We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorable Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Newton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Newton
Ranked #302 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Favorable Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We found that the rooms, though small, were nicely decorated.
The bathroom was particularly well designed and decorated. In an effort to get our boarding passes printed for the return trip, we found that the front desk personnel were a bit lethargic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and I totally agree as the renovations of the bathrooms came out gorgeous! I am sorry if the front desk were not as receptive about the printing of boarding passes. We do have a business center in the lobby for this. We try not to print passes at the front desk as most persons need this done and we cannot do it for all because of timing. We hope you understand and look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    731
    244
    67
    48
See reviews for
379
444
119
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Out first visit to NYC and wanted somewhere central, safe and not too pricey for our 8 nights. We're very glad we picked Hotel Newton. Being a little further out from Times Square meant it was quiet at night, (particularly with a room away from the main street). Cannot complain about noisy old A/C for the price. Room was comfy, with ensuite, and with fridge/microwave we could self-cater occasionally. With subway train station immediately accross the road and bus stops around the corner we very quickly got around and about to sightseeing and all the key spots. A supermarket only a couple of minutes walk away is open 24/7. The Diner next door was really good for breakfasts or dinners. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. All in all we had a good stay, would readily return and confidently recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and we will hold you to your promise of returning to us!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotels in New York are rediculously expensive, especially near Times Square. After a lot of research we found this hotel to be less than A$200 which is extremely hard to find. It's located on the Upper West Side between 94 & 95th st on Broadway. We ended up booking a junior suite which has a supposed kitchenette but when we arrived had a bar fridge and a microwave. There was no plates or cutlery either and were told to go to the takeaway store next door and ask for some which was no problem. I ended up going to Walmart and spending a few bucks on a picnic set, not a huge deal really. The room was comfortable, spacious and clean. The was not a lot of noise from outside as this area is a lot quieter and the neighbourhood was reasonable. The subway station was only across the road, metres away for a short trip to Times Square etc. A short bus ride or walk to central park, medical centres and convenience stores close. All in all good value for money and from what we heard from other people it's a far better option than near Times Square, we will be back again!

Room Tip: Away from the main road, Broadway but will be a lot quieter than other locations anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trav o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My first stay at this hotel and it will not be my last. Very clean, very comfortable, and the nicest staff of any hotel I have stayed at in NYC. It is my hotel of choice now whenever I visit my daughter who lives in NYC. The entire staff was kind, considerate, and greeted me with a smile. The location can not be beat. The Upper West Side is the best part of Manhattan. It is close to two great parks, including the north end of Central Park, and the sidewalk restaurants are the best. The French Roast is absolutely fantastic!!! And open 24 hours just to prove true the adage that this city never sleeps. The Metro Diner at 100th and Broadway offers a great breakfast--2 eggs, bacon or sausage, potatoes, toast and coffee for $7.95!!! This in Manhattan!!!! I adore Broadway plays, and the 2 and the 3 express subway stop at 96th St. is half a block away from this hotel. The express stops at 72nd St. and then 42nd St. It literally takes 10 minutes to get down to the theatre district! It is so nice to stay in a relatively quiet neighborhood away from the touristy zoo at Times Square. Yes, this hotel is spartan, but it is clean, very comfortable, with a most accomodating staff. The price makes it a can't be beat Manhattan hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norfolkteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a relatively inexpensive hotel right at 94th street, close to the 1,2, 3 subway express stop. It is clean, which is our first criterion. Rooms are tiny but adequate. Air conditioner old and noisy. Single elevator excruciatingly slow. We paid $200 for a double bed and private bathroom. The lower rate has a clean single bath at the end of the corridor ($175). We got this because it is close to the NYC Triathlon starting point and Riverside Park. Plenty of places to eat, especially a terrific diner next door for breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzyz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This low-key hotel is an ideal choice for anyone visiting the Upper West Side. It is just steps from the 96th street subway station. There are 3 Starbucks in easy walking distance, along with several diners and bakeries. There is a 24-hour drug store a few steps away. The hotel itself is clean, rooms are small without being claustraphobic, and the staff is pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: As the only elevator is a bit slow, lower-floor rooms offer the opportunity to walk stairs for quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teacher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I visit NYC 2-3 times per year and I usually stay here. There are several advantages to staying at this property. It is on the upper west side so being mainly residential it is more quiet than midtown locations. It is also cheaper for the same reason. The hotel is next to the 96th street station which is an express stop. It makes getting around a breeze. The biggest advantage to this location for me again is that it is a residential area so for those of us who bring our vehicle to NYC, parking on the street is usually very doable and will save you a ton over parking in a lot. There are a lot of restaurants and small shops in the area that cater mostly to local people so they aren't touristy. Access to Central Park is excellent as well. Just a few blocks away.

The hotel is generally quiet, the rooms are clean and well equipped however they are very small. The only reason I didn't give full marks to this property is the service which can be pretty spotty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSSUCHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#385 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#424 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing