 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Larchmont Hotel Manhattan
Hotel Larchmont
Larchmont New York City
Larchmont Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing