We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #313 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was an absolutely fantastic buy. The hotel is located right exactly at an express subway stop so even though it's pretty high up on the westside (95th), it's very fast and easy to get there. Very. Our room overlooked Symphony Space which was pretty fun. On the 6th floor, road-noise wasn't a problem. Our room, 604, was a really perfect room for a family. It was very spacious. There was a walkway which is great for shedding coats and giving a sense of more space than may technically be there, and a coat closet -- ditto. The room was very clean. It's true, the elevator is old and slow. Oh well. There's no problem walking down 6 flights and probably most of us could stand with some of that walking up too.

Most amazing of all was that we booked this room through Tingo and they did actually give us money back, a whole lot of it even (~-60%!!). I didn't believe that "gimmick" but I was wrong to doubt.

The only annoyance was regarding the internet. They charge $5/day for it which seems pretty silly given that rooms cost hundreds of dollars. Why irritate your customer over chump change? What was most annoying is that after all that, it didn't even work. It took 4 tries with a different password until one finally "took". In the meantime, there's a national chain hotel next door with ... free wireless. It reached into our room, so while the Newton's expensive, useless wireless service was messing up, we just used the other. Oh, and that separate wireless charge? It works for just one computer only. Geeesh. Silliness.

OK, so the internet-thing was quite annoying. But not enough to color my impression of the room in NYC, which was really a bargain all-told. The staff was very nice and helpful, the room-cleaners lovely. It's only that stupid little pissant internet charge that mars an otherwise perfect experience!

As others have noted, there's a coffee shop two doors north that's quite good. Manhattan Cafe it might be called? Also, one on the corner - called corner cafe I think - half-block south. The latter is a little cheaper, plastic-ware, but fast and cheery staff. The former is more typical neighborhood NYC diner replete with dreadful coffee. Mmmm. And those deserts. It is absolutely worth stopping in just to look at that rotating rack of death -- I can't think of anything more typical of Manhattan!

For a delicious, if expensive, NYC breakfast, walk down to Barney Greengrass at 86th and Amsterdam... with H & H closed where do they get their bagels now?

I highly recommend this hotel. And since management clearly monitors this site, perhaps they'll heed the request to nix the penny-ante games with the wireless and just make it available to one and all, no charge (it could be on request by room if you're worried about it being a big, bad city). Since a huge proportion of your business is obviously coming from online and these sorts of reviews, of which there are hundreds on trip advisor, are all a part of that, why not toss your obviously internet-fluent audience a bone and shell out for their existential fuel, free internet service? You are obviously trying very, very hard, very successfully, to provide your guests with a looked-after experience. Don't greet them warmly by the hand and tread on their toes simultaneously....

Oh yeah, the beds were rather saggy in rm 604. Not impossible to sleep in, but clearly in need of a little attention sooner than later...

Room Tip: High enough to avoid street noise, street side is fun gawking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aliris19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and your internet irritance is duly noted. As most hotels in the city still charge, it is hard for the smaller hotels to make it complimentary at the moment. It is in our mind and we bring it up pretty frequently to corporate. I am hoping that soon internet charges will be a thing of the past!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    754
    265
    71
    50
See reviews for
400
462
122
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A little worn, but perfectly fine - clean and comfortable, and very good service overall. It's a great location in that it just about sits on top of the 1/2/3 96th Street Station, and you can get anywhere in minutes. But as a foodie, I'd prefer staying Downtown somewhere - seems like all the places we wanted to try (I used to live in NYC and we visit frequently) were somewhere below 14th Street. But I guess that's nothing new!

That said, I'd stay here again for the price - hard to beat. We simply used the subway and buses a lot to get where we needed to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YankyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your review! We look forward to your return to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Very well done renovation on upper west side. Close to great restarants and bars. Only challenge is that sometimes there is no parking even though they say they have it. Had to drive around for an hour to find an open ramp

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was a nice hotel. It is very close to the subway. I really enjoyed my stay and it was a reasonable price (for New York). The room was small but was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. I would defiantly go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curleysue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Newton from December 9th to December 14th and was pleased with my choice of hotel. It is conveniently located on Broadway near the 96th Street subway line, close to grocery stores and restaurants (The Manhattan Diner is great for breakfast!).

My room was clean, quiet and comfortable and I was pleased with the amenities in the bathroom.

My only complaint was the $1.00 charge for 5 minutes of very slow internet and the $4.00 charge to leave my luggage in a luggage room for the day. The least the hotel could do is provide free wifi in the hotel lobby for paying guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotstackjg@aol.com
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our family of six, 5 adults and one teen stayed at THE NEWTON HOTEL, for three nights, beginning December 11, 2012. Location is excellent; subway right across the street. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The three rooms were clean and well maintained. Each room had two beds. One room was a bit small, but not a problem as little time was spent in the room. The bathrooms were small, but no problem. We have stayed in hotels in many cities in the US and in other countries and are well aware that small size should not be an issue. Management, Charles and/or Emilio were willing to have all of our rooms on the same floor, as a convenience for us. MANHATTAN DINER was two doors away. We had breakfast there each day and found the food good and servings generous. The NEWTON is a good and budget friendly hotel and we would stay again.

Room Tip: no opinion. Our rooms were on 3rd floor and we ran a/c @ night which masked any street noise. Only 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wiscandsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel- the staff were friendly and always willing and ready to help, answer questions, give good directions, discounts and more. The rooms are spacious and clean and the microwave and refrigerator make for a cheaper breakfast (lunch or dinner). We found its location convenient and the subway is almost out front (an express train takes two stops to get to times square). Starbucks is across the road, a supermarket around the corner and the diner two doors down makes for a great (and reasonably priced) meal. Longgrain three doors down makes amazing sushi if that is your thing. I would definitely recommend to anyone- I will stay here anytime I'm in New York.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
1,293 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#393 of 467 in New York City
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
1,544 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 467 in New York City
1,940 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#392 of 467 in New York City
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing