We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good option.”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #314 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very good option.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I visit NYC 2-3 times per year and I usually stay here. There are several advantages to staying at this property. It is on the upper west side so being mainly residential it is more quiet than midtown locations. It is also cheaper for the same reason. The hotel is next to the 96th street station which is an express stop. It makes getting around a breeze. The biggest advantage to this location for me again is that it is a residential area so for those of us who bring our vehicle to NYC, parking on the street is usually very doable and will save you a ton over parking in a lot. There are a lot of restaurants and small shops in the area that cater mostly to local people so they aren't touristy. Access to Central Park is excellent as well. Just a few blocks away.

The hotel is generally quiet, the rooms are clean and well equipped however they are very small. The only reason I didn't give full marks to this property is the service which can be pretty spotty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSSUCHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    754
    265
    71
    50
See reviews for
400
462
122
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having arrived at the Hotel Newton after a long transatlantic flight, I was please to find both friendly desk staff and a clean, well-appointed room. Very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, fridge, coffee maker, microwave and a good tv were all welcome bonuses during my two-night stay.

The location is also great - it's a half a block stumble to the 96th St subway station on the 1/2/3 line, and is a stop for the express 1 train for those wanting to cut out a few minutes on their journey to lower Manhattan. Also a decent location for travelling to the Yankees games as there are a few different combinations of lines/transfers to take. Plenty of restaurants and convenience stores nearby too.

The only thing which stops the hotel getting 5* was the slightly noisy A/C, so when it came to sleeping time the A/C had to go off and the windows open to still have a habitable room.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcwalker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, co down
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Hotel Newton during my trip to New York in June 2013.
It was very nice hotel with a fridge and microwave which was handy. It was clean and pretty spacious. It also had a small area with a sofa in as well. This area was very handy as we have to kids and they were able to go to sleep while we sat in this area.

The only down-side was our room was right outside two sets of double doors. This did keep us awake, as they kept banging when people were walking through. After the first night, my husband ended up wedging one of the doors open, and this seemed to work.

The hotel reception staff were excellent at providing direcitons for us and booking a taxi for us to travel back to JFK. The Hotel was very near to Central Park and this was handy as well. It was also right beside the subway. The ice-cream shop next door- Tasti D lite was also very nice. The ice-cream was delicious there.

Room Tip: I recommend the room with the two double beds, fridge microwave and small sofa area. We had our own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Newton hotel during a long trip in the US (August 2009). I choose it since both the price and the reviews were tempting: never regretted the choice.
Nice position (charming upper west side), clean and good looking rooms.
Maybe not a romantic or glamourous hotel...but if you need a comfortable place to stay in New York, I reccommend the Newton..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefania N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to your arrival to us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North Coast, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good location of hotel as it is opposite the subway (express stop), so you are only a short trip away from Times Square, Central park etc. Reception is not warm or welcoming.
The room was spacious but old and dark. 2 small windows look over an alleyway probably only a metre wide. Bathroom had been renovated in the past few years but is tiny (and we are not big people!) You nearly have to sit on the toilet to shut the door or stand in the bathtub!
Has a bar fridge and microwave BUT NO KETTLE. You cannot even request a kettle, so no tea making at this hotel. That is a first worldwide for us. They have an ice machine near the lift.
You have to pay $5 a day for WiFi which in this day and age is a cheap shot, but it worked well. The hotel is overpriced for the standard of the rooms. They would possibly raise their approval rating if the linen was replaced. The sheets were so thin you could see through them on the bed. Likewise the towels were see-through. The air-con was noisy and leaked when it rained, (which we reported). We didn't report the plumbing noises which woke us whenever someone nearby flushed a toilet or had a shower....no point, they can't fix old plumbing without a major renovation (and as I said above the bathroom had recently been done.) So we slept with earplugs in which helped.
There was no outside street noise or inter-room noise apart from the plumbing.
This hotel would be ok for an overnight stay, but 2 nights or more is too many.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor so you don't have to wait ages for the lift (stairs are right beside lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4evaLuv-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I was a bit confused by some points and wanted to bring them up in this public forum. You had mentioned that there was no kettle in the room but every room in the Hotel Newton comes equipped with a coffeemaker which is pretty standard here in the States. You can heat water through the coffeemaker. A tea kettle is a bit rare in most hotels. You could also use the microwave for heating of water if needed. We have one ice machine by the lift on the second floor in an enclosed space so that the nice isn't overbearing as many persons do not like to be near ice machines but every hotel needs them. Regarding the towels, we do not carry towels that are see through in any way and never have. We had one comment about towels and their thin quality 5 months ago and completely changed our towel company as we value our guests and want them to be honest with us. I will immediately look into our sheets to see if there is room for improvement on that front. I have also looked into the leaky aircon and see no complaints the entire month of June about this. If there were ANY issue with the aircon, we would have immediately, regardless of the hour, changed it for a brand new one. We value our customer comments, and as I have said before, our customers have given us great tips in the past to make our property better for future guests. However this review is not indicative of the Hotel Newton and actually seems like it is for an entirely different property. I wish you well in your travels and am sorry if your stay with us was not a success.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Revenue and Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Hotel is very conveniently situated near the subway . That's the biggest plus point . We were returned from the Cruise at 11pm but we had no problem as the metro was close by. The rooms are not very big . It has a micro-wave and Fridge. Very clean . The only minus point was that the heating was very high and we could not adjust it despite the directions given ,so we put on the AC to counter the heat. Central Park is very close . There are a lot of eating joints nearby.

Room Tip: Do not take a room with a shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakati_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. In the future, if heating is ever a problem, please call our staff and let them handle it. We believe that when you stay with us, you should be completely comfortable as you are in your own home. We hope to see you soon.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My mum stayed in this hotel with her friend during the disaster snowstorm in New York when all the planes were cancelled.

She was suppose to arrive on Friday, but her plane was cancelled and changed for Sunday, since she has already booked everything. I had to help her call the hotel and ask for consideration. Newton hotel showed high level of service, understood that it wasn't her fault for not arriving on Friday and gave her permission to arrive later, but we had to call Expedia and change the existing booking. Expedia changed my booking, called back hotel to ask for permission to do that and they even returned me money for one night I was missing! That was a nice surprise!

Hotel was old, but very clean. Our booking was with shared bathroom, but then we have arrived we asked for upgrade. We had to pay around 500$ to do that, but our room was perfect with bathroom, all the facilities, tea/coffee maker, real fridge, microwave. Everything was so clean! Internet is not free unfortunately, we had to pay 5$ a day to use it.

Location is in a close proximity to central park, many retail clothing stores and restaurants close by, very close to subway.

Room Tip: Please don't chose room with shared bath since bathroom is very small and just one room for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maybetomorrowwecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and am so pleased that all was a success at such a trying time! We look forward to your return to us!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
1,293 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 467 in New York City
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,544 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 467 in New York City
1,939 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#392 of 467 in New York City
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing