We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, convenient location and charming staff”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #316 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My regular haunt when in New York. Again an excellent stay with the usual helpful staff. Room size can vary - we had one of the suites as this was an 8 day stay - and the extra space handy. Location for downtown great as a subway line just outside. Good restaurants and shops nearby. One minus - the lift is small, old and did break down one evening. Walking up 8 floors is ok if mobile - would have been a problem for some residents. BUT that is a small downside for what was yet again a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tootingdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

We look forward to many more stays with you! Thank you for the loyalty as we know there are hundreds of other hotels in the city!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Attended Concert at Symphony Space, right across the street. Staff friendly and very helpful.
Subway seconds away and loved the Folks at the Manhattan Diner.
Room needed renovation. Plastic covers on mattresses uncomfortable. No way to adjust heat or open window, so stuffy. Carpeting very worn. Bathroom excellent. Ninth floor junior suite very quiet, no view.
Would stay again, but possibly more updated room for the price.

Room Tip: Only one elevator, so maybe a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our property. I apologize if you were uncomfortable in any way. All of our rooms have windows that open and there is a way to regulate heat. I surely wish we would've known as we can have assisted you within minutes. There is no reason at all that you should be uncomfortable in any way while staying in a hotel. One of the points on our mission statement is that you should feel as comfortable staying with us as you would at home and we really strive to accomplish this. I do hope that you give the Hotel Newton a second chance and please contact me directly if you do.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I found it excellent value. Next door to the manhattan diner and across the street from 96th st. Subway and many excellent restaurants. One problem was only one slow elevator. Friendly helpful staff and I had two queen beds as a single traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janieji47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Located a 30 second walk from the 96th street subway which is surrounded by very good diners, restaurants and mini markets. We booked this hotel purely on the reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed.From the warm and friendly welcome to the cleaners EVERYONE was more than happy to deal with any queries we had. The room was always spotlessly clean and towels changed daily.We had a bath in our room, which was handy after a long day sightseeing. Not a full size bath but good enough for a long soak. The room also had a large TV, microwave, fridge and a strange coffeemaker which could also make a decent cup of tea! The view out of the room wasn't great but walk out of the hotel and you can see as many skyscrapers as you like. The lift may be slow but out of being tired thought that was down to us.Would we stay here again? YES can't wait to.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bath for extra long soaks, after sightseeing all day, you'll be grateful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winstonblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location on Upper West Side. Metro stop on the same block that will take you downtown on the express train in less than 10 mins. Central Park short walk away. Quiet, clean, and a fraction of the cost at "fancier" places. Lots of coffee shops, restaurants, and markets in a 1 block area. Microwave and small fridge in each room was an added bonus. Pleasantly surprised with the size of the closet. Great local bar/cafe (Thalia) a 1 minute walk away. They have a great happy hour!

Room Tip: Room 615 very quiet, at end of a hall. No adjacent rooms so it was very private. No view but you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in December and it was perfectly serviceable. It's no-frills, and the beds are pretty uncomfortable (our bed was broken), but it was amazingly cheap and the staff are very friendly.

The good:

- It's located right next to the 96th St subway station, which uses the 1, 2 and 3 lines. This is SO handy, as these lines go directly to Midtown, Times Square, Greenwich Village and Wall Street. I loved this, as it was so easy to just grab a Starbucks across the road and hop on the subway. I got a one-week Metro pass, which gives you unlimited subway travel until 1am every night and it's only $30. A bargain if you plan to travel around a lot, although New York is really easy to walk around.

- It's near Central Park. One beautiful, sunny morning, we decided to walk down to Midtown through Central Park (well worth it, it's beautiful). The entrance to the park is only a couple of minutes from the hotel - very handy.

- The rooms are reasonably sized for the city, and come equipped with a fridge, a desk and coffee making facilities. There are supermarkets nearby as well, which we used for milk for a quick morning coffee whilst getting ready and bowls of cereal for breakfast.

- Nice staff and very cheap. This speaks for itself really, it's priced like a hostel, but with private rooms and the staff are always willing to help, at any time of day.

The bad:

- As I mentioned before, the beds are really uncomfortable. This may just have been us though, since our mattress was busted and sagging on one side. We just put a pillow under it and it was mostly okay.

- There are shared bathrooms, but for me at least, this wasn't much of an issue. I never encountered anyone else using them, so it was like having a private bathroom slightly away from the room. Be warned though, it can be embarrassing when you go to brush your teeth at night in your pyjamas, and someone walks past and sees you in them!

- The safety deposit boxes don't inspire confidence. I eventually decided to keep all my money and my passport with me at all times because I didn't trust them. The problem is that the hotel staff unlock your box out of view, and then after you've taken things out/deposited them, they take it out of view again before locking it. There's no way to know if it's actually locked or not, which isn't ideal if you have large sums of money in it. They give you a key that corresponds to a box, and when you hand it over, they know which box is yours, but I was given the wrong key back multiple times, which made me wonder if they often handed over the keys to other people's boxes.

- You have to pay to use the WiFi, and it's not cheap. This wasn't really a problem for me though, as I managed to find a faint, but present, open WiFi signal from somewhere nearby. There's a PC with internet access in the lobby and it's cheaper to use that than the WiFi.

This is a great hotel for people on a budget, very cheap and cheerful. Although it's not central, it's not in a bad area either, and the subway means the distance is negligible.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ais11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

They charge $5 per day for those guests who wish to use internet. And not just this, the access is given for only one device. So connecting your laptop/tablet with the phone will cost you $10 per day. Rooms and the bathrooms are clean. Towels are somewhat small... the personnel is friendly. What is really perfect with this hotel - its location, close to subway, restaurants, shops, postal office, etc.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank rustam n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us. I pass along all comments regarding wifi to our ownership and hope in the future wifi charges will become a thing of the past. We do charge a lower rate than most hotels in the city but I can't say that I don't agree with you in parts. I believe that when most larger city hotels begin to waive these charges, the smaller boutique properties will follow suit

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 469 in New York City
1,332 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 469 in New York City
650 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 469 in New York City
1,527 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#433 of 469 in New York City
1,992 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $78 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing