We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location & unusually affordable for UWS”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #302 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Denver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent location & unusually affordable for UWS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

A small-ish but clean and comfortable room, an excellent location on the upper west side, as other reviewers have noted, the heating is aggressive and it was necessary to crack a window. I was surprised to find it had only a shower and no tub, but that was not a major concern for this brief stay. Not a luxury experience, but a good price and a fully acceptable accommodation. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Due to the excessive heating, might be wise to ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbyhilldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. It has been so crazy weather wise that we have been trying to make every guest happy and comfortable. The nights have been literally freezing and the days warming a bit but if you ever have heat concerns, our front desk is here to help 24 hours a day!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    737
    250
    67
    48
See reviews for
384
446
119
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curepipe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

i stayed at the hotel end of December 2013 for three days.Affordable price.Small but clean and minutes away from Times square, We enjoyed our stay.I hope my next visit to the US will be to Newton. Cheers from Mauritius

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imranenozeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Newton for 7 nights. Three of us in a room.

Pros:
1. Spacious room, especially for New York City. (We had 2 full beds.)
2. Very clean.
3. Nice bathroom.
4. Location can't be beat. Close to subway and is a quick trip on the 1 train to Times Square or uptown.
5. Great neighborhood. Right next door to Duane Reade (Walgreens), great restaurants all around. The Manhattan Diner next door has excellent food and a great staff. Be sure to go there for breakfast.
6. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

Cons:
1. No control of heat in the room. We slept with our window open the entire stay - during January.
2. I found the mattress to be thin and hard, as did my family.
3. Only 1 elevator, and it's slow. No big deal if you are on the lower floors but a pain if you are on the upper floors and in a hurry.
4. Wifi comes at a cost, which in general I am okay with - however it is per *device*, not per room as in most hotels.

Overall I was extremely pleased with the Hotel Newton. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank youngish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Good hotel.convenient position. Staff very helpful. Only qualm room can get very warm even without the heating being on. I think that there should be the option to re-use the towels as is common in many hotels nowadays and we did notice that the soap was taken away when there was still plenty of use left. This is wasteful and likely cost the hotel unnecessary money !!!

Room Tip: Chose a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
You speak and we listen! We just implemented a go green policy for towels and linens! When you return you will see! Thank you again!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed here several years ago and decided to return with my two grand-daughters. Hotel Newton remains an excellent choice if you don't want to pay a ridiculously high price for a room in NYC! We had a good-sized room with two double beds, a mini-fridge, micro-wave and coffee-maker. We had been upgraded, and I think we were in the hand-capped accessible room, as there was no tub and our shower was flush with the floor. The girls thought this was "cool" and the whole bathroom was very roomy. The hotel is right on the subway line (1,2 & 3) and near several restaurants and food places...the place next door will deliver.

The ONLY reason I have not given five stars is because you have to pay extra for internet, even in the lobby. You can go next door to the deli or across the street to Starbucks, but when you just want to check your flight time at midnight, it is decidedly inconvenient. It would be nice to be able to access the internet for a short time - maybe each guest could be given a complimentary hour or something.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SavvyFaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile


This hotel was perfect for us, a couple travelling on a budget. The location cannot be beat, you are literally seconds from the subway to Times Square and downtown. The room was clean and well looked after and In a particularly cold few days the heating was perfect!
We didn't find the room small at all, in fact it was a great size for NYC and the price was great.
The only down side was that we had trouble with our internet, we could access it but only in a particular area of our room(the doorway). However, the staff at the hotel, particularly Landry and Charles were extremely helpful and addressed our concerns quickly.
There is also a great diner next door with fantastic food who do room service to the hotel. This is a perfect hotel for young travelling couples.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank NarelleBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am so happy that the stay was a pleasant one!! I hope that our staff adjusted the charge of wifi if there were any issues with the functionality. Please contact me if that is not the case. We look forward to your return to us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. The service was average. The room was small but clean. Most of the service was on a self-service basis, with almost everything being located on 2nd floor: soda dispenser, public telephone booth. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but there are nice eating places next to the hotel. The hotel has a fridge and microwave and a coffee machine. It is located just next to the subway station on 96th Street along Broadway. There was only one lift and it looked, well, old. You have to pay for internet. The room had no view and the AC was not very operational. It was worth the money given it is in Manhattan!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moses M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. All in general seemed like a success. In the future, PLEASE immediately let us know if you are having A/C issues. We always want you to be comfortable with us and we can, within minutes either repair or replace the a/c. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#424 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#385 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#397 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing