We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quality for your money and nicest staff”
Review of Carlton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton Arms Hotel
Ranked #22 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great quality for your money and nicest staff”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

After disappointingly finding out that our first choice for accommodation near Newark only had shuttles to the city in the morning and none in the afternoon, we rang Carlton Arms for a room and were lucky enough to have a room with private bath available. Upon arrival, Alfonso offered to carry our luggages up to our rooms and refused our tip for his efforts. The room has very interesting art works that the eyes need getting used to. But what matters most is that the bed and bathrooms are clean. They let us check out late when we arrived back after a run to the brooklyn bridge. They let us keep our luggage in their office whilst we explored NYC. Free wifi is a plus but is sometimes very slow, unless you are close to the reception desk. We checked in a couple of days after and they let us check in early (9ish am!!). We were also again allowed to check out late (2ish PM) without any extra charges and let us print our boarding passes. Such kind helpful staff and the location is close to flat iron, union square and not too far from Penn station. If all you need is a basic bed and bath, want friendly service and great location in Manhattan at a low cost, then I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bee_rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    137
    69
    40
    37
See reviews for
35
126
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Checked in here for 7 nights in October with the wife. Booked 4 months previous via direct email. When arrived given three choices of room. Glad we had this as two of the rooms on the first floor was a luminous green colour and the second has a strong musty smell. We chose one on the third floor which featured an Indian theme with a large depiction of Ganesh on the walls.

This is a budget hotel in NYC. The cheapest there is I think (or I could find) and it was perfect for our needs. The communal bathrooms are clean with hot showers. The rooms had clean sheets and the room in general was of an acceptable standard of cleanliness. WI-FI worked for us in our room most of the time. Otherwise always working in the lobby area.

The location is perfect for exploring the city with close links to the Local 6 Subway train at 23rd street. Very safe location and you are surrounded by bars and eateries if you can’t be bothered to go far. Pizza shop and bagel shop are next door for all of your NYC catering needs.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to NYC that wants to be close to the action on a budget…like us.

Two complaints. 1st, the curtains in the room did nothing to keep light out and this combined with street noise made it tough to sleep for me to sleep past 7am. (I am a light sleeper however. The missus had no issue!) The 2nd, one of the house cats is an aggressive little dude. Think I heard the cleaner fighting with him one morning. The other is delightful however.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilfy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was helping friends from Germany check in. First problem was, It was difficult to find the front door (a discrete-looking locked door, and you have to ring the bell to be let in).
The front clerk was rude (didn't even want to talk to me since I was not checking in).

Place looked filthy. They use pad-locks for the room for your security when you're away.

This is the exact example of "you get what you pay for". Very cheap in price, but would NOT recommend it at all to ANYONE.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadianliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

When we arrived, they told us they had cancelled our reservation as we had not confirmed it. We checked our emails there and then, and it turns out we had confirmed BEFORE the date requested, not ON the date requested. If you take the risk of booking here, ensure you follow their instructions precisely, and keep calling them to confirm the room, as they are likely to have cancelled it. This would not have happened if they had a decent system in place for taking bookings (like a computer).

When we got there, we were slightly relieved to have to find an alternative - the place is hideous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We got unlucky with the room they put us in. The room was painted black very depressing and the beds were squished together with only a sink in the room and ONE outlet((which the A/C was connected to))(charging 4 phones was ridiculous had to do that on the 1st floor) Bathroom was down the hallway and constantly occupied. We were also on the last floor so if you're not into carrying your luggage all the way up I think 5 or 6 flights of stairs you're [--]. We had 4 gals in one room which is a terrible idea since they are tiny rooms. They told us they had no other rooms open that night we checked in. The next day one of the girls wound up paying for another room which was amazing beautiful and had a private bathroom. I think if we would have ended up having that room for our stay it would have been great.

There is no room service what so ever, if you want your trash changed you've gotta do it yourself. Extra pillows and blankets are down on the first floor. The beds are old really old one of the girls said she felt like it was on a slant and kept rolling over onto the other girl. A/C has only one option and that is freezing.(So make sure you get extra blankets they only provide sheets in the bedroom)

Interesting concept but im to high maintenance for something like this, maybe if I was a punk rocker or something this would be up my alley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackattack89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked a week at the Carlton Arms about three months prior to our visit. A few weeks out, they asked for confirmation which I promptly gave them. Having not heard back, I checked with them twice and at one week out, they informed me they had canceled the booking saying I never confirmed. Extremely poor business.

Room Tip: Check the YMCA on Central Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varde, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

So let's look at the upside of firstly; the hotel comes with a great vibe. The hosts are friendly and service minded, the rooms have priceless atmosphere, the guests get to know each other due to the cozy and laid back feeling this hotel has. The location is magnificent in midtown NYC with Central Park, Empire State and Time Square at walking distance and the rooms are cheap! On the downside, the rooms are not super clean, super comfy and the interiors are old and could use replacements but you kind of forget all this while you are there because they make up for it in atmosphere.

Room Tip: The shared restroom/bathing facilities are really clean and of good standar and randomly occupied so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#360 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#19 of 75 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
The Park Ave North
#18 of 75 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#26 of 75 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Arms Hotel

Property: Carlton Arms Hotel
Address: 160 E 25th St, New York City, NY 10010-2312
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Arms Hotel New York City
Carlton Arms New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing