We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean, good value”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #314 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, good value”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very convenient to all points of NYC via subway, in a safe neighborhood featuring interesting restaurants. The room itself was clean and comfortable. Some furnishings a little dated, but for the price, you will not do any better! We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHSDteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    743
    259
    70
    49
See reviews for
390
455
120
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Well situated,easy access from any kind of transportation, small but clean rooms;
What else would you like to have for a decent price in Manhattan?
You can get what you need either on Broadway, Columbus or Amsterdam just a block away.
This part of upper broadway has upgrade so much in the last 10 years.

Room Tip: With no view, you will sleep in quietness with the rooms on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLAUDEMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

It is the fifth year we stay at this hotel.
The welcome and the support of all the stuff and especially at the reception desk is more than great.
We would like especially to thank Mr.Charles for his support and being so helpful and kind.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hezi_bendov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Location was unbeatable. Room was clean and comfortable. There were heaps of drawers and a closet that you could walk into in our room so that you could put things away. Price was good.
We enjoyed two nights at the Hotel Newton as a family of 4. It was clean, comfortable and well located. We had a room with a window to the street on the 6th floor and were surprised that there was no noise from the street at all. The location was perfect with some great places to eat nearby, a fruit shop (breakfast taken care of) across the road on the next block and best of all only a few steps away from the entrance to 96th street Subway station. The staff were helpful with maps on arrival and with storing our luggage on the last day.
Definitely ticked all the boxes for us and helped us to LOVE New York!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slugette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I went to this hotel with my wife and the hotel, staff, location and price is amazing.
The hotel is of a few steps from Starbucks (with free internet), the 96th subway station, 24hrs drugstores and restaurants etc
The only point that is not favorable is the cost of internet, in my opinion, it should be free for all guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodrigocpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in December. The price was very reasonable but the were left disappointed in other aspects.

Firstly, after paying nearly $200 a night, I feel wifi should be included in the price, also, if you pay for wifi at 11am, you only get one hour as it resets at midday so you need to pay again.

Secondly, this is not a cheap hotel. The room had not toilet and we needed to share a bathroom with other guests.

The most worrying factor was the air conditioning. The rooms are so small that they really heat up, but the air con sounds like a jumbo jet taking off. So the options are, try to sleep in a sauna or try to sleep next to a busy airport runway!

This affected our sleep and thus we were not in the best form sight seeing.
Please keep this in mind. Go somewhere else and enjoy your trip.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am so sorry if the stay was not as expected. We are a property that ranges about $50 to $100 below the city rates at most times. You had come in at the busiest time of year. The city rate was an average of $352 or so. Our rooms with shared bath were at $200 and the rooms with private at $250 to $274, still about $100 below the average rate of the city. If you ever have issues with the AC, please let us know as we can change them immediately. We do purchase quiet ac units but of course, there is the normal ac sound to them. If you are willing to give the Hotel Newton a second chance, please feel free to contact me personally.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed at the Newton over Thanksgiving 2013. I booked a shared bathroom not knowing that's what I had done. I was a little concerned about this, but here are my impressions

First time coming in I notice that the staff is very friendly. You couldn't ask for a better customer service experience. Hats off to the front staff and help.

The elevator was the slowest I had ever seen. Not because of people being on it, but because it moved at a slow pace. It ended up not being too big of a deal, we got used to coming down the stairs and just waiting to go up.

My first impression of the room was small....very small....smallest I had ever seen to have a full bed. But the room was very clean and homely. I was a little turned off at first, but ended up loving the little space when the trip was over.

The bathroom was shared in the hall. This turned me off at first as I assumed it was attached to the room. It was not. I did however get used to this as it was close and it was very clean and newly updated with tile from floor to ceiling. We never once came into contact with the other user of the bathroom. Other then the occasional towel seen on the floor, you would never know anyone else was using it. I would book a shared here again and use the $200 to go see a show (like we did).

There was no view. I was also turned off to this at first, but realized we were out from 7am to 10pm so who cares. We just kept the blinds down.

There is a small table, a decent size desk and chair, a closet that was a good size, a microwave, and a fairly large fridge. The floor and sheets were very clean.

The only bad I can say and I had to knock off a star for this, the bed was NOT comfortable. It felt like it was due to be replaced 10 years ago. All in all it was a good value for the money and we had a great time, I would just suggest starting to replace the beds if that isn't already underway.

Last, the restaurant next door had some great food, ended up there twice for breakfast and dinner. There is a 24 hour drug store next door...good for supplies. And the subway was right outside the door, which was fantastic. A couple blocks down from Central Park as well.

Room Tip: Go for the biggest bed you can get if you are with someone else. Shared bathrooms aren't as bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts about your recent stay. The most important part is the staff and it sets us apart from all other hotels. We don't believe in the cookie cutter experience of checking in and out. We allow our staff to go the extra mile with our guests. Our staff cares about how your time in New York has been and clearly from the reviews, it shows. Good news is that in 2014, we are looking at putting a new elevator in! We hope to see you soon.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 468 in New York City
1,282 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 468 in New York City
627 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#429 of 468 in New York City
1,921 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 468 in New York City
1,530 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#391 of 468 in New York City
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing