We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a terrific find”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #323 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 13, 2006

New York hotels are pricey compared to less glamourous US locations. Although we are frequent travelers around the world this was our first ever overnight in a Manhattan hotel (we live in nearby New Jersey) but our kids were hosting a special event and the Newton is around the corner from them so, based on TripAdvisor.com, we booked it. One caveat: you must book with a private bath (assuming you want one; otherwise you risk a shared bath which for us is a nonstarter.) We didn't expect much for our $287. (including taxes) but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was nicely updated with two immaculate queensized beds and a lovely bathroom with sufficient towels (*ok, they weren't 5* plush but they were clean and did the job). What more did we need? For anyone looking to be located on the fabulous UpperWestSide, go for the Newton. It's a decent, clean place and definitely not a dump like some of the nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rojersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2006

I've seen some poor reviews of the hotel and I wanted to give my story. I would rate it between average and above average.

I am a AAA member and only go to their "approved" facilities and this is one of them. It is for those who want clean, basic accommodations and intend to use the room for sleeping and not doing a lot of "hanging out" in the room. Yes, it is old and the elevator (only 1) is slow. I stayed in a single room and it was the smallest room I've ever seen. Having said that, it was a lovely room and had everything I needed; single bed, actual closet (not just a rack in the room), night stand with the usual and a small bureau with 3 drawers and the TV on the top. The bathroom was quite modern with bath/shower comb, hair dryer, etc. It was very clean and no problems at all. The employees were very pleasant and helpful.

For the price, you can't beat it. I paid $160 plus tax per night for the single with bath. It is on Broadway between 94th & 95th Sts. with the bus stopping 1/2 block away and subway about another half block. The bus runs every 7 or 8 minutes even at night and on Sundays. there are lots of stores to buy snacks, soda, drug store items, restaurants, etc. There is a great fruit/vegetable, grocery store half block away. You really get the "feel" of how the Manhattan people live. It was, at most with bad traffic, 40 minutes from mid-town, and usually only 25 minutes. It was ideal for my needs which were sightseeing and plays in mid-town. I would definitely return again. I can only comment on MY experience and it was very good. I always felt safe in the hotel and neighborhood and I'm an older woman (+50) staying alone. There are lockers in a room off the lobby where you can store your luggage on the day you check out before you leave town.

Stayed: November 2006
4  Thank humorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Newton for three nights in mid-October and thought it was great. We booked the room after reading about it in a Frommer's Guide (listed as a value property) and checking out all the Trip Advisor reviews. We reserved about a month ahead of time and the hotel was full when we were there. We paid $200 for Thursday evening and $275 for Friday and Saturday evenings. We normally would have thought this was exorbitant, but after finding virtually every other hotel over $400 a night, we decided this was a steal. Originally we wanted to stay in the Times Square area, but we're so glad we didn't. We loved the neighborhood feel of this area, and it was so easy to get anywhere in the city on the subway. This was our first visit to NYC and we walked and took the subway everywhere without any trouble. As women and girls, we felt perfectly safe walking around the hotel, even when we took the subway at home after the theater on Friday night. There were always lots of people out and about.

We had two adults and two teenagers in a deluxe queen room with two queen beds. It was quite a large room with an ample size bathroom, a fridge and microwave, and an ironing board and iron. Our room overlooked Broadway, but it was not noisy. We did have trouble getting hot water one morning, but that was our only complaint. I guess the beds were a little hard, but we were always so exhausted when we fell into bed that we didn't notice! We arrived about noon on a Thursday and our room was already ready. We also made use of the storage lockers to store our luggage on the last day. We flew in and out of the Newark airport and took a town car to and from the hotel. With tip and tolls, we paid close to $100 but we would have had to pay $14 each for the train plus subway or taxi fare from the train station to the hotel, tote our luggage around, and endure some waiting time. This was about 45 minutes door to door, the driver was very pleasant, and he pointed out sites on the way. It was definitely money well spent.

As I mentioned, we loved the neighborhood. While we had plans to dine at a number of restaurants that were recommended to us around the city, most evenings we ate near the hotel because it was just easier, quicker, and cheaper. Plus there were so many restaurants around. We loved the diners because there were so many options. The kids could have pancakes if they wanted while I could have something Greek. There are also a number of fast food type places around for breakfast or otherwise--Starbucks, McDonalds, Dunkin Donuts, and a great bagel place a few blocks south. We also hit the ice cream place a couple doors to the north when we came in at night. I think it was open until 11:00. There are pharmacies and grocery stores all over the place, so you should be able to find anything you need. Central Park is just three blocks to the east and we spent a very pleasant afternoon wandering all through it.

We would definitely stay here again. I think the hotel really helped make our trip the super experience it was.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kkls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2006

I had a trade show in NYC and talked my sister into meeting me there for a mini-holiday. We have both been to NYC several times before and wanted to avoid Times Square and find a neighborhood that was more "real" New York. We also didn't want to spend a whole lot of money on lodging. We booked Hotel Newton after research on TripAdvisor and couldn't be more pleased.

Trying to stretch our three days, we flew in on the earliest and out on the latest flights we could book. When we arrived early (10-ish) at the hotel we were pleased that a room was already ready for our check in. When we left, we were pleased to find self-service luggage lockers where we could stow our luggage while we shopped.

We booked a Twin-Twin, which had two twin beds. We paid $130 for the first night ant $150 for the second. We were pleasantly surprised with what appeared to be a freshly remodeled room and bath. The room had a flat screen tv and large in-room fridge and microwave, ironing board, etc. While small, the bathroom was top-notch, with marble walls and floors, brand new fixtures. Everything in the room and bath was squeaky clean.

We liked the intimate size of the hotel; we felt safer than in a huge hotel.

Despite being right on Broadway, it was incredibly quiet; we heard sirens if emergency vehicles went by, but no regular traffic and no honking. The only "noise" that bothered was was a rapping noise on the second morning which we suspect were expanding radiator pipes. Wasn't bad enough to wake us up, but once awake we couldn't go back to sleep.

The hotel has two computers in the lobby for checking email. $1 for five minutes.

The hotel is in between 94th and 95th, which is fabulous because 96th is major subway stop (with express and local trains) and 96th also has a cross-town bus to take you through the park to the East Side. We used our feet and the subway to go everywhere.

Easy stroll down Broadway to Zabars, H&H, Filene's Basement, etc.

The Key West Diner next door was a lifesaver when we were looking for a late (11 p.m.) supper one night. They do breakfast all day and it hit the spot. Not the best breakfast I had every had, but great that it was available at that hour when everything else was closed.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank MicheleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

my wife and i plus our two teenage children have just returned from a five day trip to new york after staying at the newton hotel.i booked the hotel after reading visitor reports on trip advisor and it was wonderful.this was our 3rd visit to new york in 5 years and this hotel takes some beating.we had a family room which was clean and a good size for new york and was value for money when you see how much some hotels charge in manhattan.the bathroom had a wash basin,bath and shower and the towels where changed daily as well as the beds made and the room kept clean. our room had a fridge microwave tv,and ironing board and iron.the hotel has a no smoking policy as well which is a nice touch.this hotel is a hidden gem because it is not on times square but is not far away.the 96th subway station is a minutes walk from the hotel which takes you straight into times square and a weeks pass to travel anywhere on the subway is $24. a bargain.we used it all the time to get to all the major places to visit.come out of 34th station and you are accross the road from macys.the hotel does not have a restaurant but plenty to pick from in the area.we bought coffee and bagels fom dunkin donuts accross the road .the hotel has a lift and computer facilities.the only slight fault was the reception staff who where very helpful with any information you require told us a taxi to jfk was $60 when we only paid $45 coming in so do what we did and wave down a yellow cab when you are ready to go and the cost is the same.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2006

I was attending a conference on the upper west side and found this hotel. It worked out great. We had a Jr Suite with two queen beds. The room was very clean, and with the extra space of the Jr Suite three of us in the room never felt crowded. The bathroom was very clean and newly remodeled. It was great being right on the Broadway subway line. We found several restaurants near by and enjoyed discovering a new part of New York.

I recommend this hotel for a nice mid range place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PurpleTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

Great location - you pay for what you get.

Basic rooms, basic hotel - cheap & cheerful with lovely staff.

Would stay again for a short city break.

Great places to eat next door too for brunch.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelica_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 470 in New York City
1,593 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#436 of 470 in New York City
2,027 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#299 of 470 in New York City
1,363 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $100 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing