We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #298 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Situated in Upper West Side, this hotel has restaurants and shops on the doorstep, is only a few blocks from |Central Park and is very near a subway station. The hotel has storage boxes off reception and a luggage store, The staff were very helpful. Some of the rooms are small but there is so much to do in NY that this isn't too much of a problem. We had breakfast every day at the excellent City Diner which is left down Broadway for a few blocks and across the road on a corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrogateblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I am happy your stay was a pleasant one and I agree, City Diner is a great place to eat! We will see you soon

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    713
    238
    67
    46
See reviews for
368
436
117
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband, sister, mom and I stayed here for long weekend and family celebration. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel at home, making every detail of the weekend easy and efficient. I wish I knew the name of the desk staffer (he seemed to be there 24 hours a day) as he was patient, friendly and helpful. Prices are reasonable for NYC. The rooms are basic, on the small side, simply furnished but clean and comfortable. It's a great location, easy to grab a taxi or jump on the subway to anywhere. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private bath. Apparently some rooms share baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slhMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I really feel our staff sets us apart from most hotels and that is the reason we maintain a high customer service rating. We look forward to your next stay with us

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here at the end of January with a friend on our visit to New York. Staff were very helpful as we were both on Staff (Standby) tickets and didn't arrive at the pre-booked time. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite on checkin which was perfect, plently of amenities in the room; coffee maker, fridge etc. View from our room however was of a backstreet, didn't bother us though as we were leaving early and arriving late. Only problem we had was the light switches seemed to charge us statically to the point the duvet was sparking we we got into bed. Had to resort to using magazines or gloves to switch lights on/off! All part of the fun though and had some great fun shocking each other! Staff were very knowledgeable about the attractions and when we checked out, about the cheapest way and easiest way to get to New Jersey with luggage (Cab then PATH train). Location was also great, across the road from 96th Street Station. Upper West Side is a great area, only 20 minutes of the Subway from Midtown/Times Square area and didn't once feel unsafe whilst walking around. As it's not in the centre of the tourist area's the prices are very reasonable and much cheaper than anything else we looked at. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SammieSnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am going to look into that static problem. I have never had it but I know with carpeting, it is sometimes an issue. We look forward to your next stay with us

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We started staying at the Hotel Newton when our daughter was a freshman at Columbia. We spend a little extra money and get a room with 2 queen beds. It worked out well if our daughter also wanted to sleep there. It is very convienent to the school and the subway stop at 96th street is on the corner, a half a block down. Mr. Morales, the hotel manager, has been there as long as we've been staying there and he is wonderful. So is Charles, who has also been there for years. We are not your typical Columbia parents, meaning we don't have a ton of disposible income, but if you look for times of the year when the prices are lower, you can't beat the Hotel Newton in price, size of room, and even though it's in the Upper West Side, convienience. We take the number 2 or 3, express train, and we are anywhere we want to go in 15 minutes. The neighborhood is way less crowded than midtown and there is a Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Gotham Wine Shop and a Duanne Read pharmacy, that has anything you need, all within a block away.The less expensive times of the year are as follows: January(after New Years Eve), February, March, July and August, but not in late August when the college kids are coming back, early October(not during parent weekend), and early November(except when NYC Marathon takes place). Even during times when things are going on at the school, it's still cheaper than any nice hotel in midtown or downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 2 queen beds and with windows that face Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we have so many Columbia parents that stay with us over the 4 years that their sons and daughters are in school. They really become part of our extended family! It is a sad day for us when the students finally graduate as it usually marks the end of their visits with us. We hope that you remember us when in New York!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in March to visit Columbia, Barnard, and other NYC colleges. Hotel Newton staff are very helpful; rooms are basic but quite comfortable, and the location really can't be beat. Away from the hubbub but very convenient to many attractions via subway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perfect hotel for exploring new York, subway across road for getting all over Manhattan but lovely walk to midtown through central park, staff great and rooms perfect, also some nice restaurants nearby

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I were very happy with the hotel and the friendly and helpful customer service we received. The Hotel Newton will be our first choice when we visit the city again. We've stayed at Lucerne, Millburn, and other hotels in Manhattan; however, the service and nicely remodeled room made the difference. The front desk staff, doormen, housekeeping staff, and everyone else in the hotel impressed us (especially after my young daughter got food poisoning after eating out and got sick -- they were compassionate and genuinely helpful). The Manhattan Diner next door has a great menu and is affordable; also, you can order takeout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyTravelers1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#417 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
#376 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#387 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#228 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing