We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heating is on all night and day”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #317 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The heating is on all night and day”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The area is great and the cleaning is exellent. We had a small room, only possible to open the little window a bit - and the heating in the room was very high, and not possible to turn off. We asked every day if it was possible to get another room, but were told that it was the same in all rooms, as it is the hot water running through the pipes inside the rooms. A pity, as it otherwise would have been a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PiaPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    757
    267
    73
    50
See reviews for
402
468
122
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pleasant neighbourhood. Only a short walk to Central Park. Great location opposite a subway station which made for easy access to downtown New York. Rooms were small but functional and nicely furnished. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTs_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Upper West Side is a cool place, some quiet and distant from Middletown and Lower Manhattan, perfect to stay, Newton Hotel is a great hotel, excellent benefit, near of 96st Station. Rooms are nice, comfortable, quiet and clean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I am a regular visitor to NYC and pretty much already stay in midtown Manhattan. On my recent visit I decided to mix it up and stay in the Upper West side for a few days at the end of the visit. I selected this hotel due to good reviews and it was well priced. From the minute I walked to the front door and service was friendly and I was deleted to get an early checkin at around 10am. The hotel is a short walk to my favourite park in the world, Central Park and I have been been that deep up into the Park previously which was great. The subway stop is just across the road, their is a late night diner next door. The room was clean and bed comfortable. This hotel ticks all the boxes I look for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussiePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here because of the positive reviews posted here. Our visit was for two nights. When we pulled up to the front of the hotel, the doorman was waiting outside and cheerfully greeted us. He assisted us with our luggage, and since our room wasn't ready, he stored our luggage while we went sightseeing. Very convenient location, right next to Tasti-d-lite, the Manhattan Diner, and the express subway stop, and bus stop. We stayed in a junior suite, with two queen beds, a sitting area, two tvs, a kitchenette, a full sized bathroom with a shower. It was well worth the extra money. Some rooms share a bathroom, so be sure to ask. Since there were four people in our party, we got a rollaway cot where my teenage daughter slept comfortably. This was an additional cost. Our room on the 8th floor was very quiet, and we could not hear any outside or inside noise at all. No breakfast, but there is a Manhattan Diner two doors down. But we brought our own breakfast. Wifi isn't free, so we didn't bother, but my daughter managed to get her "fix" at the museum, where they offered free wifi. Convenient to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the American Natural History Museum.

Room Tip: Wifi isn't free In our room, we had an iHome Be sure to ask if you are sharing a bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cassia_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My regular haunt when in New York. Again an excellent stay with the usual helpful staff. Room size can vary - we had one of the suites as this was an 8 day stay - and the extra space handy. Location for downtown great as a subway line just outside. Good restaurants and shops nearby. One minus - the lift is small, old and did break down one evening. Walking up 8 floors is ok if mobile - would have been a problem for some residents. BUT that is a small downside for what was yet again a memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootingdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We look forward to many more stays with you! Thank you for the loyalty as we know there are hundreds of other hotels in the city!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Attended Concert at Symphony Space, right across the street. Staff friendly and very helpful.
Subway seconds away and loved the Folks at the Manhattan Diner.
Room needed renovation. Plastic covers on mattresses uncomfortable. No way to adjust heat or open window, so stuffy. Carpeting very worn. Bathroom excellent. Ninth floor junior suite very quiet, no view.
Would stay again, but possibly more updated room for the price.

Room Tip: Only one elevator, so maybe a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I apologize if you were uncomfortable in any way. All of our rooms have windows that open and there is a way to regulate heat. I surely wish we would've known as we can have assisted you within minutes. There is no reason at all that you should be uncomfortable in any way while staying in a hotel. One of the points on our mission statement is that you should feel as comfortable staying with us as you would at home and we really strive to accomplish this. I do hope that you give the Hotel Newton a second chance and please contact me directly if you do.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 466 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 466 in New York City
636 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#390 of 466 in New York City
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#224 of 466 in New York City
1,552 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#429 of 466 in New York City
1,953 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 466 in New York City
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing