We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #297 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed her for three nights. The room was small but typical for NYC. Even though small it was quite nice. Comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom was nicely remodeled. Great hot water pressure. Great location. Next to Manhattan Diner (great breakfast), Starbucks , drug store, and subway. I loved the neighborhood feel versus Times Square. The location was two blocks from my brother's studio apartment. We would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gayke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    713
    238
    67
    46
See reviews for
368
436
117
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
falls church, va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located 1/2 block from the 95th St. exit of the 96th St. subway station. My room was very tiny and definitely would not have worked for two people. But it suited my needs pretty well: pleasant decor, comfortable bed, just room enough to sit at the decent-sized desk, very fast wi-fi that was easy to connect to, lots of good lighting, an actual closet where I could stow my suitcase, a nice bathroom that's about normal size for a New York hotel, and very quiet. Front desk service was efficient and correct but not friendly. Getting to the desk to check out was a bit of a problem because there's only one small elevator that was being used by the cleaning service as well as the guests. If you don't want to schlep your baggage down the stairs, be prepared for a long wait. There's a diner next door that I heard is good for breakfast and a Starbucks across the street. For supper I went around the corner to Acqua, an Italian restaurant on 95th & Amsterdam. I had a $20 branzino with roasted vegetables that was quite tasty and a chocolate torte that was fantastic. I was put up at the hotel by Columbia so can't speak to the value, but if I need to stay in that area again, I will definitely consider booking at the Newton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel was OK - clean and the staff were helpful. As a solo traveler, the hotel puts you into the smallest and least desirable room. My room was the size of a shoe box and the one window was two feet away from the exhaust fan of the restaurant next door. I asked to have another room but they couldn't accommodate me. I was only staying for 3 nights so I didn't look for another hotel and after all what does one expect for $220.00 in NYC. ?????

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank argosyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Fot hte price that we pay by Agoda, all the things are excellent,. Very clean and friendly. When you do the reservation you need to be alert if your bedroom is with share bathroom. Our experience it not bad about the bathroom (we have a share bathroom), all the time it is clean. You have a lot of restaurants and places to go, in excellent localization, the subway it at one minute, you are in the middle of NYC!!! We arrive at hotel at 12, and the check it its suppose to be at 3pm, but they bring the room early! The personal was friendly too.

Room Tip: Check if your bathroom is a share bathroom, anyway it always its clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taina36asl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I recently spent 3 days at the Newton Hotel. It was my 3rd visit. I love the area (not touristy) with close access to subway/buses, great little restaurants with reasonable prices and excellent grocery stores with good prepared food.......and Columbia University. The rooms are clean and adequate and each has a small refrigerator and microwave. It is a basic hotel, but comfortable. I would say more 2 stars than 3. The entrance could be more inviting, but the staff is welcoming and helpful. Mostly, the hotel is an affordable option for staying in Manhattan.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to many stays to come!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

So you have only one temperamental lift, the water takes awhile to heat up and the room smells slightly musty but in a nice sort of way. But that's the old world charm this hotel comes with. Front rooms are a little noisy so if you're a light sleeper ask for a room off the street. The staff are cheerful and try hard to please. There is a subway just a few yards away and numerous mini markets. An excellent full American breakfast for under $10 is served next door. The Thai restaurant two doors down and the Indian restaurant around the corner have terrific food and cheap too. The location has a real neighborhood feel but you are only a short stroll to Central Park or a quick subway ride to Downtown. Overall this hotel is excellent value in terms of location and features.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldinabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquiraz, CE
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Since the hotel is in an old renovated building, it has old fashioned radiators for heat, and individual AC units in the windows. So you don't get to control the heat at all! The management decides when to turn it on or off! We staid in early November, and the temperature was ok, but I wonder how it would be when it gets real cold outside... I was told that all rooms have queen size beds. Ours, a superior, had 2. They pretty much filled the whole room. But the 2nd bed gave us room to lay our suitcases. Breakfast is not included, but there is the Manhattan Dinner next door and plenty of other places near by. They let us check in early, unlike other Manhattan hotels. The internet costs $4.95 a day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cescolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I am pleased that overall your stay was a success! Let me explain quickly regarding the heat as it is a valid point. We don't actually control when the thermostat operates but in fact, the weather temperature does. When the temperature goes below a certain level regulated by the state, it automatically comes on so that we don't have to control it on a daily basis. I hope this answers your concerns and we surely look forward to your next stay with us.
Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#417 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
#377 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#386 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#387 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#225 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing