We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #324 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. The service was average. The room was small but clean. Most of the service was on a self-service basis, with almost everything being located on 2nd floor: soda dispenser, public telephone booth. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but there are nice eating places next to the hotel. The hotel has a fridge and microwave and a coffee machine. It is located just next to the subway station on 96th Street along Broadway. There was only one lift and it looked, well, old. You have to pay for internet. The room had no view and the AC was not very operational. It was worth the money given it is in Manhattan!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moses M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your review of our property. All in general seemed like a success. In the future, PLEASE immediately let us know if you are having A/C issues. We always want you to be comfortable with us and we can, within minutes either repair or replace the a/c. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our Wedding Anniversary and over New Year and for us it was the perfect choice. We were looking for somewhere near the subway, clean and a reasonable price as we would rather have the money in our pocket to spend while we were there. This hotel met all our requirements. We were only in the room to sleep and we were out by 8am every day. The beds were comfortable, yes the room was warm but we didn't find it too warm, personally I would rather be coming back to a warm room than a cold one!! Our bathroom was clean and the shower was great. We would definately recommend this hotel to others and if we were coming back to New York would stay here without a second thought.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday_girl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

You certainly get what you pay for with the Hotel Newton – and we didn’t pay much at all! At first glance this was the perfect choice for our five day trip to New York over the New Year period, everything else was ridiculously overpriced as you’d expect for this time of year. On paper the Hotel Newton seemed like a real bargain, however we came away wishing we’d paid more and stayed somewhere nicer.

I’d paid for the hotel in full months before checking in and also phoned a couple of weeks in advance to make sure of this, which they confirmed. When we arrived they immediately took my credit card and said that most people have paid for the first night in advance and then settle the balance on arrival and that they were going to take payment for four nights right then and there. It was only after a lengthy debate where I made them check their records that they realised that I had actually paid – if I hadn’t queried this they would’ve charged my card a second time! Not cool…

After checking in we went to our room. It took us about 10 minutes to call the lift which seriously needs replacing as it takes forever to crawl up and down the 9 floors, stopping everywhere but the floor you actually want. The room we booked was a ‘deluxe double’ with quad occupancy (since there were 3 of us), but the reality was two small double beds occupying a room so small there was barely enough room to walk around the beds. The bathroom was equally as minute with a bath so shallow it would be akin to sitting in a puddle and a cracked sink. The décor was tired and dated (not that décor matters so much) and the carpet was ripped and frayed in the middle of the room. Bedclothes don’t include a duvet, just a sheet and a thin fleece. Tea and coffee facilities leave a lot to be desired – a small kettle would be a very welcome addition and wouldn’t cost much.

My main issue was the total lack of any heat control in the room and I didn’t have one decent night’s sleep during my whole stay for this reason. With the windows closed the room is unbearably hot and it is impossible to regulate the heat yourself, especially since the radiator was off, we couldn’t work out where the heat was coming from. In a bid to cool the room down we tried to sleep with the windows open but due to the extremely cold nights (minus 2 to minus 6 degrees centigrade most nights) and the thin bed sheets we were provided with, we woke up freezing cold. My suggestion would be to either fix the air conditioning unit or to provide thicker duvets – I can forgive most things, but lack of sleep whilst on a very busy holiday is not one of them.

The good points of the Hotel Newton are as follows; location out of town far enough to be quieter and less touristy but close enough to public transport links (96th Street Subway station right outside) to get you to all the hot spots within minutes. Excellent maid service. Fridge in your room which is handy for milk, snacks and booze since the hotel doesn’t have a bar. Cheaply priced for budget travel leaving you with extra spending money.

Sorry Hotel Newton but I’d recommend people to look beyond price when selecting a New York hotel and spend a little bit more for better quality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank james_chairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

thank you for your review of our property. I wish to apologize if the stay was not entirely pleasant. I wanted to address certain issues of the stay as I think that it is extremely important that hotels are able to give feedback while addressing problems that we may have. When you do arrive, regardless of whether it is prepaid, we do have to take a credit for incidentals however they should have clearly seen that it was prepaid and no debates should have been necessary. We are normally looked at as a hotel with larger rooms because so I am thoroughly surprised by the space comment. Our bathtubs are normal size and we have been completely renovated and refurbished within the last 3 years. I would ask you to contact me as I would like to immediately look into the carpet issue and sink. We have no complaints about this and do daily spot checks of this. Regarding the cold, if you needed any extra blankets, we would immediately send them as I don't believe any guest should be uncomfortable when sleeping. Our goal is to make you as comfortable as you would be at home. All rooms come with Duvets. I completely agree with you that lack of sleep is not acceptable while at a hotel and I wish we would have known as we could have changed the room if the current room was not acceptable.There are many issues here but issues in my opinion that could have been rectified if they were known. I advise all hotel guests to utilize the front desk as we are there to make sure you are comfortable however, if we don't know of issues and aren't given the chance, you walk away unsatisfied and that is not the point of any hotel. I would appreciate the chance to speak with you to better the experience for future guests.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Hotel Newton couldn't have been a better choice for our Christmas shopping trip to New York.
We loved our room (815). It was clean and very comfortable and kept that way throughout our five night stay by the wonderful housekeeping staff. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. There was no view to speak of from the windows but who cares? We used the room to shower and sleep not stand at the window. My only teeny tiny niggle was the elevator which broke down a couple of times. Walking up eight flights of stairs with very sore legs from all the walking and a bad back wasn't much fun but I'm still alive so what doesn't kill you makes you stronger is what I say.
Fantastic location in Upper West Side. We felt so safe there even very early morning and very late night when we used to sit outside the 96th Street Subway station drinking our Starbucks.
Thank you Hotel Newton.....it was fab and we will be back.

Room Tip: We loved room 815 which was a double with en suite bath/shower. Plenty of storage for our clothes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good size room, right at the 96th st. subway station makes this a great spot for exploring uptown or downtown, Lg lockers to store stuff for you late departure for just $5 . friendly staff -nice shower - the hotel has everything you need and the staff were very helpful. A good value for NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank txmdcava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review and we look forward to your return to us soon!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very convenient to all points of NYC via subway, in a safe neighborhood featuring interesting restaurants. The room itself was clean and comfortable. Some furnishings a little dated, but for the price, you will not do any better! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHSDteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Well situated,easy access from any kind of transportation, small but clean rooms;
What else would you like to have for a decent price in Manhattan?
You can get what you need either on Broadway, Columbus or Amsterdam just a block away.
This part of upper broadway has upgrade so much in the last 10 years.

Room Tip: With no view, you will sleep in quietness with the rooms on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLAUDEMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 473 in New York City
658 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#418 of 473 in New York City
562 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 473 in New York City
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,070 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 473 in New York City
1,444 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#399 of 473 in New York City
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $65 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing